Samsung Pay

shengliang1981

mostly behind the counter and awkward to ask them take the MST out to let me tap, some still tell me don't accept mobile payment, no chance to explain the MST part.

if i see paywave terminals, i just request for paywave.

Next time tell the cashier u did not bring any cash or cards.. Lol..

swathe

But weird that MST is allowed because Singapore moved away from magstrip to chips because of security exploits.

The risk is that next time, someone could MST your card info over to pay after your card gets skimmed.

shengliang1981

But weird that MST is allowed because Singapore moved away from magstrip to chips because of security exploits.

The risk is that next time, someone could MST your card info over to pay after your card gets skimmed.

Good point. I guess the magnetic stripe is disabled on the cards for overseas usage but the terminals may still have magnetic stripe activated in case some old cards or overseas cards dont have EMV chips.. If so may need to activate card for overseas usage if want to use Samsung MST..

denial86

Good point. I guess the magnetic stripe is disabled on the cards for overseas usage but the terminals may still have magnetic stripe activated in case some old cards or overseas cards dont have EMV chips.. If so may need to activate card for overseas usage if want to use Samsung MST..

Lol speaking of which; don't think Samsung Pay is supported overseas.
What do I need to start using Samsung Pay?

To use Samsung Pay, you need:

A compatible Samsung device*
A supported payment card from a participating bank
A Samsung account
Registered fingerprint or Samsung Pay PIN
To be located in the country of the participating bank**

* Compatible devices: Galaxy S7 4G+, Galaxy S7 edge 4G+, Galaxy S6 edge+ 4G+ and Galaxy Note 5 4G+
** For verification purposes, you must be located in the same country as the participating bank when adding a payment card in Samsung Pay

And also, because I was curious:

Samsung Pay requires an active internet data connection for card registration and activation. However, an active internet data connection is not required to make in-store purchases. Ideally, the device should connect to the internet once per day to ensure that Samsung Pay stays updated. Most cards will allow you to make up to 10 transactions before you will need to connect to the internet and refresh the Samsung Pay information.

Good to know!

shengliang1981

I'm not saying that Samsung pay is supported in overseas or not.

What I meant is disabling the card for overseas usage might also deactivate the card magnetic stripe, thus might not be able to use for MST.. Purely guessing only, so I might be wrong.. :s13:

fone

I just tried at a store without paywave. Just say I need to put my phone beside the terminal and cashier simply brings up the terminal.

Going to try a few more times before I leave most of my cards at home.

Magnetic strip reading will still be there until the whole world (or at least a majority) moves away from magnetic strip credit cards.

If they get your card info. MST is supposedly very safe. Also, it uses a virtual card number, that might change each time (and be valid for a certain period of time only. I've had this US card that allows me to go online and generate a virtual card number for online transactions, which stops you from disclosing your actual card number and limits the time frame for people to use your card.

It is only launched in some countries. Meaning, you need to be resident or hold that country's credit card to use Samsung pay. The MST works like a normal credit card, at least one without the chip. I'd say it should work overseas using magnetic strip only. It should also be more secure for consumer as the card number transmitted to the terminal is a virtual card number and not the actual card number.

The para you quoted simply means you must be in sg to add sg card, doesn't say anything about usage.

denial86

I just tried at a store without paywave. Just say I need to put my phone beside the terminal and cashier simply brings up the terminal.

Going to try a few more times before I leave most of my cards at home.

Magnetic strip reading will still be there until the whole world (or at least a majority) moves away from magnetic strip credit cards.

If they get your card info. MST is supposedly very safe. Also, it uses a virtual card number, that might change each time (and be valid for a certain period of time only. I've had this US card that allows me to go online and generate a virtual card number for online transactions, which stops you from disclosing your actual card number and limits the time frame for people to use your card.

It is only launched in some countries. Meaning, you need to be resident or hold that country's credit card to use Samsung pay. The MST works like a normal credit card, at least one without the chip. I'd say it should work overseas using magnetic strip only. It should also be more secure for consumer as the card number transmitted to the terminal is a virtual card number and not the actual card number.

The para you quoted simply means you must be in sg to add sg card, doesn't say anything about usage.

Haha thanks for pointing out, didn't realise. Interesting.. It would certainly make things easier not to have to use a physical card since as mentioned we get the digital card number. But what scares me is how much more valuable that makes our phone.

We can still use pin if fingerprint fails so I believe that there's still a way to use the digital information if they have the right tools. But I guess there's always going to be such worries.

Question - Anyone knows how we can reset our fingerprint record in Samsung Pay? My fingerprints change too frequently and I have not found the option in the app yet.

fone

Question - Anyone knows how we can reset our fingerprint record in Samsung Pay? My fingerprints change too frequently and I have not found the option in the app yet.

I believe Samsung Pay uses the same fingerprints on file to unlock your phone. Go to settings -> lock screen & security. Then change / add fingerprint. Your fingerprint does not change, just the position of your finger on the sensor. Add more other position of the finger here, and it should be better.

denial86

I believe Samsung Pay uses the same fingerprints on file to unlock your phone. Go to settings -> lock screen & security. Then change / add fingerprint. Your fingerprint does not change, just the position of your finger on the sensor. Add more other position of the finger here, and it should be better.

Hmm don't think they use my full database leh. Cause I have like 3 prints + 1 print for my husband to unlock my phone, and my husband tested on my Samsung Pay but his print was not recognised. He can unlock my phone but cannot activate my Samsung Pay, lol. :s13:

We had to register our print when activating Samsung Pay so I'm thinking only that print works. But my print is about to be wiped out already, so not sure what's gonna happen.

fone

Hmm don't think they use my full database leh. Cause I have like 3 prints + 1 print for my husband to unlock my phone, and my husband tested on my Samsung Pay but his print was not recognised. He can unlock my phone but cannot activate my Samsung Pay, lol. :s13:

We had to register our print when activating Samsung Pay so I'm thinking only that print works. But my print is about to be wiped out already, so not sure what's gonna happen.

I just tried. I have prints for unlocking for both left and right thumb. Both works for Samsung Pay. Samsung Pay only took one print initially right?

At least, this is the basis of my claims.

I'm on a S7, Android 6.0.1, KNOX 2.6 by the way.

TnT1

guys after I have successful register the promo gift (wireless charger) for the Samsung pay and make 1 transaction, whats next ? wait for them to call me or ?

cheers

shengliang1981

guys after I have successful register the promo gift (wireless charger) for the Samsung pay and make 1 transaction, whats next ? wait for them to call me or ?

cheers

You should receive the app notification almost immediately if you win. Open the notification and then register your delivery address.

denial86

You should receive the app notification almost immediately if you win. Open the notification and then register your delivery address.

Weird, I didn't get anything.. Only got the notification that transaction successful. Is there a minimum spend cause the T&Cs never state lor.. :(

shengliang1981

Weird, I didn't get anything.. Only got the notification that transaction successful. Is there a minimum spend cause the T&Cs never state lor.. :(

No minimum but only for first 500 i think. I spent $5 after midnight and receive the notification immediately.

paurusu

If still can register means should be still within 500 leh.. Aiyo sad sia. :(
Only registering doesn't mean within 500. Must make transaction afterwards within 500. My winning (the week before) only confirmed the next day with Samsung Pay app notification.

Well last week was easier since not many people know and registration page came up late. By now , more people chiong this promo :)

denial86

Only registering doesn't mean within 500. Must make transaction afterwards within 500. My winning (the week before) only confirmed the next day with Samsung Pay app notification.

Well last week was easier since not many people know and registration page came up late. By now , more people chiong this promo :)

If that's the case means it's not always immediate? Haha fingers crossed ba. Yah lor, I should have done it last week the moment I saw it. End up wait till next day then fully redeemed. Tsk tsk haha.

paurusu

New promo - Watsons - additional $5 voucher if you use master card Samsung Pay for $50
Means you can get $5 voucher (Masterpass) + $5 voucher (Samsung Pay) + 20% rebate (if use manhattan/SCB card) - quite good deal eh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.