[Serious post] Seeking help/advice

haveyourcake

?? they give you notice and cut you off cos too many people for operations. normal mah wdym? summore within the law.

company does not owe you a living.

huphoe

i cannot see why this is a serious post ,
1) ts continue to wait till being let go with whatever benefits if any
2)ts go and find a new job
3)Ts go seek the advice that he wanted to hear

Darth_Yang

Background:
1. OP joined company in year 2015. Headcount of company was about 40 to 50
2. Got to know that before I joined, headcount was around 70plus or more.
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.
6. We do not have any union.

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

MOM just pushed me away say they cannot advise.

Any advice?
Leave... East house don't hit, hit west house

Hot_Dog

Business no make money,cannot afford to pay salary, what can govt do?
Or business owner earn enough liao want to close business and retire cannot meh, what can govt do? Use blain think abit can anot?

amransan

Background:
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

Any advice?
i am uneducated person i have only incomplete night class N level english and malay.

my advice to u start looking for another company and throw letter once u secure a new job.

this is my two cent. mom and union in singapore dont wast your time on them.

dontwastetime

company may not be struggling, but outsourcing, u dunno, since they retained 3 pinoy

but still any reason to wack ts till this extend ?

And how do u know company happy to let him go? He's still there means he's valued

do u live a life of assumptions?

Throughout my working life I never had the thought to get government in to prevent a struggling company not to terminate my employment with them. I don’t know where you get that sense of entitlement from.

if you find the company does not have any more prospect by all means find a new job please. The company will be happy to let you go too.

sacrificium

company may not be struggling, but outsourcing, u dunno, since they retained 3 pinoy

And how do u know company happy to let him go? He's still there means he's valued

i guess outsourcing is legal as well? Unless TS’ got is not provided in g retrenchment benefits? If not, most won’t see any issue.

kidz

Exactly. I don't know what TS is thinking. Company not doing well clos ship and terminate ppl. What to do? Find new job lor. OP is Singaporean or foreigner?
Yeah

Reducing headcount might be due to company downsizing operation or increase use of technology.
Does not necessary mean terminating people without reasons.

Lchlch

Background:

Any advice?
It is really up to yoir company discretion how they handle the downsizing of the employees. Company can cited many reasons.

So the only way you can do is within you.
What you gonna do right now.
Whether further cuts in head count might included you or not

Then look for job asap instead of getting boiled.

Sultana

MOM bo chap even not protecting local working ppl.
Union here oso not strong like EU or even moi doubt they know how to organize a strike.
Tats why local talented or hardworking ppl juz leave & let the coy dies...
Mybfd

menthol28

Weird logic, TS expects company to pay high salary and keep TS and also keep every employees forever...
Seems like companies dun have the right to downsize or be out of business

mewmew

Background:

Any advice?

lock the door tight before closing, we will double padlock on our end

luei74

Background:

Any advice?
Your company got give 1 year of service = 1 month of salary LEEtrenchment benefits? If yes, u should have 9 mths of pay to tight it over

GuiGuZi

Well yes, I assume things often, and in this case the things TS did not mentioned what he deemed is unfair termination.

Did I whack him? I disagree. I mainly made 3 statements, one to share that I never had the same mentality as TS when I see the company downsizing. Even if the downsizing is due to outsourcing and the bosses earned more profits, I maintain that I will not think that it is justified to bring government into it. I may curse and swear behind the bosses back, maybe stay on if the remuneration for me is good enough.

I will also do what I "advised" TS (in my third statement), to find a new job if I find no more prospect in staying on. This is common sense to me. I don't feel that I am whacking him with it, I am just stating what I think most people will think of if they are treated unjustly in a company.

For the second statement on I don't know where TS get his sense of entitlement from, I admit I assumed he is one of the strawberry generation who assumed employers owed them a living. I may be wrong and I do apologize if TS can clarify the situation. If TS really have that mentality that employers owe him a living, I hope sharing my opinion of him will be a wake up call to him.

Why do I think company is happy to let him go? They are downsizing and if TS have to worry about being terminated, he should be in a dispensable position. Wouldn't the company be happy if a dispensable employee resign on his own, don't need them to "dirty" their hands? If the company know TS is trying to get the government to deal with them, I think they might even throw a party when he resign.

wongminmin

this may sound cruel, just move on. MOM/union can't do anything beside helping to nego for better termination package, then assist u in finding your next job.

Cant really blame the company, they got their own reason to downsize...... nothing is forever. tbh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.