livingincm
lol anyone else applied for hougang SOBF?
application rate of 4.3... should i go church and start praying? hahaha!
What's the cost range of your renovation? I need to start saving for it.![]()
It depends on what u need and want..How much carpentry, false ceiling, wall works etc etc..
Will be meeting a contractor friend later to discuss about this..
Haha... no fasle ceiling for me, now a days HDB ceiling also not so high liao and dun want few years down the road discover a few PRs living in the false ceiling.
I see my friend spent 10k plus on a lot of unnecessary carpentry work like constructing wardrobes, full length window bay cabinet, children study table and wall works to conceal the TV cables.
moi also last try for new hdb. If fail will most probably go for resale.This time round applied under MCPS but if still can't get my flat most likely gonna go for resale around this area. Grants made resales a feasible options.
Good luck to all!

Bay window not cheap, that one for sure..
False ceiling for mine would be abit.. From corridor leading to MBR straight line out to the living room..For me to project out the warm lights..Less than 1m width..If wan clean still accessible from both ends.
As for my study room, might custom a computer table but not the fixed kind..
Well, although draw out pictures of what we want and where we want it..Later after meeting contractor then wait for the quotation..He did mention he will give us a lower price per sqft for the carpentry..
I think market price for carpentry per foot run is $160~200
The Canberra MRT station will be up in a few years later, I don't understand why this estate area is so under subscribed. Should be a popular place man.
Looking at the flats available for sebawang, the few units with keys ready cost ~60k more than those to be completed in 2017/2018 (comparing units at on the same level). Is there any reason why it would cost so much more, apart from it having keys ready?
location it is nearer to MRT I believe at point of BTO. remember Canberra just announced
Oh, now that you mentioned it, makes sense. Guess that's why eastlace/eastcrown units cost more than eastbrook too. Wondering if it's worth paying 10-20k more for 300m closer to the mrt... think have to go down and see for myself.

Kitchen and wardrobe different price..kitchen cheaper
Must see casement door, sliding door or sliding glass..veneer or laminate..My frd customize 6ft wardrobe $1920 ��
lol anyone else applied for hougang SOBF?application rate of 4.3... should i go church and start praying? hahaha!
How to calculate application rate. My application rate is 5.3, i thought it's quite good as compared second timer is 51.or higher number is better?
You mean 4.3 for Hougang 4rm??
If yes then there are 91 units on offer, 95% is for First Timer so about 86 units is for First Timer..
With a application ratio of 4.3, it means there are 4.3 application per unit which is about 370 First Timer application.In short 370 application fighting for 86 units..
The lower the ratio the better of cos..
Haha... no fasle ceiling for me, now a days HDB ceiling also not so high liao and dun want few years down the road discover a few PRs living in the false ceiling.
I see my friend spent 10k plus on a lot of unnecessary carpentry work like constructing wardrobes, full length window bay cabinet, children study table and wall works to conceal the TV cables.
As long as it is not concrete slab, there will be tiny holes for organism and insects to crawl in and grow. Even those cabinets below the toilet basin. See the exterior very nice, few years later infested with cockroaches and mould/algae.