Samsung Beam?

Dyles

ok time for gripes again! :mad:

1. morning wake up, unplug charger. the beam was super lag! :eek:
after playing with it for a while then the speed becomes normal again.
how come? :s11:

2. this one just happened! a call came in, the screen blinked for a second and went black! :s27:
wanna answer call must turn on the screen right? so ripper press power button, but the screen won't turn on! :mad:
ripper tried frantically to turn it on without success until the call was missed. ironically, ripper returned call, it was from samsung asia. but dunno who called me, can only talk to machine. :s22:

1) SGS processor was clocked at minimum 100MHz, max 1000MHz, in other words, when idling, processor would be slower and hence if there too long, the processor will be underclocked and will be more laggy.. I believe the same is for beam (Just a theory)

2) Shouldnt the screen be flashing/lit all the way when theres call? Perhaps you can try again (self call your hp to test haha) ? or did u accidentally cover proximity sensor?

singchai9910

u kena the same thing?! :mad:

what did u do to the Beam?
did u use a picture from sdcard as wallpaper?
or ATK?
or use the swipe pattern thingy for screen unlock?
ripper can only think of these few possible reasons for this phenomenon :s22:

currently no one knows how to hard-reset.
u have to go service centre to reflash firmware for a hard reset.

yes. i using picture from sd as wallpaper!

kennyboy

guys just tahan, wait for root. then can install autokiller then the world will be peaceful again. :D

ripper, try wallswitch then point to a folder where u got ur wallpapers....then hopefully u won't kenna the problem again.

coolninja02

yes at first, bliss! :D

but then evening time 7pm+ the same problem occurred again! :mad:
reboot then kena stuck at android screen again! :s27:
WTF?!!!!!

heng, ripper managed to rush to JP samsung service centre to reflash firmware to hard reset again

ripper only did a few things after fetching 黄脸婆 back from hospital. so can narrow down to a few possible reasons

1. ripper got a faulty set (not likely)

2. Advanced Task Killer (this time ripper only set to Aggressive, not crazy)
ripper also doubt this is the cause since so many butties used this software. but this time round, just in case, ripper set to Safe and untick the Autostart

3. ripper set a gallery peekture from microSD as wallpaper (very likely!)
ripper remembers every time boot up, will see a message abt scanning internal memory and memory card. maybe coz the wallpaper is from the microsd card, it crashed the algorithm since the memory card is not checked yet :eek:

what do you guys think? :s11:
who is brave enough to test out ripper's hypotheses?

ripper dun dare to try anything funny till they disclose a way to manually hard reset the Beam :(

ripper, u ish got set ur app killer to ignore killing ur main home theme application bo?

Dyles

so seems like sd wallpaper is culprit? 2 cases le? or just coincidence?

teckhwee

I've used wallpaper from my sd card for the past few days on my beam with no problem. I used launcherpro and use taskpanel lite for my screen-off tasking killing tool. restart daily and booted everytime.

Patiently waiting for root and someone to come up with a lag-fix like for the SGS.

ronangan

Screen Protector...

Just bought SGB yesterday as a gift ya my birthday as a replacement for my OmniaHD! Do ya guys know where I can get the screen protector for my new "love"?
By da way, did any of ya guys encounter any sound jerkin during da playback of a video recorded by the phone itself?

RipperJack

1) SGS processor was clocked at minimum 100MHz, max 1000MHz, in other words, when idling, processor would be slower and hence if there too long, the processor will be underclocked and will be more laggy.. I believe the same is for beam (Just a theory)

2) Shouldnt the screen be flashing/lit all the way when theres call? Perhaps you can try again (self call your hp to test haha) ? or did u accidentally cover proximity sensor?
1) ok, seems reasonable
anyway, didn't happen again this morning :D

2) no, definitely not proximity. beam was on phone holder. the screen refuses to wake up and there is no physical answer button, so cannot answer the call :sad:

RipperJack

yes. i using picture from sd as wallpaper!
omg, is this the cause?
someone mentioned in a later post that he managed to reboot with sdcard wallpaper? :s22:
damn, how ripper wish can isolate the cause. :s22:

could it be ATK's autostart that causes it? wah sian
or both of us sway, kena faulty set? :s11:

anyway, ripper is getting a 1-to-1 exchange later this week with samsung. :D
if this problem happens again before the new set arrives, ripper will trade it off BNIB with a SGS. but then again, ripper will miss the projector leh. it's SUPER fun! :(

RipperJack

I've used wallpaper from my sd card for the past few days on my beam with no problem. I used launcherpro and use taskpanel lite for my screen-off tasking killing tool. restart daily and booted everytime.

Patiently waiting for root and someone to come up with a lag-fix like for the SGS.

so atk+sdcard wallpaper is the problem? :s11:

ripper dare not experiment le :sad:

some kind bros wanna try? :crazy:

goaheadbingostan

dun think they are the same :o

tt's y u can't find it :s13:

Alamak, cheat my feeling. :sad:

so atk+sdcard wallpaper is the problem? :s11:

ripper dare not experiment le :sad:

some kind bros wanna try? :crazy:

Hell Ripper & all, recently I inserted a SD card from another mobile to S.B. I used a photo from the S.D. as my wall paper. My phone did not exhibit the sympton you guys described earlier. But last night, my pre-paid card mobile rang, I took a look at it & noticed the call was made from my S.B.:s22: New phone & software has teething problem? Maybe after some time the system will stabilise. :s11:

PPkiller

any idea wat's the resolution of the projector? how about the resolution of the videos that comes with the phone?:s12:

RipperJack

Alamak, cheat my feeling. :sad:

Hell Ripper & all, recently I inserted a SD card from another mobile to S.B. I used a photo from the S.D. as my wall paper. My phone did not exhibit the sympton you guys described earlier. But last night, my pre-paid card mobile rang, I took a look at it & noticed the call was made from my S.B.:s22: New phone & software has teething problem? Maybe after some time the system will stabilise. :s11:
probably ripper got a faulty set :s22:

the last probable cause ripper could think of would be the using the Screen Unlock Pattern. the one that has 3x3 dots to swipe a pattern to unlock screen.

both times the Beam froze, ripper was using this.

can try buttie?

anyway, ripper should be getting a new set tmr. hopefully, ripper's current one is just a faulty set and the problem will go away with the new set :D

RipperJack

any idea wat's the resolution of the projector? how about the resolution of the videos that comes with the phone?:s12:
hmmm projector for resolution one? :s11:
sorry, ripper not proficient with projector technology

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.