Samsung Beam?

goaheadbingostan

probably ripper got a faulty set :s22:

the last probable cause ripper could think of would be the using the Screen Unlock Pattern. the one that has 3x3 dots to swipe a pattern to unlock screen.

both times the Beam froze, ripper was using this.

can try buttie?

anyway, ripper should be getting a new set tmr. hopefully, ripper's current one is just a faulty set and the problem will go away with the new set :D

gostan use forefinger and swipe from left to right, no problem leh.

This kind of device is sensitive de, some delivery guy & store man any throw the box wan. :(

thanks for the input bro :D

not possible! :mad:
coz ozawa is not ripper's type :crazy:

You never answer gostan's kweksen on Ms Sherrilyn. She must be your type. no worry, gostan no steal bro's beam wan. :s34:

RipperJack

gostan use forefinger and swipe from left to right, no problem leh.

This kind of device is sensitive de, some delivery guy & store man any throw the box wan. :(

You never answer gostan's kweksen on Ms Sherrilyn. She must be your type. no worry, gostan no steal bro's beam wan. :s34:
buttie, did u soft reset? :s11:

at any rate, ripper has phobia of soft resetting now. this is not healthy! :(

ms sherrilyn is a very nice lady~ :s34:

coolninja02

no ripper didn't
coz ripper cannot add anything to ignore list. :s22:

only have "clear all" button, no "add" button :sad:

for me, at my app killer app, i highlighted my home theme app and hold on to it, came out a list for me to ignore killing it :)

greaselightn

USB connected and you can't use the phone

Is it only me or settings?

when i connect via USB to the phone; it shows:
MTP application: connected;

that's it; you cannot use the phone; browse or call or anything.
how to use the phone when usb connected either charging via power outlet or connected to pc?

thx

kennyboy

Is it only me or settings?

when i connect via USB to the phone; it shows:
MTP application: connected;

that's it; you cannot use the phone; browse or call or anything.
how to use the phone when usb connected either charging via power outlet or connected to pc?

thx
it's you. check settings->about phone->usb settings...choose always ask.

or just press the centre button or back button when it connects.

greaselightn

beam

Thanks, i did;
but the screen always hangs once connected;
the connection lights move;
but all my buttons; centre, back, will be unresponsive; nothing happens.
i need to unplug usb before going back to normal screen..

pls help.. thx

greaselightn

what i discovered is this:

1. if i set the usb setting to ask; Kies will not be able to detect the phone;
- and i can use the phone but cannot synchronise;

2. If i set the usb setting to Kies; Kies will connect and synchronise; but i will not be able to use the phone.

Is this normal? if so; this is real bad. you guys can call me up to buy my beam.

thx

RipperJack

for me, at my app killer app, i highlighted my home theme app and hold on to it, came out a list for me to ignore killing it :)
when ripper runs the ATK, it doesn't show any home theme apps and stuff, so can't add to ignore list :(

RipperJack

what i discovered is this:

1. if i set the usb setting to ask; Kies will not be able to detect the phone;
- and i can use the phone but cannot synchronise;

2. If i set the usb setting to Kies; Kies will connect and synchronise; but i will not be able to use the phone.

Is this normal? if so; this is real bad. you guys can call me up to buy my beam.

thx
from ripper's previous nightmarish experience with Kies (omnia2), ripper can safely tell you to forget about Kies.

just configure your device to "ask on connection" or "USB device"
Settings>About Phone>USB Settings

then plug in usb, pull down notification drawer and tap on USB and select mount.
your pc should detect your phone memory and sd card as 2 separate drives now.

goaheadbingostan

just turn off the phone by press and hold the power button and then select turn off phone.

wait for it to turn off totally

press and hold power button till it turns on again

Oh, what will happen after that:s11:

btw, gostan manages to locate the ATK/auto kill level at menu/setting. I set it safe. Frequency - every hr. Pls bear with this noob. :o

earlier i notice default hour/time font is smaller, but after install & uninstall an android hour widget, the default hour/time fone becomes bigger. Why ah?

KervyDog

Voice to Text and Voice SMS

Has anyone tried out Voice to Text on yr andriod device? I have not gotten my andriod phone yet so can someone plse comment on this?

If u want to try out Voice to Text, here are the steps:
1. Make sure you have at least version 2.0. Go to Voice Text -> Settings -> About

2. Go to your phone settings. Hit Home -> Menu -> Settings

3. Touch "Locale & text" ("Language and Keyboard" on the Droid) in the main phone settings

4. Check "Voice Text." A warning will come up about possibly enabling a key logger this way (Voice Text is not a key logger). You won't need to uncheck this every time you want to switch input methods.

Also, what about Voice SMS - (different from voice to text)

teckhwee

Anyone has problem with the volume of your videos being soft when using earphones? Like when you playback a video using phone speakers, sound is loud, but when you plug in earphones, the volume is soft. but on mp3 its still loud. And no, my video's audio volume is not soft, it plays loud on my SGS.

Can anyone varify?

RipperJack

Anyone has problem with the volume of your videos being soft when using earphones? Like when you playback a video using phone speakers, sound is loud, but when you plug in earphones, the volume is soft. but on mp3 its still loud. And no, my video's audio volume is not soft, it plays loud on my SGS.

Can anyone varify?
no problem leh :D
loud and clear.
but then again, ripper tested in office, so ambient noise is not very high.

did u max out the media volume? :s11:

RipperJack

Has anyone tried out Voice to Text on yr andriod device? I have not gotten my andriod phone yet so can someone plse comment on this?

If u want to try out Voice to Text, here are the steps:
1. Make sure you have at least version 2.0. Go to Voice Text -> Settings -> About

2. Go to your phone settings. Hit Home -> Menu -> Settings

3. Touch "Locale & text" ("Language and Keyboard" on the Droid) in the main phone settings

4. Check "Voice Text." A warning will come up about possibly enabling a key logger this way (Voice Text is not a key logger). You won't need to uncheck this every time you want to switch input methods.

Also, what about Voice SMS - (different from voice to text)
dun have such option leh.

voice-to-text think only nexus1 has it built-in
beam only has text-to-speech

RipperJack

starhub bo stock liao.. :-(
well, if u really wan, ripper should be getting moi replacement set in the next couple of days :D
so it's BNIB

however ripper is really in 2 minds to trade the Beam for a SGS.
the projector is really too much fun to give up :(
furthermore, after ATK, there isn't much lag anymore.
ripper also tried some graphics intensive games such as Asphalt5 last night, it's also zippy.

so it's down to the stability. after 2 freezes, ripper abit phobia. :(
should ripper keep the Beam? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.