SBF excercise-sep2012

wlcling

i'm in a rented room w my boy while hubby bunks in with his bro, for the past 2 years.

queue 388 out of 152, first timers, 4th attempt.
every failed attempt = another min. 10 months wait (from application to results, another sbf, or even flat selection)

we've also written many many letters to hdb, seen our MP godzillian times, went khaw boon wan twice - both response were 'you should have went for BTO'.
hello uncle? seriously? 'should have'? I 'should have' struck toto, seriously!
i'm disgustingly appalled by the way he acted on both occasions, (maybe he had too many 'needys' for one night, i wouldn't know, but he 'should have' at least acted like he cares, like on his facebook or something la) but i have to say i'm super amazed at his speed in showing us out - 3 mins, after our over an hr wait to see him.

are we being 'punished' for not taking up the BTO program he's hosting?
ok, we are stupid to assume that SBF is for people who cannot wait 3 years, for those who need a roof urgently.
we are lagi stupid to think that SBF should be easier for those who are willing to trade the wider options available (in BTO) for a home within closer reach but what exactly is the objective of SBF ar? extra round of lucky draw for fun?

do they need people to get out of jobs, throw themselves out in the streets, make the situation really dire n pathetic, get media attention before they 'help' with angelic halo over their heads?

we're going to see PM tonight n hopefully .. i dun even know what to hope for ...
we're so stuck with our heads deep in sh*t, i dunno what to do liao.
should we try another round of SBF? or go BTO?
BTO means kissing our family plan goodbye.
in fact, we may also be kissing our marriage goodbye, to have to live separate lives for the next few years, if we are not careful.

they 'say' they want all citizen to own a roof of their own.
they 'say' they want more babies, more kids to grow our population.
they 'say'.
but they 'do' it in a way that citizens' top priority in basic needs - housing, is done in a lucky draw.

sorry for the long ranting, been cooped up super super badly.

just curious why can't u 3 stay together...

myself also renting with wife and kid... montly need to pay for nanny fees too.. so much expenses so I can never afford 20% downpayment and so must go for bto or sobf scheme... in fact my expenses now are creeping up to be more than our income.

but no point being sour about the system...
stay positive and good things will happen!

3G SAINT

I had also wrote in to REACH in support to bring back the queue system instead of the current system. They thought this is lucky draw or what. :mad:

:s8:If you are use back queuing system might take longer time bcos too many new citizen and 2nd timer come and apply new flat but this system give 1st timer more chance and normally need
try 3-4 time then you will get it:)

:DDo you have queue number:)

limenxi

My husband and I + 2 more kids are also renting from the open market @ $2100 every month. A 3 room flat. As I just given birth, need more space and privacy so no choice. Can't rent only a room and 4 of us + confinement lady squeeze inside a room. So far, after visiting MP, writing to Mr Khaw, PM Lee, social workers, all doesn't help. I really mean ALL. So ended up, we gave up hopes. We gave up sourcing help from the government sector as I know they all are 'dogs' and drawing high salary and talk big. Want more birth rate, we give but in return what are they giving us back? Like using us to get something and asking us to F off after that. So fine. My hubby and I couldn't be bothered anymore. After knowing there's this SOBF execrcise in Sept, we applied. Previously we applied once, for the march, in Punggol. Under priority scheme to stay near my parents but Q was still 69X, so far behind! Before its our turn, they alr told us 'sorry to inform you that all flats has been taken up'. As expected. So this time round, things got better. I dunno how and why . This time round. Applied for sengkang without priority scheme and its our second time, total flats is 224. My Q just nice is 22X. It's within the range of the flats available! When its my turn, probably only 5 flats or less for me to choose? Yes, low floors, maybe someone stays in the flat before, no fantastic view. But well, who cares? All we need is a house of our own. A place we can call it our home. Finally, we got it! Sometimes, its better to leave things as it is. Don't bother too much and let natural take its courses. This is what it's happening to us now! Unbelievable. But one thing to note. Before we applied for this SOBF, we did a whole list research and that's to find the most numbers of 3/4 room flat and than we apply for the particular location. Just nice.. Sengkang was the one and location everything was fine so we went ahead. Probably the next exercise, try applying for the estate that has the most numbers of flat of your preferred room size.. Chances are higher in a way :) Goodluck!

limenxi

:s8:If you are use back queuing system might take longer time bcos too many new citizen and 2nd timer come and apply new flat but this system give 1st timer more chance and normally need

What is the new system btw? I thought all the while is ballot by the computer? As previously claimed by the customer service staff from HDB during my application for SOBF for march. Because my Q was such a lousy one and I complained but they shove me off by telling me its ballot by the system and there's nothing they can do.

skjh7`

IMHO, they can have the old Q system and like wise have the 95% and 5% ratio for the 1st timers and 2nd timers. or what ever ratio.

They are just lazy to do it and everything leave it to the computer to do their work.

Yes got a number which is out of the number of flat supplied.

What abt ur good self? Do you have a Q number?

Kelvin_87

Need you guys advice on this, currently i gave up 1 chance of selection (May BTO) and on hand i got Jul BTO out of range number (125x/724) tgt with a Sep SOBF out of range number (26x/224).

should i be balloting for Nov BTO still? if yes, what if i am called up for selection for Sep SOBF but i got a number for Nov BTO which i preferred? will i be asked to forfeit my Nov BTO selection?

naughty_joe18

IMHO, they can have the old Q system and like wise have the 95% and 5% ratio for the 1st timers and 2nd timers. or what ever ratio.

They are just lazy to do it and everything leave it to the computer to do their work.

Yes got a number which is out of the number of flat supplied.

What abt ur good self? Do you have a Q number?

Would there be a difference between the old Q system and the current BTO system? Bcos for both, the applicants would have to wait upto three years for their turn.

suryach78

My husband and I + 2 more kids are also renting from the open market @ $2100 every month. A 3 room flat. As I just given birth, need more space and privacy so no choice. Can't rent only a room and 4 of us + confinement lady squeeze inside a room. So far, after visiting MP, writing to Mr Khaw, PM Lee, social workers, all doesn't help. I really mean ALL. So ended up, we gave up hopes. We gave up sourcing help from the government sector as I know they all are 'dogs' and drawing high salary and talk big. Want more birth rate, we give but in return what are they giving us back? Like using us to get something and asking us to F off after that. So fine. My hubby and I couldn't be bothered anymore. After knowing there's this SOBF execrcise in Sept, we applied. Previously we applied once, for the march, in Punggol. Under priority scheme to stay near my parents but Q was still 69X, so far behind! Before its our turn, they alr told us 'sorry to inform you that all flats has been taken up'. As expected. So this time round, things got better. I dunno how and why . This time round. Applied for sengkang without priority scheme and its our second time, total flats is 224. My Q just nice is 22X. It's within the range of the flats available! When its my turn, probably only 5 flats or less for me to choose? Yes, low floors, maybe someone stays in the flat before, no fantastic view. But well, who cares? All we need is a house of our own. A place we can call it our home. Finally, we got it! Sometimes, its better to leave things as it is. Don't bother too much and let natural take its courses. This is what it's happening to us now! Unbelievable. But one thing to note. Before we applied for this SOBF, we did a whole list research and that's to find the most numbers of 3/4 room flat and than we apply for the particular location. Just nice.. Sengkang was the one and location everything was fine so we went ahead. Probably the next exercise, try applying for the estate that has the most numbers of flat of your preferred room size.. Chances are higher in a way :) Goodluck!

grats that finally you get number within flat allocation this time, don't worry you will get to choose from some units, expect some drop out along the way. anyway, looks like u dont mind any unit, so it doesnt really matter, as long as can get 1 :D

good suggestion u got there, 1 more thing to add (maybe lots of people already know anyway) is wait till last day and see which area got the low ratio. higher chance for success (if dont mind any area) ;)

nevelle

just curious why can't u 3 stay together...

myself also renting with wife and kid... montly need to pay for nanny fees too.. so much expenses so I can never afford 20% downpayment and so must go for bto or sobf scheme... in fact my expenses now are creeping up to be more than our income.

but no point being sour about the system...
stay positive and good things will happen!

may i know if u are renting a common room or the whole flat pls?
if it's just a room u r really lucky ... landlord these days only want either working singles, married couple, students - indicated no children.
we grabbed the first common room that landlord said 'ok' to accommodating our then 4+ yr old boy but only 2 pax allowed ...
many agents told us that HDB has a rule on maximum occupant per flat allowed too.

we are pretty much in the same boat, rental, student care fees alone is over 1k, before any other expenses like food, transport, medical.

we rushed to AMK after work yesterday, hoping to meet PM, end up we were told 'oh u wont see the minister, only see the writers who will help u write to ur district MP that u've been here'.
sigh ...
banging wall after wall after wall ...

avenlim

My queue is 69/66 for 5 room flat in punggol.. What are the chances to actually select the flat?

Coolgirl

Jan 2013 or end of this month? My bro got no.1 & it states the selection will start by end of this month. Mine will be Jan 2013.

I got a question to ask.
my bro is a freelance worker who earns $2K a month so what document does HDB usually ask for?

He is a single parent & got 1 child under his custody.

Hi, May I know which area has your brother balloted for? Is it Punggol?

Coolgirl

Need you guys advice on this, currently i gave up 1 chance of selection (May BTO) and on hand i got Jul BTO out of range number (125x/724) tgt with a Sep SOBF out of range number (26x/224).

should i be balloting for Nov BTO still? if yes, what if i am called up for selection for Sep SOBF but i got a number for Nov BTO which i preferred? will i be asked to forfeit my Nov BTO selection?

there is a high chance that you will be called for sep sobf. if you give up again, ur 1st timer privilege will be gone. if you dont mind the lower levels or those not preferred flats in sep sobf, it is good to just wait for your turn to come. u will be asked to forfeit only after u have selected a flat.

Coolgirl

My queue is 69/66 for 5 room flat in punggol.. What are the chances to actually select the flat?

Very high. there might be drop-outs. and if there r alot of 2nd timers who applied for your area, then there might be some who will not get to choose afterall.

avenlim

First SOBF as 2nd Timer.

Chances are slim, need to have >50% dropout rates...

I'm a first timer.. so probably I will get a chance to choose a flat..

Anyway idea where I can see the drop out rate for SOBF? Tried searching HDB website but result isn't fruitful.

Any advice are highly appreciated.

nrsa.2010

U can see the q no called for everyday through myhdbpage using ur singpass once the hdb given appointment and started selection process in that area.. and also u have to check the 'flat available for selection' page everyday to check the decreasing flat numbers..so if the q no called for today is 10 and the flat available for selection is 95/100...then the dropout is 5...and u takenote everyday until ur selection day...

limenxi

grats that finally you get number within flat allocation this time, don't worry you will get to choose from some units, expect some drop out along the way. anyway, looks like u dont mind any unit, so it doesnt really matter, as long as can get 1 :D

good suggestion u got there, 1 more thing to add (maybe lots of people already know anyway) is wait till last day and see which area got the low ratio. higher chance for success (if dont mind any area) ;)

Yes yes. It doesn't matter how ulu the sengkang area we are taking or which floor level. So long we have a place to call it our home. Had 2 kids already. If still no place to settle them down, really don't know what kind of environment we are going to bring them up as time goes by. But finally! Such a relief for us now. Applied with a normal heavy heart, thinking all the negatives. But pop by HDB website to check ytd and shockness! We got it! For ppl who are still trying and did not get a good Q, do not be devastated! Always think positively. But I think the opposite. lol. Is up to you how you see it. We look at it with a normal no chance heart and end up?! Got a Q. Good luck for those who are trying.. Quit going to the MP. It's wasting of time and they won't help. They can't do much also because HDB will always reply you tht they have to be fair to everyone bla bla bla.. I walked through that path before and understand its simply torturing. Ended up we stopped. If its yours, it yours yeah? Goodluck ;)

3G SAINT

First SOBF as 2nd Timer.

Chances are slim, need to have >50% dropout rates...

:s8:You got use MCPS or near to parent as 2nd timer:)
The first time not bad better then mine:(
Last march SOBF the queue is better....hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.