Samsung Note Edge

derrickgoh

Still getting used to the phone. Note 3 was press home button twice to get to the screen where I can remove opened apps. Now its downward swipe the invisible button at the bottom left corner. :s13:

Out of curiosity, when I go to active applications, it says 1.74 out of 2.72 GB under "RAM status" even though its says 0 active applications. Why is so much RAM being used when there are no active apps? Is it necessary to worry about how much RAM is being used and if so, how to reduce the RAM usage?

I then went under "application manager" and displayed "running - show cached" processes. A whopping 1.5GB RAM was used and only 1.3 GB free.

I have no idea what is Smart Remote or Scrapbook nor have I ever run them before but they are listed"under "running - show cached". I use FB & WhatsApp all the time but they are closed at this stage so why does it still take up RAM?

I could be just paranoid since I'm quite new to Android but still, I'm a bit worried. :o

renfred89

Still getting used to the phone. Note 3 was press home button twice to get to the screen where I can remove opened apps. Now its downward swipe the invisible button at the bottom left corner. :s13:

Out of curiosity, when I go to active applications, it says 1.74 out of 2.72 GB under RAM status even though its says 0 active applications. Why is so much RAM being used when there are no active apps? Is it necessary to worry about how much RAM is being used and if so, how to reduce the RAM usage?

I then went under application manager and displayed running - show cached processes. A whopping 1.5GB RAM was used and only 1.3 GB free.

I have no idea what is Smart Remote or Scrapbook nor have I ever run them before but they are listed. I used FB & WhatsApp all the time but they are closed at this stage so why does it still take up RAM?

I could be just paranoid since I'm quite new to Android but still, I'm a bit worried. :o

don't be paranoid. seems like u jumped from iOS arh? haha.

Android systems have several files and processes that are constantly running in background in order to make sure your apps work. Things like software update, call, google services etc are always running in background. If you kill these processes, the phone will malfunction. Therefore there is no option to kill these essential processes unless u root the phone.

Don't worry about the RAM consumption if you are sure that you didn't install any rogue apps. Rogue apps are apps that are poorly engineered and eats into your RAM and are always active in background, thus draining battery. Once you removed them, what's running will be those essential ones.

Btw, all chat apps like messaging, hangouts, whatsapp, LINE etc all have active processes in RAM, if not they won't work when ppl send you a msg.

SO moral of the story, don't get bothered by the RAM usage, android will clear for you once it is running low..

derrickgoh

don't be paranoid. seems like u jumped from iOS arh? haha.

Android systems have several files and processes that are constantly running in background in order to make sure your apps work. Things like software update, call, google services etc are always running in background. If you kill these processes, the phone will malfunction. Therefore there is no option to kill these essential processes unless u root the phone.

Don't worry about the RAM consumption if you are sure that you didn't install any rogue apps. Rogue apps are apps that are poorly engineered and eats into your RAM and are always active in background, thus draining battery. Once you removed them, what's running will be those essential ones.

Btw, all chat apps like messaging, hangouts, whatsapp, LINE etc all have active processes in RAM, if not they won't work when ppl send you a msg.

SO moral of the story, don't get bothered by the RAM usage, android will clear for you once it is running low..
Indeed, I came from iPhone 6+ actually. :s13:

Well I hope I didn't install any poorly written apps. Don't know about the apps installed by default by Samsung though. Anyway those can't be uninstalled so not that I can do anything anyways.

Was worried that if RAM gets low the phone will lag or become unstable or affect battery life. :o

renfred89

Well I hope I didn't install any poorly written apps. Don't know about the apps installed by default by Samsung though. Anyway those can't be uninstalled so not that I can do anything anyways.

Was worried that if RAM gets low the phone will lag or become unstable or affect battery life. :o

don't worry.. those default apps if you don't want, you can "force stop" to make them sleep forever until you tap on them to open them. if not, you can also disable them to make them disappear from your applications. you can re-enable them if you want so....

derrickgoh

don't worry.. those default apps if you don't want, you can "force stop" to make them sleep forever until you tap on them to open them. if not, you can also disable them to make them disappear from your applications. you can re-enable them if you want so....
Thanks. Have disabled those pesky Samsung apps already.

On a totally different note, how do I change the default app for opening files?

When I first opened a PDF file I was given an option. I now want to change the app. But when I went to Applications - Default Applications, I just see Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. I don't see the default app which is used to open my PDF files or for that matter my Word files. So how do I change it if I don't even see it?

renfred89

Thanks. Have disabled those pesky Samsung apps already.

On a totally different note, how do I change the default app for opening files?

When I first opened a PDF file I was given an option. I now want to change the app. But when I went to Applications - Default Applications, I just see Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. I don't see the default app which is used to open my PDF files or for that matter my Word files. So how do I change it if I don't even see it?

U needa go to settings, then look for "default applications". Enter the menu and tap on clear, on the app u wanna reset the default command. Once reset, the file previously associated with the app will no lknger open by default, instead phone will ask u which app to use to open....

derrickgoh

U needa go to settings, then look for "default applications". Enter the menu and tap on clear, on the app u wanna reset the default command. Once reset, the file previously associated with the app will no lknger open by default, instead phone will ask u which app to use to open....
That's the thing. "Clear" only appears beside Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. My doc reader and PDF reader don't appear there so how do I clear it?

For that matter, no other apps appear there. It just lists Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. If memory serves correctly, I chose "Drive" or "Drive Reader" or something to open PDFs but this app doesn't appear in the list.

I have opened Word docs before so definitely some app has been assigned as default app however this app is also not in the list so if I want to change the app for Word docs, I can't either. I can't change what is not in the list.

royfrosty

Sian diao. Till now havent pull the trigger. Price jin ex even for mid tier plan ><

renfred89

That's the thing. "Clear" only appears beside Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. My doc reader and PDF reader don't appear there so how do I clear it?

For that matter, no other apps appear there. It just lists Firefox, TouchWiz Home and Email. If memory serves correctly, I chose "Drive" or "Drive Reader" or something to open PDFs but this app doesn't appear in the list.

I have opened Word docs before so definitely some app has been assigned as default app however this app is also not in the list so if I want to change the app for Word docs, I can't either. I can't change what is not in the list.

Could ur doc be saved inside that app's folder?

Azuredrak

Hi Edge users, Someone over at XDA have done themes for the edge.
Interested pls go over to take a look. :D
But the catch is..... $$$ :(

Galaxy Edge themes for your panel | Galaxy Note Edge | XDA Forums

If this have been shared, sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Some people might like them and are willing to pay, that's fine. Personally though, he's creating "Express Me" templates that you can do on the phone itself. Just go to Express Me settings and you can choose the pictures to set as background. Use any image editing software to rotate the picture sideways. Also, he's just using pictures he found off the Internet. If they are themes that include icons and whatnot then it would be more worth, but just the panel background...ehh..I don't think it's worth.

One thing to note for Express Me panels is that they don't show up during active phone usage, they only start playing when your phone is at the unlock screen. In other words, just decoration that plays when you unlock your phone which very few people pay attention to (since you unlock then go into home straight, and the Express Me panel gets replaced by the one with icons).

Thanks for sharing anyway, appreciate your effort :D

Azuredrak

Yea, you don't need to worry. Certain background processes are running all the time (such as email), as long as you don't set them to update every minute or so, they are actually doing next to nothing (on standby). For example, if you set your mail to update once every 5 hours, what it would do is to check for the system time, then when 5 hours is up, it would do an auto update. During the time leading up to the fifth hour though, it consumes insignificant energy. Think of it this way, your digital watch can probably last for months on a single battery, counting time all the while, even if the application counts time itself (instead of taking the system time), it still consumes negligible energy.

Then, Android OS works differently when compared to desktop OS like Windows. On desktops, you kill processes manually to free up ram, on Android however, the OS kills your apps either after some period of inactivity or when it needs more memory. You wouldn't really run into situations where you lack RAM.

The next thing to understand is that an active RAM doesn't equal to active applications. Think of it this way, RAM is a temporary memory area in which your phone dumps data in. The size is much smaller than your conventional storage, but the difference between primary memory (RAM) and secondary memory (HDD) is that data can be retrieved and stored a lot faster on the former. This is why when you play games, the data are stored on your RAM so that your device doesn't need to have long load times. Having your RAM retain data though, doesn't mean that those memory are actively being used. Sometimes, certain files and data from your apps are stored on the RAM so that your device doesn't need to load everything again (the next time you open the app). Depending on the app, sometimes clearing your RAM unnecessarily could take more energy to reload it again. A suitable analogy would be having a notebook filled with important and handy information (RAM) that you copied from the library (HDD). A filled notebook doesn't always mean that there are people actively using the notebook (consuming energy). Sure, RAM needs to be powered to retain data, but the energy used is not significant. An empty RAM doesn't use less power, just as an empty notebook doesn't weigh less.

Of course, then there are those apps that always remain active and drain your battery life, just keep a lookout on the apps review before you download them. Usually, "rogue" or "errant" apps receive lots of flak in the review section.

derrickgoh

Could ur doc be saved inside that app's folder?
No leh. Never download. Only open and view from within email.

You mean for your phone you see the default apps for PDF, doc, etc?

This is all that I see:

2znva0j.jpg

IceShelterX

Post a picture? The top part is supposed to be silver in colour on the sides, and black in the middle. Silver surrounding black.

samsung-galaxy-note-edge-stylus-1500x1000.jpg

Like this.

yes confirmed... the same... :s13:

look at bottom silver lining of the picture... there is a white square... near stylus area.... at both left and right...

derrickgoh

Yea, you don't need to worry. Certain background processes are running all the time (such as email), as long as you don't set them to update every minute or so, they are actually doing next to nothing (on standby). For example, if you set your mail to update once every 5 hours, what it would do is to check for the system time, then when 5 hours is up, it would do an auto update. During the time leading up to the fifth hour though, it consumes insignificant energy. Think of it this way, your digital watch can probably last for months on a single battery, counting time all the while, even if the application counts time itself (instead of taking the system time), it still consumes negligible energy.

Then, Android OS works differently when compared to desktop OS like Windows. On desktops, you kill processes manually to free up ram, on Android however, the OS kills your apps either after some period of inactivity or when it needs more memory. You wouldn't really run into situations where you lack RAM.

The next thing to understand is that an active RAM doesn't equal to active applications. Think of it this way, RAM is a temporary memory area in which your phone dumps data in. The size is much smaller than your conventional storage, but the difference between primary memory (RAM) and secondary memory (HDD) is that data can be retrieved and stored a lot faster on the former. This is why when you play games, the data are stored on your RAM so that your device doesn't need to have long load times. Having your RAM retain data though, doesn't mean that those memory are actively being used. Sometimes, certain files and data from your apps are stored on the RAM so that your device doesn't need to load everything again (the next time you open the app). Depending on the app, sometimes clearing your RAM unnecessarily could take more energy to reload it again. A suitable analogy would be having a notebook filled with important and handy information (RAM) that you copied from the library (HDD). A filled notebook doesn't always mean that there are people actively using the notebook (consuming energy). Sure, RAM needs to be powered to retain data, but the energy used is not significant. An empty RAM doesn't use less power, just as an empty notebook doesn't weigh less.

Of course, then there are those apps that always remain active and drain your battery life, just keep a lookout on the apps review before you download them. Usually, "rogue" or "errant" apps receive lots of flak in the review section.
Cheem but good to know most of my worries were unfounded.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.