Serious help: cpu burning smoke

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

pedokuma

Yeah 1 month old. Still under warranty from some shop in sim lim . Kinda regret changing it tho cause shop assistant told me power not enough for asus 750 ti for my original 460 acer psu

750 TI need 750W? That is pretty overkill. haha. You fixed the psu yourself or the shop helped? Some case fans cannot tahan overvoltage one since your computer is from Acer, and will burn the board/psu with the fans.

pedokuma

Still under warranty can 1 to 1 hor?

bring to distro, they will do testing for you. If it is indeed spoilt, they should replace it.

IIRC, 7 years warranty for that psu. but try to see the front and back of the board , cpu , all parts to locate any burn first.

Rgyl11

750 TI need 750W? That is pretty overkill. haha. You fixed the psu yourself or the shop helped? Some case fans cannot tahan overvoltage one since your computer is from Acer, and will burn the board/psu with the fans.

Shop help. With fee of course. Why didn't he mention this to me damn it. He told me for future upgrades it's useful. That's all.

Rgyl11

bring to distro, they will do testing for you. If it is indeed spoilt, they should replace it.

IIRC, 7 years warranty for that psu. but try to see the front and back of the board , cpu , all parts to locate any burn first.

Think 3 years only. So I bring back to the sim lim shop right?

sacredrays

Shop help. With fee of course. Why didn't he mention this to me damn it. He told me for future upgrades it's useful. That's all.

did you told him you using 750ti? 750w very very overkill, shop recommend it or you ownself choose? :eek::eek::eek:

Koenig168

Wattage has nothing to do with voltage.

sacredrays

Most likely kenna psycho.....and i have reason to believe such an unethical shop could have install a known defective unit into TS pc. So im asking TS to name the shop.

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

same thinking lor. i would black list it too. but of course need confirmation by ts first. seems like he don't know what's going on when he buy it.

Rgyl11

did you told him you using 750ti? 750w very very overkill, shop recommend it or you ownself choose? :eek::eek::eek:

He fix my gpu for me too. He did recommend 660 cm but told me is old model the corsair is newer and make me tempted as he say next time diy can reuse

sacredrays

He fix my gpu for me too. He did recommend 660 cm but told me is old model the corsair is newer and make me tempted as he say next time diy can reuse

even if use corsair... got lower wattage one mah.. he specifically recommend the 750watt?

Steyr69

same thinking lor. i would black list it too. but of course need confirmation by ts first. seems like he don't know what's going on when he buy it.
It is ok....there is always a first time. At least he is smart enough now to approach HWC !!
20 years ago, I paid a pc expert 300+ to change my mobo cause he say my mobo spoilt....i dun even know how the inside of my white pc casing looks like....thinking back....he might not had changed the mobo!!!

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

Koenig168

it was 2 separate questions i think. cause you see he list his spec you also will :eek::eek: at the psu.

I saw. While the PSU is more powerful than he needs, it will only affect efficiency. My point is that a PSU with higher wattage does not mean that it will supply more volts. The fans are likely powered off the 12V rail, which will still be 12V whether you use a 300W PSU or 1000W PSU.

pedokuma

Apparently he only sell limited product as he is more on repairing computers

since he is into repairing pc, maybe bring to let them check lor. Most likely they will ignore you unless you pay a fees. Most shops after assembling the pc for you, after 1-2 weeks, is not their taichi liao.

else, corsair RMA center is

CONVERGENT SYSTEMS (S) PTE. LTD.
9 Ubi Crescent
Singapore 408572
Tel: +65 6337-0177
Opening Hours -
Weekdays: 9am-6:30pm (Service Department: 9:30am - 6:15pm).
Closed on Saturdays, Sundays & Public Holidays.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.