SCB SingPost/Spree Card

more3cm

PHP:
eh the tnc is wef when... like that suka suka change with immediate effect???

most other card changed tnc is wef next statement

I got an email from CardUp
"We wanted to inform you about the updates Standard Chartered made to this card’s terms and conditions today.

Effective 9 October 2017, the cashback rate for all online spend has been revised to 2%, this includes transactions made on CardUp...."

dhwang_best

Same for me

PHP:

"We wanted to inform you about the updates Standard Chartered made to this card’s terms and conditions today.

Effective 9 October 2017, the cashback rate for all online spend has been revised to 2%, this includes transactions made on CardUp...."

Trazora

I may have remembered the crux wrongly. The code of consumer banking practice is as follows

Your bank promises to:
i. notify you of any changes in the Terms and Conditions governing the product or service through an appropriate channel (see Section 14);
ii. give you 30 days’ notice, in the absence of any contractual agreement to the contrary, before any variation to the Terms and Conditions relating to customers’ fees and charges and the liabilities or obligations take effect;
iii. provide a written summary of the key features of the revised Terms and Conditions, if the variation is
substantial or the changes are complicated;

Anyone here able to interpret what is meant by "liabilities or obligations" in pt ii. Has SCB violated the code of consumer banking practice?

cynic_

Anyone here able to interpret what is meant by "liabilities or obligations" in pt ii. Has SCB violated the code of consumer banking practice?

Based on my layman interpretation, it does sound like it.

luvalist

didn't even realise about the change until i happened to read this thread today

win liao lor -___-

vddgnd

Just chat with SC about the transition for existing customer.
Existing customer will receive a renewal letter in a welcome pack that informing client of the change in card name and benefits. The effective date will be stated in the letter. Each client will has own effective date (not a standard date for all). The effective date will start 15-Nov onwards. I guess the date probably related to the billing cycle date.

Oct statement still under old benefit and need to meet the $600 minimum spending.
Nov statement, my statement date is after 15-Nov, but was told I still need to meet the minimum $600. The new benefit of no minimum limit only start in Dec statement.

denial86

First stop would be to seek redress with SCB directly, of course. If that fails, and if you can be bothered, can then go to MAS.

Just say "Wanbao notice me!" and SCB will get free advertisement. :D

Trazora

Existing customer will receive a renewal letter in a welcome pack that informing client of the change in card name and benefits. The effective date will be stated in the letter. Each client will has own effective date (not a standard date for all). The effective date will start 15-Nov onwards. I guess the date probably related to the billing cycle date.

Oct statement still under old benefit and need to meet the $600 minimum spending.
Nov statement, my statement date is after 15-Nov, but was told I still need to meet the minimum $600. The new benefit of no minimum limit only start in Dec statement.

Lol. They should have highlighted this in their website instead of just changing the TnC and dun state any effective date.

longfart

So does it mean that for your Nov statement, with the minimum $600 spend, the transactions posted will still earn the 7% cashback for online transactions?

vddgnd

So does it mean that for your Nov statement, with the minimum $600 spend, the transactions posted will still earn the 7% cashback for online transactions?

I guess so. The cs initially stated the effective date is 15-Nov, transactions posted before that follow to old benefit. Later I was told to refer to the effective date in the welcome pack.
At least Oct no worry. Nov statement still enough time to find out.

Gixxerfied

Frank card 6% cashback for online purchase

I jump from Frank card after they change the qualifying criteria for cash back last time to scb..

Now scb cut pattern I also going to cancel riao.. Just concentrate on miles card..

pcmdan

PHP:

Cardup should just exclude SP card. Tell them who wants to pay 0.6% on admin charges haha

dhwang_best

Then we waiting for the welcome pack!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.