SBF Nov 2015

livingincm

lol anyone else applied for hougang SOBF? :) application rate of 4.3... should i go church and start praying? hahaha!

duckie_15

What's the cost range of your renovation? I need to start saving for it. :look:

Well, initially planning for 20k for basic reno:
- Kitchen cabinet only
- shower screen
- painting
- system 3 aircon
- Lighting (If possible dun intend to have additional power points)

No other carpentry works. Now I think need to add another 8-10k for tiles and workmanship. And yes, start saving early.

alkoll

What's the cost range of your renovation? I need to start saving for it. :look:

Actually for renovation, it depends on what you want. And also whether you opted for OCS..

If opted for OCS, can prepare around 20-30k minimally.
If did not opt for OCS, can go up to 40-50k.

I did not opt for OCS, initially wanted to budget around 30k. But think might need to up it to about 40k.

Gixxerfied

It depends on what u need and want..How much carpentry, false ceiling, wall works etc etc..

Will be meeting a contractor friend later to discuss about this..

duckie_15

It depends on what u need and want..How much carpentry, false ceiling, wall works etc etc..

Will be meeting a contractor friend later to discuss about this..

Haha... no fasle ceiling for me, now a days HDB ceiling also not so high liao and dun want few years down the road discover a few PRs living in the false ceiling.

I see my friend spent 10k plus on a lot of unnecessary carpentry work like constructing wardrobes, full length window bay cabinet, children study table and wall works to conceal the TV cables.

Gixxerfied

Haha... no fasle ceiling for me, now a days HDB ceiling also not so high liao and dun want few years down the road discover a few PRs living in the false ceiling.

I see my friend spent 10k plus on a lot of unnecessary carpentry work like constructing wardrobes, full length window bay cabinet, children study table and wall works to conceal the TV cables.

Bay window not cheap, that one for sure..

False ceiling for mine would be abit.. From corridor leading to MBR straight line out to the living room..For me to project out the warm lights..Less than 1m width..If wan clean still accessible from both ends.

As for my study room, might custom a computer table but not the fixed kind..

Well, although draw out pictures of what we want and where we want it..Later after meeting contractor then wait for the quotation..He did mention he will give us a lower price per sqft for the carpentry..

duckie_15

Bay window not cheap, that one for sure..

False ceiling for mine would be abit.. From corridor leading to MBR straight line out to the living room..For me to project out the warm lights..Less than 1m width..If wan clean still accessible from both ends.

As for my study room, might custom a computer table but not the fixed kind..

Well, although draw out pictures of what we want and where we want it..Later after meeting contractor then wait for the quotation..He did mention he will give us a lower price per sqft for the carpentry..

I think market price for carpentry per foot run is $160~200

Mr.Canberra

HDB SOBF Nov 2015 (Sembawang)

The Canberra MRT station will be up in a few years later, I don't understand why this estate area is so under subscribed. Should be a popular place man.

Too many choices with this mega release of BTO and SBOF.

Looking at the flats available for sebawang, the few units with keys ready cost ~60k more than those to be completed in 2017/2018 (comparing units at on the same level). Is there any reason why it would cost so much more, apart from it having keys ready?

location it is nearer to MRT I believe at point of BTO. remember Canberra just announced

Oh, now that you mentioned it, makes sense. Guess that's why eastlace/eastcrown units cost more than eastbrook too. Wondering if it's worth paying 10-20k more for 300m closer to the mrt... think have to go down and see for myself.

You'll get first mover advantage if you saw the potential via research such as URA Master Plan, Tender Notice, etc.

See my signature link for my Canberra MRT research. :s13:

Gixxerfied

My frd customize 6ft wardrobe $1920 ��
Must see casement door, sliding door or sliding glass..veneer or laminate..

But at $320 per sqft is abit high..

Edit: Just back from a 2+ hours sit down discussion with my contractor friend..Now is wait for his quotation..

blisse

lol anyone else applied for hougang SOBF? :) application rate of 4.3... should i go church and start praying? hahaha!

How to calculate application rate. My application rate is 5.3, i thought it's quite good as compared second timer is 51.or higher number is better?

Gixxerfied

How to calculate application rate. My application rate is 5.3, i thought it's quite good as compared second timer is 51.or higher number is better?

You mean 4.3 for Hougang 4rm??

If yes then there are 91 units on offer, 95% is for First Timer so about 86 units is for First Timer..

With a application ratio of 4.3, it means there are 4.3 application per unit which is about 370 First Timer application.In short 370 application fighting for 86 units..

The lower the ratio the better of cos..

blisse

You mean 4.3 for Hougang 4rm??

If yes then there are 91 units on offer, 95% is for First Timer so about 86 units is for First Timer..

With a application ratio of 4.3, it means there are 4.3 application per unit which is about 370 First Timer application.In short 370 application fighting for 86 units..

The lower the ratio the better of cos..

Oh i see.. i just calculated mine, 247 fighting for 49 units.

tiny

As long as it is not concrete slab, there will be tiny holes for organism and insects to crawl in and grow. Even those cabinets below the toilet basin. See the exterior very nice, few years later infested with cockroaches and mould/algae.

duckie_15

As long as it is not concrete slab, there will be tiny holes for organism and insects to crawl in and grow. Even those cabinets below the toilet basin. See the exterior very nice, few years later infested with cockroaches and mould/algae.

My parents home toilet cabinet were made of concrete with tile finishing and have aluminium frame sliding door. May not look as nice but very lasting. Of course it reqires cleaning/scrubbing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.