Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830

JayFSG

hi,

just gotten a samsung ace and dunno how to download apps to phone:p I dun have a dataplan and can't copy the app that i downloaded on my PC to the phone as it is not supported by Kies. Help :s12:
You can download them using Wifi as well. :s8:

happily1986

Field Report:

My experience with Gingerbread 2.3.4 on stock ROM is laggy with lock screen taking considerable time to come on.

I flashed the Ace to VillainRom v1.0 (the only third party ROM designed for Ace as of now) Zippier as some bloatware is now removed as promised. Ironic as the Villain ROM is based on GB 2.3.3:o

verna42

hi, does anyone know how to enable chinese characters when writing SMS or Memo? i've enabled chinese keyboard under Settings but it doesn't appear.

psychophant

hi, does anyone know how to enable chinese characters when writing SMS or Memo? i've enabled chinese keyboard under Settings but it doesn't appear.

try this:

Even if you've enabled the chinese input keyboard, you will still have to go to Settings -> Language and Keyboard -> Select Input Method and select the chinese keyboard. This should ensure the chinese keyboard appear by default.

Alternatively, long press onto any input column. A pop-up-box should appear to let you choose the input methods. Have to repeat this everytime u want to type something.

lightchaser

dataplan

hi,

can ask the experts here whether a 200mb dataplan is good enuff for normal surfing and download of the odd apps ? TIA :)

Boro

Have flashes with Gingerbread 2.3.4, European version.
As reported earlier by someone on this forum, laggy with lock screen taking about 1 sec to respond.
But the "sleep of death" or "hang" or "press power 15 sec to reboot" bug still exists leh.

zuldevil

Have flashes with Gingerbread 2.3.4, European version.
As reported earlier by someone on this forum, laggy with lock screen taking about 1 sec to respond.
But the "sleep of death" or "hang" or "press power 15 sec to reboot" bug still exists leh.

Huh... SoD still exists in Gingerbread ah...? Damn sian. :(

petrarchan

Hi

I am new and I have this problem...I am unable to load all my app icon and I have this message "Sorry!.....The application samsung home (process.com.sec.android.app.twlauncher) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again"....I have tried on-off...took the battery out and re-installed..on again...but the same eror message keep coming out....anyone know what is the problem?

gone... have to do hard reset..

i tried some ways others have mentioned before but all failed.. good luck.. everything gone..

happily1986

i think there is a bug with the screen lock function. during calls, shouldn't the screen lock be manually actuated by the proximity sensor like on the iPhone ie ear on phone = screen lock and ear away from phone = screen unlock?

my experience now is someone calls in, i swype to connect call and immediately screen locks without even me putting my ear coming close. this makes occasions when you want to immediately do loudspeaker mode an annoyance.

any users here can verify and corroborate my claims?

--------------------------------------------

PART 2
(if ever you flash your rom be it stock or custom and your multilanguage support ie CJK or CJKV is broken)

1.) try to reflash
2.) Route android to use a backup font instead of DroidSansFallback.ttf (this is the font in the default droid pack that supports CJK)
3.) You must be rooted first. Download Font Changer from Market. Open the app and enable SU permissions.
4.) Go Google and download some hosted version of DroidSansFallback.ttf and preferably download it into a folder location you wont delete accidentally.
5.) Alternatively you can use any ttf font with CJK support.
6.) Open font changer, under advanced navigate to your new font location and click apply and then reboot.

WARNING: Font Changer is an app requiring root access so better ensure it stays on your internal memory and err it seems to be prone to restarting your phone so have some patience! :)

happily1986

gone... have to do hard reset..

i tried some ways others have mentioned before but all failed.. good luck.. everything gone..

why gone, just launcher got daiji mah. sometimes after reboot all the apps icons in homescreen got problem to start with error saying no such app installed due to media scanner not working properly.

just unmount and remount sd card again loh. launcher can always use third party launcher if the stock one is gone. i recommend zeam launcher, fast for our ace. i prefer it to stock GB launcher.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.