[Serious post] Seeking help/advice

bakasora

Company not earning enough money, literally no money to pay workers, so must let them go. What's wrong with that?

Tony.Manero

Background:
1. OP joined company in year 2015. Headcount of company was about 40 to 50
2. Got to know that before I joined, headcount was around 70plus or more.
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.
6. We do not have any union.

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

MOM just pushed me away say they cannot advise.

Any advice?
If they're not doing well, downsizing is normal.

dilphinus

Can I seek advice how to get the government to be involved to look into the company's past record? From 70 plus headcount to the present 25. If this is not obvious enough I am not sure what else is.

Any advice?
You mean company cannot downsize?

Mecisteus

If co is not doing well of course they have to downsize lor.

Cannot be anyhow downsize what.

JivBunny

Background:
3. Fast forward to year 2024. Company did an internal re-org, terminate one of the contract staff. Headcount is now at 25.
4. Company also plan to post 3 of my Pinoy colleagues (perm staff) back to Philippines branch, (not sure whose which company headcount will these 3 fall under) but these 3 pinoys will be getting peso instead of SGD. obviously, salary will be lesser.
5. OP called up MOM, raising concern that more staffs might be anyhow terminated by the company, or retrenched, long story short, MOM cannot help. Reason given: As long as company follow the guidelines stated in the contract then OP's company is compliant with MOM's guideline.

Any advice?

no wonder the company is downsizing from 70+ to 25

with pple like your level of intelligence in the company, I think the company must be dem heng that they haven’t close down so far.

I think if your company fires you, their business sure improve

sacrificium

Background:

Any advice?
What is TS’ concern here? That he is helping company earn X amount but company is downsizing / outsourcing? At least the coy let the non-local to go back to their home country.

DragonFire

Doesn't sound like there is anything wrong here.
The headcount reduction is gradual and stretched over years.
If the writing is on the wall, maybe OP should take notice and prepare for contingencies.

mskate88

Background:

Any advice?
Just find another job lor? If you are still employed, it's relatively easier to get a job vs if already kicked out.

mryongtan

I don't mean to be disparaging, but govt favors companies. MOM is just a facilitator for companies. tripartite all controlled by 1 entity. you get the drift.

weiess

MOM can't do anything de.
If you are worried, start looking somewhere else liao.

Shion

Senior Mentor
your that company looks like cannot make it already

u die die need that job at that company ?

might as well find job and jump

lowsesbbfa

Background:

Any advice?
If MOM won't help, then no one can help.

70niner

The company can just fire all the headcount and close shop, and still not break any employment laws leh

TS so what u want?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.