Samsung Beam?

RipperJack

Thanks for the Photo Ripper. Flash looks decent. I have got used to a great flash with the N82 xenon camera flash, and the Beam's flash looks like it does the job!

Argh! I am so excited by this phone! I cant wait to see the projector in action.
since ripper can't post video, let ripper share some photos and a brand new discovery with Beam's camera :D

NEVER EVER TURN ON THE ANTI-SHAKE option :s27:

ripper finally discovered what is screwing ripper's shutter lag.
it's the stupid anti-shake option that does exactly opposite.
it makes the shutter lag so long, it's so hard to get a shot that you don't shake :s13:

below are 2 pictures ripper took during the evening indoor w/o flash.
ripper tried to hold the Beam as steady as possible le.
zero touch-ups except resizing to 1200x900

WITH Anti-Shake

2ujnl9d.jpg

WITHOUT Anti-Shake

2ep0mt4.jpg

RipperJack

cute kitties..

OMG u made me feel like i should have bought beam instead haha
no kidding buttie, it's really fun.

ripper beamed for moi mahjong kakis on saturday and 1 of them who is ipwn user immediately wanna buy a Beam :s13:

then his gf growled at him then he put off the idea :s13:

RipperJack

No offence, maybe can upgrade to a new pc.

Yes, in live you can see the projection is much bigger. When I record it and view it on my cam, i am still able to see my cat, and the LCD t.v. for a size comparison. After compression & uploading to you-tude, i can't see it anymore.
none taken coz it's the truth~ ripper needs to get a new pc soon :D

but ripper wanna wait for Diablo3 to come out first then do it =:p

RipperJack

Has anyone tried out Voice to Text on yr andriod device? I have not gotten my andriod phone yet so can someone plse comment on this?

If u want to try out Voice to Text, here are the steps:
1. Make sure you have at least version 2.0. Go to Voice Text -> Settings -> About

2. Go to your phone settings. Hit Home -> Menu -> Settings

3. Touch "Locale & text" ("Language and Keyboard" on the Droid) in the main phone settings

4. Check "Voice Text." A warning will come up about possibly enabling a key logger this way (Voice Text is not a key logger). You won't need to uncheck this every time you want to switch input methods.

Also, what about Voice SMS - (different from voice to text)
bro, ripper tried the voice search thingy le.

not very useful as it's not robust enough yet.
it seldom gets what you speak into it correct.
maybe if the user adopts an angmoh accent, it may improve the accuracy :s13:

but it's still a baby step towards the correct direction :D

Dyles

no kidding buttie, it's really fun.

ripper beamed for moi mahjong kakis on saturday and 1 of them who is ipwn user immediately wanna buy a Beam :s13:

then his gf growled at him then he put off the idea :s13:

its definately a feature you cant find in most phones.. sometimes fun more impt than being very high specs haha.. although in the market theres a few model, but in SG this is 1 and only.. and will be 1 and only for quite some time lol...

see that time u gian SGS suggest beam to u not so bad right..
coz u mentioned u want camera flash haha now u got more than what u wanted :)

RipperJack

its definately a feature you cant find in most phones.. sometimes fun more impt than being very high specs haha.. although in the market theres a few model, but in SG this is 1 and only.. and will be 1 and only for quite some time lol...

see that time u gian SGS suggest beam to u not so bad right..
coz u mentioned u want camera flash haha now u got more than what u wanted :)
yes buttie, ripper still remembers it's chius who brought Beam to ripper's attention.
tank chius sho musch~ :s34:

now that ripper's shutter lag woes is gone too, ripper is really loving moi 黄脸婆 dip dip now~! :D

Dyles

yes buttie, ripper still remembers it's chius who brought Beam to ripper's attention.
tank chius sho musch~ :s34:

now that ripper's shutter lag woes is gone too, ripper is really loving moi 黄脸婆 dip dip now~! :D

lol.. i bought my phone too early.. (is first batch of SGS early adopters) so i no choice also.. that time no new about beam lor.. that beam is like pop out of no where.. Glad that you like it haha if not i dunoe go where hide.. I see you all play beam so fun i see le also jealous :s22:

nvm la i got my own 黄脸婆 to care about lol.. and i'm still loving her despite the lack of a fun and nice thing like projector.. if some1 willing to trade hor i really will consider la.., but my phone is 2 months old, kinda bo hua for people so no point haha

RipperJack

lol.. i bought my phone too early.. (is first batch of SGS early adopters) so i no choice also.. that time no new about beam lor.. that beam is like pop out of no where.. Glad that you like it haha if not i dunoe go where hide.. I see you all play beam so fun i see le also jealous :s22:

nvm la i got my own 黄脸婆 to care about lol.. and i'm still loving her despite the lack of a fun and nice thing like projector.. if some1 willing to trade hor i really will consider la.., but my phone is 2 months old, kinda bo hua for people so no point haha
wah, no need to say until dunno where to hide mah :s13:
ripper is grateful that u pointed ripper to the right directions :D
ripper ish done moi homework on Beam before buying mah.
if Beam turns out to be a lemon, then it's caveat emptor for ripper.

ripper was having a headache as none of the current phones was a good alternative to ipwn4.
SGS was the closest, but the camera ish putting ripper off.
now that the shutter lag issue is resolved, ripper really has no complaints le.
ripper will readily and gladly recommend Beam to anyone! :D

battery life also improving over the days just as ripper expected.
the new battery will take a few full recharge cycles to release its true potential.
for non-heavy duty and normal moderate usage,
morning unplug from charger, evening reach home,
the battery life is well in the excess of 60%+

in any case, SGS is an excellent phone so no need to jealous mah :D
it's just that ripper really needs a decent mobile camera as ripper wants to take alot of mobile pictures and videos but dun wanna lug a digicam everywhere ripper goes.

your SGS qualifies more as a 狐狸精 coz she's slim and chio~ :s34:
黄脸婆 is Beam coz she's fat and not so chio :crazy:

benlim

How to sync to Outlook Calendar, Task and Contacts without using Google Account?

hi, to all the beam owners.

Was going for SGS but after reading all the stuffs here, finally got myself one yesterday. for those who are interested might want to check out from SH authorized partners which I did after being informed that SH shops itself had ran out of stock. :s7:

does anyone know how to achieve the above task cos just cannot figure out how to do it after being so familiar with WInMO.

Had also registered for the workshop, hope to learn some more tricks from you guys!

benlim

wah lau.must download the Kies program ~ 130Mb and installed onto PC before can do it....but where's to find the Tasks sync from outloook???

Dyles

wah, no need to say until dunno where to hide mah :s13:
ripper is grateful that u pointed ripper to the right directions :D
ripper ish done moi homework on Beam before buying mah.
if Beam turns out to be a lemon, then it's caveat emptor for ripper.

ripper was having a headache as none of the current phones was a good alternative to ipwn4.
SGS was the closest, but the camera ish putting ripper off.
now that the shutter lag issue is resolved, ripper really has no complaints le.
ripper will readily and gladly recommend Beam to anyone! :D

battery life also improving over the days just as ripper expected.
the new battery will take a few full recharge cycles to release its true potential.
for non-heavy duty and normal moderate usage,
morning unplug from charger, evening reach home,
the battery life is well in the excess of 60%+

in any case, SGS is an excellent phone so no need to jealous mah :D
it's just that ripper really needs a decent mobile camera as ripper wants to take alot of mobile pictures and videos but dun wanna lug a digicam everywhere ripper goes.

your SGS qualifies more as a 狐狸精 coz she's slim and chio~ :s34:
黄脸婆 is Beam coz she's fat and not so chio :crazy:

maybe dyles is saying 狐狸精 too slim.. no content to grab.. lol

no la... SGS is my 黄脸婆..
iPhone4 is the tempting 狐狸精 for me lol

ronangan

1. My SGB failed on me on Sat when I wanted to change the sim card. It stucked at the ANDROID booting page same as Bro. Ripper. I went to Causeway Point to have it reflashed! Bro. Ripper n me are definitely not da only owner who when to the service center to have our SGB reflased, I asked the CSO and she told me there are a few ppl come for the same reason. When I was waiting for her to fill up the form, there was an uncle who came to complain about SGB. He furiously complained that the phone don't come with a software CD and he cannot the it connected to the phone to the computer. He also complained about how slow it is. Being a new Android user I guess he doesn't know about the pull down menu for USB "Mount/Unmount" setting... Lol... Lucky that v hv this forum to refer to!

2. In SGB official support page, there is no KIES program available for SGB yet. Only 4 manuals can be downloaded. However, SGS have it's own KIES available already!

3. I bought the screen protector from eBay. Still waitin da item! Check it out... hxxp://cgi.ebay.com.sg/4x-Anti-Glare-Screen-Protector-Samsung-I8520-Beam-/390217274639?cmd=ViewItem&pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item5adac3150f

Dyles

Btw, the last time i saw the demo abt SGB, got show that can project things on a paper by using camera as a "scanner" and then projected by the projector?

Like this very useful sia, better than a normal projector.. can double function as a visualiser..
very good lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.