Samsung Beam?

PPkiller

1. My SGB failed on me on Sat when I wanted to change the sim card. It stucked at the ANDROID booting page same as Bro. Ripper. I went to Causeway Point to have it reflashed! Bro. Ripper n me are definitely not da only owner who when to the service center to have our SGB reflased, I asked the CSO and she told me there are a few ppl come for the same reason. When I was waiting for her to fill up the form, there was an uncle who came to complain about SGB. He furiously complained that the phone don't come with a software CD and he cannot the it connected to the phone to the computer. He also complained about how slow it is. Being a new Android user I guess he doesn't know about the pull down menu for USB "Mount/Unmount" setting... Lol... Lucky that v hv this forum to refer to!

2. In SGB official support page, there is no KIES program available for SGB yet. Only 4 manuals can be downloaded. However, SGS have it's own KIES available already!

3. I bought the screen protector from eBay. Still waitin da item! Check it out... hxxp://cgi.ebay.com.sg/4x-Anti-Glare-Screen-Protector-Samsung-I8520-Beam-/390217274639?cmd=ViewItem&pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item5adac3150f

matt surface for screen protector ah? think i'll order clear

Bimb0s

battery life also improving over the days just as ripper expected.
the new battery will take a few full recharge cycles to release its true potential.
for non-heavy duty and normal moderate usage,
morning unplug from charger, evening reach home,
the battery life is well in the excess of 60%+

what is meant by full recharge cycle? totally empty den charge again?

also Mr ripper, the camera you used is the default cam? the quality is much better den camera 360 or fx cam..!!!

Accura69

GPS for Beam?

Any idea how to use it? Cant seem to able to use it on my beam. Any bros can share?

singchai9910

My SGB Hang Again

1. My SGB failed on me on Sat when I wanted to change the sim card. It stucked at the ANDROID booting page same as Bro. Ripper. I went to Causeway Point to have it reflashed! Bro. Ripper n me are definitely not da only owner who when to the service center to have our SGB reflased, I asked the CSO and she told me there are a few ppl come for the same reason. When I was waiting for her to fill up the form, there was an uncle who came to complain about SGB. He furiously complained that the phone don't come with a software CD and he cannot the it connected to the phone to the computer. He also complained about how slow it is. Being a new Android user I guess he doesn't know about the pull down menu for USB "Mount/Unmount" setting... Lol... Lucky that v hv this forum to refer to!

2. In SGB official support page, there is no KIES program available for SGB yet. Only 4 manuals can be downloaded. However, SGS have it's own KIES available already!

3. I bought the screen protector from eBay. Still waitin da item! Check it out... hxxp://cgi.ebay.com.sg/4x-Anti-Glare-Screen-Protector-Samsung-I8520-Beam-/390217274639?cmd=ViewItem&pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item5adac3150f

Sunday when I connect my SGB to computer transfer 2.5G MP3. After complete disconnect from computer the phone show scan hard disc for half hour. So no choice to restart the phone. During restart the phone, the phone stuck on ADRIOD page. This morning went to service center, the service center member told me cause by the MP3 I transfer got "virus" cause phone hang. I don't agree on the point, because this is the second time phone hang ready. Request talk to the service center person in-charge. The service center person in-charge told me phone hang cause by "adriod market software". Samsung need to take one to two week to solve this problem. Now only way is refresh the phone software. But temporary don't download any software from adriod market. They will update me latest info.

singchai9910

Music Player Problem

During play music, return to music player main player menu change to another song. The music player force stop intermittent.

MislycA

yes, it's alot better in real life, provided surroundings are not too bright.
in pitch dark, the projector works like a charm. as good as a full-sized projector.

even dark movie scenes are also very clear.

too bad ripper's video can't be uploaded due to logistics problems.
ripper's demo includes reading ebook and browse photo gallery.
text is very sharp.

I would love to see Ripper's video. Perhaps total video converter can help with your logistics problems?

greaselightn

Beam hanged at Android screen

Help.

My beam just suddenly freezes; I pulled out the battery and restart;
and since then it freezes at Android screen.

Any solution?

This beam is getting on my nerve; slow, unresponsive, call/ends needs to be via the screen which is super slow;

goaheadbingostan

bro, ripper tried the voice search thingy le.

not very useful as it's not robust enough yet.
it seldom gets what you speak into it correct.
maybe if the user adopts an angmoh accent, it may improve the accuracy :s13:

but it's still a baby step towards the correct direction :D

It's true. It seems the software can recognise angmoh accent only. :)

RipperJack

I would love to see Ripper's video. Perhaps total video converter can help with your logistics problems?
ripper later try use digicam shoot at lower resolution, liddat then no need to re-render and can direct upload to youtube.

but dun hold your breath ok? judging from yesterday's video quality, quite jialat :(

RipperJack

Help.

My beam just suddenly freezes; I pulled out the battery and restart;
and since then it freezes at Android screen.

Any solution?

This beam is getting on my nerve; slow, unresponsive, call/ends needs to be via the screen which is super slow;

bros, if you kena the freeze, you have to visit Samsung Service Centre to reflash the firmware for a hard-reset as currently, no one seems to know how to hard-reset the Beam using buttons.

may ripper ask what you guys installed or did to the Beam before if froze? hope we can analyse what is the cause. let's pool our experiences

for ripper,
1. set wallpaper from sdcard
2. set ATK to crazy and also aggressive (now ripper sets it to safe, and no more freeze so far)
3. set ATK to autostart upon reset and also autokill level @every screen off (this one ripper suspect could be culprit)
4. use unlock pattern (connect patter on 3x3 dots) as the mode to unlock screen

as for now, just in case, ripper suggests to not use ATK autostart, and set autokill level to Safe. use only ATK widget rather than ATK app itself.

RipperJack

wah lau.must download the Kies program ~ 130Mb and installed onto PC before can do it....but where's to find the Tasks sync from outloook???

Kies sux big time. dun bother :s22:

hi, to all the beam owners.

Was going for SGS but after reading all the stuffs here, finally got myself one yesterday. for those who are interested might want to check out from SH authorized partners which I did after being informed that SH shops itself had ran out of stock. :s7:

does anyone know how to achieve the above task cos just cannot figure out how to do it after being so familiar with WInMO.

Had also registered for the workshop, hope to learn some more tricks from you guys!

here, install this to aid in synch.
http://www.google.com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?answer=89955

alternatively, you can export your outlook data into a CSV file, then import the CSV file into your Gmail account.

bro, if you attends the Workshop, pls bug them to reveal how to hard-reset the Beam using buttons only.

greaselightn

Ripper, thanks..

wasted my time with this phone;

today didnt set any settings or installed anything.

Only yesterday downloaded that what "juice" program to act as firewall to prevent 3G download while not on wireless;

install yesterday around 11.30am.. and used it since then until today (more than 28 hrs) later;

then phone blanks out; and i have to remove battery and rest is history.

i'm new to android; is this phone buggy itself or its just android?

RipperJack

Btw, the last time i saw the demo abt SGB, got show that can project things on a paper by using camera as a "scanner" and then projected by the projector?

Like this very useful sia, better than a normal projector.. can double function as a visualiser..
very good lor
yes, you can use the Beam as a visualizer, much like a OHP :D
the projector screens whatever the camera sees :D

RipperJack

what is meant by full recharge cycle? totally empty den charge again?

also Mr ripper, the camera you used is the default cam? the quality is much better den camera 360 or fx cam..!!!
no need to empty the battery. think it's not good for the battery also if you do that often :o
just run down till 10%+, then recharge fully :D
once u primed the battery to reach its full potential, avoid running the battery down till so low before u recharge.
30%-40% should recharge le :D

ripper used the default camera mode. must hold steady as much as possible. with the Anti-Shake off, the shutter is quite fast, that's why not bad rite the 2nd pic? :D

the first pic is with Anti-Shake on, the shutter lag was so long, it was quite difficult to get a sharp image. :(

goaheadbingostan

No disrespect to any users. Is it possible the breakdown of the phone's software due to installation of certain apps and frantic hit with breakneck speed on the touch screen? Just curious. :)

Bimb0s

've been using beam for a few days now, did not experience any of the problems you guys face, including spamming ATK to crazy, setting wallpaper from SD, quite responsive actually. lol. everything seems smooth!!! camera is good, after i off the anti-shake.

downloaded a game name caligo or something liddat.. freeze up my beam totally.. had to take out the batt and restart.

but, my memory keeps going downhill even though nth is on. -.-" still, slight lag after ATK, totally acceptable. BUT beam slows down to a crawl when downloading. -.-

goaheadbingostan

lol.. i bought my phone too early.. (is first batch of SGS early adopters) so i no choice also.. that time no new about beam lor.. that beam is like pop out of no where.. Glad that you like it haha if not i dunoe go where hide.. I see you all play beam so fun i see le also jealous :s22:

nvm la i got my own 黄脸婆 to care about lol.. and i'm still loving her despite the lack of a fun and nice thing like projector.. if some1 willing to trade hor i really will consider la.., but my phone is 2 months old, kinda bo hua for people so no point haha

wah, no need to say until dunno where to hide mah :s13:
ripper is grateful that u pointed ripper to the right directions :D
ripper ish done moi homework on Beam before buying mah.
if Beam turns out to be a lemon, then it's caveat emptor for ripper.

ripper was having a headache as none of the current phones was a good alternative to ipwn4.
SGS was the closest, but the camera ish putting ripper off.
now that the shutter lag issue is resolved, ripper really has no complaints le.
ripper will readily and gladly recommend Beam to anyone! :D

battery life also improving over the days just as ripper expected.
the new battery will take a few full recharge cycles to release its true potential.
for non-heavy duty and normal moderate usage,
morning unplug from charger, evening reach home,
the battery life is well in the excess of 60%+

in any case, SGS is an excellent phone so no need to jealous mah :D
it's just that ripper really needs a decent mobile camera as ripper wants to take alot of mobile pictures and videos but dun wanna lug a digicam everywhere ripper goes.

your SGS qualifies more as a 狐狸精 coz she's slim and chio~ :s34:
黄脸婆 is Beam coz she's fat and not so chio :crazy:

Just now on the bus, gostan took out phone to adjust music player setting. Gostan overheard two school girls beo S.B. Later one of the them remarked it was "fat". :o

megalord

Ripper, thanks..

wasted my time with this phone;

today didnt set any settings or installed anything.

Only yesterday downloaded that what "juice" program to act as firewall to prevent 3G download while not on wireless;

install yesterday around 11.30am.. and used it since then until today (more than 28 hrs) later;

then phone blanks out; and i have to remove battery and rest is history.

i'm new to android; is this phone buggy itself or its just android?

My Nexus One has never blacked out or hanged before. I hope samsung has got some updates that solves these issues.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.