Seriously, is BYD good?

champion09

My lao pok chia going to uplorry soon. Sigh.
i know I will get shot down, I test drove twice, Atto 3 and M6. Honestly, the driving is meh. For a light footed person, the brakes are so sensitive that every mm you step down felt like an e-brake. The acceleration is suitable for heavy foot ppl cause my usual light tap on accelerator doesnt really move the car.

champion09

all the china brand EV does not have good reputation in china
you say leh
i think this is over sterotyping la. BYD is still decent in CN, esp their Denza. What you want to avoid is those small funny brands local to a province type and of coz, avoid XiaoMi cars cause it is neck deep in lawsuits for falsifying technical specs.

Surprisingly, Geely is like their up and coming Volvo, very solid frame and safe.

Kiaokarhio

For Japanese currently Lexus has the RZ. But apparently reviews noted uncompetitive battery tech, performance and range. Which appears to be a general issue for most legacy brands. Toyota has the BZ which is already in China. It should be coming to Spore.
U mean Toyota BZ model will be a new ev coming to sg?

Ironside

i know I will get shot down, I test drove twice, Atto 3 and M6. Honestly, the driving is meh. For a light footed person, the brakes are so sensitive that every mm you step down felt like an e-brake. The acceleration is suitable for heavy foot ppl cause my usual light tap on accelerator doesnt really move the car.
what about dongfong Vigo?

Kiaokarhio

🔫 🔫 🔫 😄

Kiaokarhio

i think this is over sterotyping la. BYD is still decent in CN, esp their Denza. What you want to avoid is those small funny brands local to a province type and of coz, avoid XiaoMi cars cause it is neck deep in lawsuits for falsifying technical specs.

Surprisingly, Geely is like their up and coming Volvo, very solid frame and safe.
Ya geely produce omoda seems quite a good car look futuristics inside interior but exterior design quite normal

Kiaokarhio

Think they also uturn liao
Don't really understand the Japanese.
They already leader in hybrid car which is ice & battery version.
What so difficult to produce a full ev which should be chicken feet to them?
Maybe they lack the rare earth which is needed in car production & china has abundance and is controlling it world wide?
If Toyota can come out with few models of evs think many ppl would want buy as their brand is more reliable than byd or tesla

tan1688

BYD No.1 Selling Cars in Sinkapore 2025 :unsure:

e3bd43f4deb408ec68ce0b7b32d31b42cfe7a19338bc2efaca36038622a03178

mynickname

Maybe they lack the rare earth which is needed in car production & china has abundance and is controlling it world wide?
If Toyota can come out with few models of evs think many ppl would want buy as their brand is more reliable than byd or tesla
Hydrogen is more abundant ma.

tomsss

japan is not the kind that will rush their development. they prioritise quality over quanity. That's how they are.

Their pride in their work is worth more than just reaching sales numbers and meeting green regulation

Their ICE tech we see now are the results of decades of development and evolution. They diving into EV is gonna take about the same time

champion09

Ya geely produce omoda seems quite a good car look futuristics inside interior but exterior design quite normal
there was a video captured recently that a cargo trailer ram into a geely car. everyone thought finish liao but the geely car body frame held and the family inside survived with minor injuries. heard the chassis is damn solid 1

nachtsid.er

Bbfas here only know lamb and Porsches. Brands they can never afford in their lives

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.