[Serious post] Seeking help/advice

YOlkie

Background:
1. OP joined company in year 2015. Headcount of company was about 40 to 50
2. Got to know that before I joined, headcount was around 70plus or more.
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.
6. We do not have any union.

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

MOM just pushed me away say they cannot advise.

Any advice?

GuiGuZi

Throughout my working life I never had the thought to get government in to prevent a struggling company not to terminate my employment with them. I don’t know where you get that sense of entitlement from.

if you find the company does not have any more prospect by all means find a new job please. The company will be happy to let you go too.

Kunkka

Cheaper better faster your labour Chief say one

addict951

Background:
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

Any advice?
Homygotch
Business no gd lah
The company gotta downsize so what do you want? 🤦🏻‍♂️
You’re just an employee you know
You just do your jod and take celery.
Wah run, I cannot believe your post sia
The only way that the government can interfere is when the government buys over the shares of the company
Likewise you want to change the direction of this company you can buy over the shares of this company and do whatever you want including restoring the headcount.
Wah run eh, I cannot believ the naïveté of ts sia 🫢

zohn1999

What law did your company break? If company not doing well, die die must sustain huge headcount mer?
Throughout my working life I never had the thought to get government in to prevent a struggling company not to terminate my employment with them. I don’t know where you get that sense of entitlement from.

if you find the company does not have any more prospect by all means find a new job please. The company will be happy to let you go too.
Exactly. I don't know what TS is thinking. Company not doing well clos ship and terminate ppl. What to do? Find new job lor. OP is Singaporean or foreigner?

begintoend

u seek advice in edmw to ask MOM to look into past years down sizing of company strength.

you got sales and projection figures?
you got P&L?
you got sit in any AGM?

wat advice u need? cheapest caipng in the area?

i really dunno wat u want :s13:

Nevereatrice

Background:

Any advice?
Company not making money how u want them to make them don't retrench lol. Go on the street?

Joseph12

Background:

Any advice?
No law broken so no advice
Regards
& have a great weekend

qhong61

Background:

Any advice?
Why they cannot retrench?
Must be iron rice bowl?

Laneige

Background:

Any advice?
Co shrink because not making money?
This is co decision
Mom pay salary? No right so how “big” do u think mom Shld b

of Coz go fly kite

there is nothing u can do
It’s not liked not getting paid etc
Then mom will come in

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.