Samsung Beam?

Dyles

So far using the SGB for 2 and a half weeks. Lucky that the phone not frozen yet. However, it restarted to android screen once while playing with the Task Manager to kill apps.

Notices that this phone lag badly when it encountered the situations as below.
1) Battery low power when less than 15%.
2) while downloading from the market.
3) when running the JuicePlotter app. in the background.

For faster speed, think it would be better to go for SGS or even ip4. I noticed from one of the ip4 demo set had installed at least 40 over apps/games and still running smooth when running any apps. Not sure why but still think ip4 smoother and more consistent in general as compare to android phone. Maybe is the way they write the apps? Not sure.

because iphone4 apps dun bo tai bo ji auto start.. android de like to auto start haha.. esp. if u use widgets.. with widgets, the RAM gets drained faster also.. the more widgets u got, the more laggier it becomes.. somemore widgets so much pattern..

on the iphone4 (or any iOS), you're only at the apps drawer..
if just comparing apps drawer, all android phones also as smooth as iphone4.. no diff. DONT compare android homescreens vs iphone4 apps drawer as its an unfair comparison.

Dyles

my SGB is fixed after Restore factory settings, , den Restore factory settings w/o sim card.

den reinstalled apps and stuff. remove those most probable that makes SGB go haywire,

things i removed:
ATK
Launcher Pro
Handscent

works like a charm, waiting for the software to come out to try reinstalling those apps again.

anyone knows where to get battery for SGB? i am more than willing to carry an extra few grams in my pouch :)

Actually ATK should help your phone perform faster if u add the correct apps into the ignore list..

in android system, the phone lags when RAM runs low.. RAM is always draining as even after you closed an app, the system will still be holding on to its RAM, so that in case you want to reopen that app, it'll open faster.. However, this is also the main culprit for the draining of RAM.. and when that happens, when RAM is too low, if you want to open new apps, the system got to flush off the old apps to make RAM for new apps and hence causing the lagness/sluggishnesss..

By using ATK, we are able to free RAM of the apps after closing.. Hence maintaining high RAM for the system to use. However, the downside is that if you keep closing commonly used apps (messaging/calls/etc..) you'll feel that your phone is laggier without the ATK because when without ATK, the system havent really fully closed the app... but with ATK, you're fully closing the app..

If you use the ignore list, it prevents commonly used apps from closing fully and hence allows it to return to function quicker..

I suggest u try adding messaging/dialer/contacts/clock (and all other commonly used functions) and see if it helps you to reduce lag..
i personally dont like launcher pro either as i think its just another memory hogger.. (ADW is not much better lol)
but i must admit using these launchers = more beautiful phone.. a price to pay for beauty :)

for the SGS, the phone will work fine at about 80-90mbs of free RAM.. not sure abt SGB.. maybe u all can test out??

gtwace

I using the Beam since its launch, but didn't encounter any problems with all the apps mentioned.

For ATK, I will put security level to low and then Ignore all the apps with the no entry sign before setting the auto kill setting to agressive.

It is strange that the problem is there even after changing new phone, perhap a batch of beam has defective hardware ? Have to wait for the new firmware to test. I don't know if I should upgrade to the new firmware, cos everything seems to work fine on my beam now.

Bimb0s

Actually ATK should help your phone perform faster if u add the correct apps into the ignore list..

in android system, the phone lags when RAM runs low.. RAM is always draining as even after you closed an app, the system will still be holding on to its RAM, so that in case you want to reopen that app, it'll open faster.. However, this is also the main culprit for the draining of RAM.. and when that happens, when RAM is too low, if you want to open new apps, the system got to flush off the old apps to make RAM for new apps and hence causing the lagness/sluggishnesss..

By using ATK, we are able to free RAM of the apps after closing.. Hence maintaining high RAM for the system to use. However, the downside is that if you keep closing commonly used apps (messaging/calls/etc..) you'll feel that your phone is laggier without the ATK because when without ATK, the system havent really fully closed the app... but with ATK, you're fully closing the app..

If you use the ignore list, it prevents commonly used apps from closing fully and hence allows it to return to function quicker..

I suggest u try adding messaging/dialer/contacts/clock (and all other commonly used functions) and see if it helps you to reduce lag..
i personally dont like launcher pro either as i think its just another memory hogger.. (ADW is not much better lol)
but i must admit using these launchers = more beautiful phone.. a price to pay for beauty :)

for the SGS, the phone will work fine at about 80-90mbs of free RAM.. not sure abt SGB.. maybe u all can test out??

how do i add messaging/dialer/contacts/clock to ignore list? normally i open ATK it dosen show up in the list.

and i have no chance to try le... lol.. SGB died on me a few hrs back wahahahha, sending it down to tampines samsung shop tml. either they flash it for me, or i request a new set liaoz.. since my GPRS cannot work oso(only google map and similar location tracking apps cannot work).

Dyles

how do i add messaging/dialer/contacts/clock to ignore list? normally i open ATK it dosen show up in the list.

and i have no chance to try le... lol.. SGB died on me a few hrs back wahahahha, sending it down to tampines samsung shop tml. either they flash it for me, or i request a new set liaoz.. since my GPRS cannot work oso(only google map and similar location tracking apps cannot work).

When you boot up your phone, open ATK straight away.. you should see dialer/contacts all this.. to ignore a specific app, long press on that app and choose add to ignore list..

to remove items from ignore list, go to options and then ignore list and remove individually..

i suppose u mean GPS? Probably a firmware issue..
best is to complain.. if not samsung ppl sleeping 1.. z.z

ronangan

Da branch manager called me tis afternoon around 12pm... I voiced my request 2 hv a full refund n he said he'll propose tat 2 Samsung. Still, he came out with an offer tat he'll do a 1 2 1 exchange 4 me 1st wit da new software but he said he cannot guarantee tat da new software won't cause da same issue! WTF? Then y do they come out wit da new software in da 1st place? It's not funny lor!
He confirmed wit me tat da new software is supposed 2 b released 2molo... I think maybe Ripper can go n do da upgrade...
I actually really doubt tat it is software issue... Since a few of us here nvr encounter tis kind of problem after weeks of usage... I think it's more toward hardware issue lor...
If a 1 to 1 is really gonna fix tis... Mayb I can gv it another try but another crash, another crash I'll make sure it'll be a big "drama" in Causeway Point!

megalord

Da branch manager called me tis afternoon around 12pm... I voiced my request 2 hv a full refund n he said he'll propose tat 2 Samsung. Still, he came out with an offer tat he'll do a 1 2 1 exchange 4 me 1st wit da new software but he said he cannot guarantee tat da new software won't cause da same issue! WTF? Then y do they come out wit da new software in da 1st place? It's not funny lor!
He confirmed wit me tat da new software is supposed 2 b released 2molo... I think maybe Ripper can go n do da upgrade...
I actually really doubt tat it is software issue... Since a few of us here nvr encounter tis kind of problem after weeks of usage... I think it's more toward hardware issue lor...
If a 1 to 1 is really gonna fix tis... Mayb I can gv it another try but another crash, another crash I'll make sure it'll be a big "drama" in Causeway Point!

Imho, it sounds like a software issue.

raoxii

den reinstalled apps and stuff. remove those most probable that makes SGB go haywire,

things i removed:
ATK
Launcher Pro
Handscent
i used all those 3 and my SGB is fine? I think the common factor everyone with the haywire SGB is the unlock pattern!

benlim

I also have the Unmount issue and had tried Ripper's method but still cannot leh :-(. Now, everytime has to reset phone leh! Also anyone knows how to disabled the Screenout setting from kicking in when using GPS for Navigation??

So far, phone is kind to me, no freeze (touchwood!) yet except the one time " Downloading.....DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!!!" message.

RipperJack

flash report :D

ripper unplugged at 8am+ today.
low usage. replied ard 10 smses.
check a few mails on Gmail.
now still got 90% battery life.

how's all your batteries treating you? :D

RipperJack

I also have the Unmount issue and had tried Ripper's method but still cannot leh :-(. Now, everytime has to reset phone leh! Also anyone knows how to disabled the Screenout setting from kicking in when using GPS for Navigation??

So far, phone is kind to me, no freeze (touchwood!) yet except the one time " Downloading.....DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!!!" message.
did you disable USB first before plucking out? :(

as for GPS, the software is supposed to keep the app alive when using. shouldn't experience screen out :s22:
wat GPS app u using? :s11:

RipperJack

come, let's go drama together? :D
unity is strength :o

Bimb0s

battery life is still alright, but not as kua zhang as ripper.. 90% after so long.. i nv use 1 hr drop about 2-4%

but i tio the android loading.. no way to fix except send it down hor...

MislycA

Damn a lot of issues with this phone. Lets just hope it is software problem and that Samsung will fix it soon so I can import.

RipperJack

battery life is still alright, but not as kua zhang as ripper.. 90% after so long.. i nv use 1 hr drop about 2-4%

but i tio the android loading.. no way to fix except send it down hor...
now currently at 80% :D
today ripper's battery is imba! :D

made 10 more smses or so, took 5-10 pictures, use PhoneMyPC to connect to moi PC using 3G broadband for 10mins

Bimb0s

wha ripper today shiok ahhhh =(

my turn to tio the shiet ahh ahahhahaha. seriously hope its software problem, and slove my GPS problem tgt when i bring down to tampines tml =(

dennis8899sg

Faulty Samsung Galaxy Beam

how come no news of it at all?

it's supposed to be launched in Singapore in July 2010 :s22:

Hold back if u think of getting. Owned the Phone on 17Jul, breakdown 22Jul - Phone Hang cant be on or off. Need to remove battery to power off unit. Unable to boot unit and phone will hang at word Android forever. Sent to Samsung who insisted corrupt software, reload but works only for 4Days. Service Provider doesnt bother to assist despite numerous call to customer service, broken promises to call back 24Hrs.

Not too sure isolated case or Galaxy Range is bad

Bimb0s

Hold back if u think of getting. Owned the Phone on 17Jul, breakdown 22Jul - Phone Hang cant be on or off. Need to remove battery to power off unit. Unable to boot unit and phone will hang at word Android forever. Sent to Samsung who insisted corrupt software, reload but works only for 4Days. Service Provider doesnt bother to assist despite numerous call to customer service, broken promises to call back 24Hrs.

Not too sure isolated case or Galaxy Range is bad

we are all holding SGB already =(

late one step haha. they promised a new update tml, gonna get my beam down to flash, heng today den breakdown.

AnA

because iphone4 apps dun bo tai bo ji auto start.. android de like to auto start haha.. esp. if u use widgets.. with widgets, the RAM gets drained faster also.. the more widgets u got, the more laggier it becomes.. somemore widgets so much pattern..

on the iphone4 (or any iOS), you're only at the apps drawer..
if just comparing apps drawer, all android phones also as smooth as iphone4.. no diff. DONT compare android homescreens vs iphone4 apps drawer as its an unfair comparison.

Thanks Dyles for you great info. I had been enlighten and I understand better now. For sure will look at the android at another angle.

Anyway, so far, I am still happy with the Beam. However, the speed is a little lag at times. Think the slower CPU is the main cause but really hope Samsung get it update to Android 2.2 soon and improve on the overall speed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.