Shanghai

is it recommend for a girl to roam in shanghai in the day? might be accompany my hubby there. He on biz trip, so can save on hotel stay. How...?

If you are first time visit to Shanghai, try the nan jin walk, the bund (night view), Cheng Huang Miao, Yuyuan. This are the place must go. Other than this, still have alot of interesting places in Shanghai (Suzhou, Hangzhou, Nanjing and etc...)

Enjoy your stay with cool weather there now.

IMAG0966+modified.jpg

It is the one at Qibao ?

That the nice tried in Shanghai even taste for nan xiang xiaolong not as good as this.

Qi Bao Lao Jie Nan Da Jie 七宝老街南大街3号

Jenzhuzhu

Dear HWZ forummers

I'm posting for some help with regards to my first trip to Shanghai

I will be traveling to Shanghai end of April for a business trip and i've opt to arrive in Shanghai on a Sunday morning via a overnight SQ flight

As i've heard of good things about Shanghai, am not too sure if any of the experts here can advise me if i should take the chance to explore Shanghai alone or should i participate in any half day city tour

If it's the latter, does any of you know of any contact in Shanghai that can provide me with either a group/pte half-day city tour?

Also, i'm thinking of taking the taxi from Shanghai Pudong airport to Shangri La hotel but am not too sure what is the reasonable cab fare for the whole duration? Is Shanghai taxi all going by meter or do i need to pre-negotiate before i hop on?

Lastly, does anyone knows if there are any reasonable cafe that is around Shangri La hotel vicinity that i can have my lunch/dinner there? Is it safe to travel in Shanghai solo, either day/night?

Thank you for your help/advice

Hisashiburi

U can explore shanghai on your own.
It is very compact and u can either walk or take the subway. Taxis in town are also cheap.
Just follow the recommendations in this thread.

Shanghai is a safe city.

Since it is your first time, just take a taxi from the airport to thw hotel.
It should cost around 150 rmb and they run by meter.
Do u speak chinese?
Be sure to bring hotel directions and phone.

Hisashiburi

Air quality in China is quite bad.
Even though there is no burning smell, the psi level is quite high so u can consider bringing a mask along.

Currently shanghai is 165 and sg is 65

Jenzhuzhu

Hi Hisashiburi

Thanks for your recommendation. I will be arranging for airport transfer to fetch me from the airport to the hotel since i think i should be able to get the amount reimbursed by company

As for the reason why i'm asking for the tour was because my spouse is joining me and this is both our first time visiting Shanghai. As i will be engaged in full day meeting while i'm in Shanghai, i just want to ensure that my spouse is able to explore the city on his own without having to spend too much on either food / transport

Lastly, thanks for sharing the information on Shanghai PSI level. It's a very informative piece of information and we will definitely be bringing mask along with us

Cheers

swatchie

Hi Hisashiburi

Thanks for your recommendation. I will be arranging for airport transfer to fetch me from the airport to the hotel since i think i should be able to get the amount reimbursed by company

As for the reason why i'm asking for the tour was because my spouse is joining me and this is both our first time visiting Shanghai. As i will be engaged in full day meeting while i'm in Shanghai, i just want to ensure that my spouse is able to explore the city on his own without having to spend too much on either food / transport

Lastly, thanks for sharing the information on Shanghai PSI level. It's a very informative piece of information and we will definitely be bringing mask along with us

Cheers

Shanghai is easy to navigate if you speak Chinese. No need to join any tours. Just take the subway and walk.

Arcanell

is there a $2 shop in shanghai? I remember going to a RMB 2 shop in guangzhou where all the items are $2 and its sooo cheap..

teacup888

hi there is quite a few of those 2 dollar shop even in neighborhood stores. depends on where you stay.

teacup888

It is the one at Qibao ?

That the nice tried in Shanghai even taste for nan xiang xiaolong not as good as this.

Qi Bao Lao Jie Nan Da Jie 七宝老街南大街3号

looks like the one one the street of yuyuan. I am a fan of the qibao mutton kebabs.
nanxiang xiaolong is more for tourist. If going to nanxiang, try the one on the left, same restaurant but freshly made. Jiajia tang bao is better but it is more to ren ming guang chang.

teacup888

Dear HWZ forummers

I'm posting for some help with regards to my first trip to Shanghai

I will be traveling to Shanghai end of April for a business trip and i've opt to arrive in Shanghai on a Sunday morning via a overnight SQ flight

As i've heard of good things about Shanghai, am not too sure if any of the experts here can advise me if i should take the chance to explore Shanghai alone or should i participate in any half day city tour

If it's the latter, does any of you know of any contact in Shanghai that can provide me with either a group/pte half-day city tour?

Also, i'm thinking of taking the taxi from Shanghai Pudong airport to Shangri La hotel but am not too sure what is the reasonable cab fare for the whole duration? Is Shanghai taxi all going by meter or do i need to pre-negotiate before i hop on?

Lastly, does anyone knows if there are any reasonable cafe that is around Shangri La hotel vicinity that i can have my lunch/dinner there? Is it safe to travel in Shanghai solo, either day/night?

Thank you for your help/advice

You can just tour the city yourself. Cab fare I am not so sure but I think it is 140 rmb about to pudong shang, it is by meter and try to avoid the red taxis. You can negotiatiate but I do not think your skill level is there and it is harder to do during peak hours.

shanghai is very safe, theres plenty of restaurants at shang or you can go to lujiazui the superbrand mall there to makan. Shanghai isnt so underdeveloped..... it is sometimes even better than SG. Half day city tour brings you to shops so that you can spend and they can earn commision. Take a cab, it is so easy.

Note your cash and try to give smaller notes and not 100. If in hundreds, note the serial coz sometimes they swap your real one with fake notes.

swatchie

looks like the one one the street of yuyuan. I am a fan of the qibao mutton kebabs.
nanxiang xiaolong is more for tourist. If going to nanxiang, try the one on the left, same restaurant but freshly made. Jiajia tang bao is better but it is more to ren ming guang chang.

Jiajia tang bao is at Huangpu Road. Very near ren ming guang chang. Opposite jia jia tang bao there is xiao yang sheng jian as well.

teacup888

it is on huang he lu.

Shen jian bao is opposite, its the stainless steel looking shop.

are we talking about the same place? this is in huangpu district, huang pu rd is another one?

avoid the one at nanjing xi lu inside the mall. used to be good until it shifted from wujiang lu... they are operated differently, so the frying skill differ from stall to stall.

kornilius

guys, do you know of any reliable money changers in shanghai? am working in another part of china and need to go on a biz trip. so will be changing from rmb to usd, thanks for the heads up!

teacup888

guys, do you know of any reliable money changers in shanghai? am working in another part of china and need to go on a biz trip. so will be changing from rmb to usd, thanks for the heads up!

If you are in city area, you can go to banks nearby to change, or you can go to the outside of more popular banks, these people are usually with bags, they can change for you usd with better rates than the bank. dun know wo, ask the bank guards, these are huang niu, nothing to do with banks but everyone gotta eat in china.

If you have a bank account in china, you can open a usd acct too but withdrawal have to go physically. If you will still be in china, why cant rmb be used?

wishaaaaa

hi, going to shanghai and hangzhou next week. first time in china. can anyone advise if SG credit card is accepted and is it safe to use? tks so much

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.