Samsung Beam?

RipperJack

haiz~ yesterday moi beloved Beam hanged on ripper, while ripper was driving! :mad:

it was 8:34pm, ripper answered a phonecall, with bluetooth speakers of coz! then hang up that time, screen frozed :eek:

the Beam refused to respond to any buttons or touch :s22:
ripper thought "siao liao, another freeze and all the service centres closed already"

but heng,ripper took out battery and restart again at red light, it managed to reboot. BUT the bluetooth pairing with the bluetooth speaker phone disappeared and cannot get GPS signal :s22: can imagine how fed up ripper was? especially ripper was trying to get in touch with someone in Orchard road on his whereabouts and where to park :mad: all these when driving! so dangerous~! :s27:

sianz~ this contant dreaded fear of freezing is really undoing ripper's happiness of owning a Beam :(

on a happier note, ripper Beamed for a new friend last night who is an ipwn user. immediately, he asked how much is the Beam and wanted to get one :s13:

Accura69

My beam also froze on me yesterday, had to trqavel all the way to Samsung service centre to bring it back to life.

I only got this 6 days ago only. sianzzzz... :s27:

Bimb0s

Mr Ripper dont give up!!! trust the users who till now have no problems at all :) :)

anyway, texting is laggish, anyway to improve on that?

and recently.. the lag is killing me...

gab123

Anyone facing same projector problem as me? Went to tampiness last nite. Their set also same as mine

megalord

will froyo fix the lag? T.T
dont mind the phone being laggish, but even texting lags big time.. argh...
the phone cant keep up with my speed =(

Errr... I hope it does. Maybe you type slower? :p
I really wanna get the Beam, but... it seems like the hang bug is really a deterrent.

Bimb0s

nv hang ah.. pek chek with sms only -.-" interface lag still can tahan =X

oh my camera button seems to be dropping out.. anyone else have the same problem? =X

silencer22

Anyone facing same projector problem as me? Went to tampiness last nite. Their set also same as mine
hav u tried adjusting e angle of ur beam?

when laying flat, e fone has to be perpendicular to e screen to get a rectangular projection... otherwise there will b keystone effect

ronangan

Damn... My phone freeze at the android page AGAIN! WTF... I'm gonna make sure it's my last visit 2 Samsung Service Center! Tis phone suck big time lor! 2 weeks of usage, 2 time reflash! Gonna find out if they allow me 2 change 2 other model! I'm gonna miss the projector for sure! It's a nice gadget if it doesn't failed on me twice!

PPkiller

for those who has beam freezing at startup screen, can list the apps that u installed?

ronangan

Well.... I only installed some games... I'm now in Woodland, having burger while waitting 4 my phone to be reflashed... I have 2 news to share with you guys... 1st da bad news, I've been told by da costomer service officer tat even though they reflash my phone 2day, I'll will still need 2 come back again next week for my phone 2 b reflash AGAIN! Reason being, tis is da 2nd news (good one I hope if it does really work!), Samsung is aware of the loading problem at the android page and they r currently testing a new software which they will release next week (Sorry I forgot 2 ask them da exact date, I will add up da detail later!). Owning Omnia I, OmniaHD n SGB, tis would b my last gadget fr Samsung!

benlim

Updates from Samsung Workshop

Asked several questions and here's their reply:-

1. Hard reset button > Sorry nothing and they are working on firmware to be make available because on the spot there are several people having their screen freeze issues!
2. Samsung Kies cannot sync Outlook task though contacts and calendar are ok (tested on mine)
3. Several samsung apps cannot be kill permanently even with ATK i.e. always come back alive after killing it with ATK (halo projector), had asked them to look into it as it will helps to extend battery and performance of phone.
4. Mobile Tracker can only used to send hidden sms to another party, not able to track the location as what been stated in Samsung website
5. Download Mvideoplayer for Divx
6. How to set personalize SMS notification ah?? (presenter mentioned about creating a folder but need to be like that meh? I went off earlier, didn't get info)

The rest are pretty standard in terms of tips on saving battery like use WIFI > 3G > GPRS (in this order), set Brightness to automatic (I had set to "0" brightness and see if it last longer because anyway the screen is bright enough for normal usage)

So far my phone works ok (without the freeze issue)

Apps Installed:
. ATK (set to safe > Autokill when screen off)
. Gemini Calendar
. ESPN Center
. Handcent SMS
. Launchpro
. eBuddy
. Opera Mini
. Weather Channel
. Astrid tasks
. Astro File Manager
. Currency Converter
. Android System Info
. Engadet
. K-9 Mail
. BuUuk
. Cabbie
. Calorie Counter
. Games : Sodoku Daily, Kids number, Jewel, Traffic Jam, chessroad,
. Google Skp Map, Translate, Maps
. Lookout security
. Malaca Guide
. mVideoplayer
. Uninstaller
.XDA

That's all for now :s22:

JuXn5566

1. Hard reset button > Sorry nothing and they are working on firmware to be make available because on the spot there are several people having their screen freeze issues!
2. Samsung Kies cannot sync Outlook task though contacts and calendar are ok (tested on mine)
3. Several samsung apps cannot be kill permanently even with ATK i.e. always come back alive after killing it with ATK (halo projector), had asked them to look into it as it will helps to extend battery and performance of phone.
4. Mobile Tracker can only used to send hidden sms to another party, not able to track the location as what been stated in Samsung website
6. How to set personalize SMS notification ah?? (presenter mentioned about creating a folder but need to be like that meh? I went off earlier, didn't get info)

The rest are pretty standard in terms of tips on saving battery like use WIFI > 3G > GPRS (in this order), set Brightness to automatic (I had set to "0" brightness and see if it last longer because anyway the screen is bright enough for normal usage)

Apps Installed:
. Gemini Calendar
. ESPN Center
. Handcent SMS
. Launchpro
. eBuddy
. Opera Mini
. Weather Channel
. Astrid tasks
. Astro File Manager
. Currency Converter
. Android System Info
. Engadet
. K-9 Mail
. BuUuk
. Cabbie
. Calorie Counter
. Lookout security
. Malaca Guide
. mVideoplayer
. Uninstaller
.XDA

they never mention about android 2.2?

goaheadbingostan

haiz~ yesterday moi beloved Beam hanged on ripper, while ripper was driving!

it was 8:34pm, ripper answered a phonecall, with bluetooth speakers of coz! then hang up that time, screen frozed

the Beam refused to respond to any buttons or touch
ripper thought "siao liao, another freeze and all the service centres closed already"

but heng,ripper took out battery and restart again at red light, it managed to reboot. BUT the bluetooth pairing with the bluetooth speaker phone disappeared and cannot get GPS signal :s22: can imagine how fed up ripper was? especially ripper was trying to get in touch with someone in Orchard road on his whereabouts and where to park :mad: all these when driving! so dangerous~! :s27:

sianz~ this contant dreaded fear of freezing is really undoing ripper's happiness of owning a Beam

on a happier note, ripper Beamed for a new friend last night who is an ipwn user. immediately, he asked how much is the Beam and wanted to get one :s13:

Sorry to hear your freeze. Maybe Ripper can participate in the next Samsung workshop.

Well.... I only installed some games... I'm now in Woodland, having burger while waitting 4 my phone to be reflashed... I have 2 news to share with you guys... 1st da bad news, I've been told by da costomer service officer tat even though they reflash my phone 2day, I'll will still need 2 come back again next week for my phone 2 b reflash AGAIN! Reason being, tis is da 2nd news (good one I hope if it does really work!), Samsung is aware of the loading problem at the android page and they r currently testing a new software which they will release next week (Sorry I forgot 2 ask them da exact date, I will add up da detail later!). Owning Omnia I, OmniaHD n SGB, tis would b my last gadget fr Samsung!

Thanks for the info. Don't be exasperated, after the installation of the new software, you'd able to play your video game again. :)

Apps Installed:
. Gemini Calendar
. ESPN Center
. Handcent SMS
. Launchpro
. eBuddy
. Opera Mini
. Weather Channel
. Astrid tasks
. Astro File Manager
. Currency Converter
. Android System Info
. Engadet
. K-9 Mail
. BuUuk
. Cabbie
. Calorie Counter
. Lookout security
. Malaca Guide
. mVideoplayer
. Uninstaller
.XDA

Thanks for updating us. I set my ATK to auto kill at every half an hour. Is this over kill?

PPkiller

my beam coming 2morrow.. *cross finger*

ronangan

I asked them when the new software will come out but they said they dunno yet! They already put my name in the list... Once the software is ready they will call me. They said it's suppose to be next week!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.