Shanghai

teacup888

hi, going to shanghai and hangzhou next week. first time in china. can anyone advise if SG credit card is accepted and is it safe to use? tks so much

Can lah, but do note that some banks need you to activate before overseas use. if you have a citibank atm you can withdraw from their citibank in rmb at their rates, this way you need not carry too much cash but you will need to know where their atms are. Bring cash, some right pocket and some left , here and there, for me, I do not carry a wallet.

I seriously hope you didnt plan a trip near the may 1st holiday. I would not enjoy it AT ALL! :s13:

lcpteck

And never ever put your valuables in your back pocket. Your wallet should be in your front pocket when you get off the plane. Just a habit of mine when I travel overseas. I think only in Japan I'm okay to put at my back pocket.

And never ever follow anybody anywhere in China if you do not know the person. If someone comes up to you and get friendly and chitchatty, please be cautious of your belongings and don't follow them. Whether it's a young girl, boy, guy, woman, uncle, grandpa.

Never go China when they are having holidays, unless you like to experience the crowd. After being in China cities so many times and squeezing in their public subways. I find our Singapore MRT rush hour crowd is nothing hahha...:s22:

The subway is very convenient in Shanghai. In Hangzhou you'll probably need to take the taxi around unless your hotel is near West Lake (Xihu).

When taking a taxi from a high speed rail station or airport, please use the official taxi stand and ignore the touts.

Foreign credit cards are usually accepted at major hotels and restaurants. Cash would still be the most convenient so always bring cash with you.

Where will you be staying in Shanghai and Hangzhou?

Oh yeah, and do enjoy your trip even after we've mentioned so many comments. China is a great place to see the historical stuff.

Hangzhou can see West Lake and Yue Fei's memorial (north side of West Lake).

I find that when I travel I walk alot and use public transportation the most (subway). Unfortunately I can't take the bus cause I can't read chinese characters. T_T

teacup888

Hangzhou I like the leifeng pagoda, the white snake story to me is especially romantic.

As lcpteck mentioned, at railway stations, some will help you with your belongings, and if you allow that, they will whisk you quickly in the opposite direction of the taxi stands straight to a black taxi. They are usually ok but incidents do happen after that.

swatchie

I have taken a black taxi at Shanghai Pudong before as the queue in the official line was damn long when I landed at 10+pm. The person thought I was a local and it was quite a nice ride. Cheaper too iirc!

wishaaaaa

Can lah, but do note that some banks need you to activate before overseas use. if you have a citibank atm you can withdraw from their citibank in rmb at their rates, this way you need not carry too much cash but you will need to know where their atms are. Bring cash, some right pocket and some left , here and there, for me, I do not carry a wallet.

I seriously hope you didnt plan a trip near the may 1st holiday. I would not enjoy it AT ALL! :s13:
alamak...I going from 2 - 7 May. Any advice:)

wishaaaaa

And never ever put your valuables in your back pocket. Your wallet should be in your front pocket when you get off the plane. Just a habit of mine when I travel overseas. I think only in Japan I'm okay to put at my back pocket.

And never ever follow anybody anywhere in China if you do not know the person. If someone comes up to you and get friendly and chitchatty, please be cautious of your belongings and don't follow them. Whether it's a young girl, boy, guy, woman, uncle, grandpa.

Never go China when they are having holidays, unless you like to experience the crowd. After being in China cities so many times and squeezing in their public subways. I find our Singapore MRT rush hour crowd is nothing hahha...:s22:

The subway is very convenient in Shanghai. In Hangzhou you'll probably need to take the taxi around unless your hotel is near West Lake (Xihu).

When taking a taxi from a high speed rail station or airport, please use the official taxi stand and ignore the touts.

Foreign credit cards are usually accepted at major hotels and restaurants. Cash would still be the most convenient so always bring cash with you.

Where will you be staying in Shanghai and Hangzhou?

Oh yeah, and do enjoy your trip even after we've mentioned so many comments. China is a great place to see the historical stuff.

Hangzhou can see West Lake and Yue Fei's memorial (north side of West Lake).

I find that when I travel I walk alot and use public transportation the most (subway). Unfortunately I can't take the bus cause I can't read chinese characters. T_T
Tks for advice. Will in SHanghai from 2 - 7 May. going to stay at grand central hotel around huangpu district. Will also spend about 3 days in Hungzhou. Any other things to look out for? Tks:)

teacup888

alamak...I going from 2 - 7 May. Any advice:)

Stay in your hotel unless you like crowds. those who go during these times usually come back bitching about how bad china is. 1 2 3 are national holiday fyi. You must think how are you going back from your hotel, cabs are scarce. Locals dun go out much during these days. Tourist spots are crowded unless you like bars and pubs. 4th is a working day but some would take leave. there would be lesser crowd on the 5 - 7

wishaaaaa

Stay in your hotel unless you like crowds. those who go during these times usually come back bitching about how bad china is. 1 2 3 are national holiday fyi. You must think how are you going back from your hotel, cabs are scarce. Locals dun go out much during these days. Tourist spots are crowded unless you like bars and pubs. 4th is a working day but some would take leave. there would be lesser crowd on the 5 - 7
:-( Will play by ear then. Maybe just walk nanjing road and see people park. Going Hungzhou on the 4 and go straight back from Hungzhou to Pudong airport on the 7. is there a fast train from Hungzhou to Pudong? Tks

lcpteck

:-( Will play by ear then. Maybe just walk nanjing road and see people park. Going Hungzhou on the 4 and go straight back from Hungzhou to Pudong airport on the 7. is there a fast train from Hungzhou to Pudong? Tks

The high speed rail from Hangzhou to Shanghai stops at Hongqiao and is around 50 mins - 1 hour. From there you can take the subway all the way to Pudong Airport, or stop at the Loyang station to take the magnetic lev train and take it to the Pudong airport.

There might be buses from Hangzhou to Pudong airport direct but you would need to google.

wishaaaaa

The high speed rail from Hangzhou to Shanghai stops at Hongqiao and is around 50 mins - 1 hour. From there you can take the subway all the way to Pudong Airport, or stop at the Loyang station to take the magnetic lev train and take it to the Pudong airport.

There might be buses from Hangzhou to Pudong airport direct but you would need to google.
Tks a lot for the advice :)

Hisashiburi

In Hangzhou, u can visit West Lake as well as one of the big Pagodas around the lake.
U can also take a boat ride.

In the same area, u can visit Longjing village where they grow the famous longjing green tea.
U can buy some but might be pricey.
Cheaper in town.

lcpteck

In Hangzhou, u can visit West Lake as well as one of the big Pagodas around the lake.
U can also take a boat ride.

In the same area, u can visit Longjing village where they grow the famous longjing green tea.
U can buy some but might be pricey.
Cheaper in town.

I heard true Longjing is hard to buy cause it's usually served to officials or something?

Hisashiburi

Heard there is a particular tea bush that only high officials have access to.

But normal longjing tea is available for all.
Best time is April and most expensive too for the initial harvest. Get the 2nd or 3rd pickings of the year. Several pickings per harvest.
There is another harvest in october but cheaper.

Longjing tea is nice and good ones are impossible to find in sg.

I heard true Longjing is hard to buy cause it's usually served to officials or something?

teacup888

the pesticide free ones the farmers they themselves keep and officials too.

If wanna buy, get those from the foot of the hills there is a large shop,Ido not have the address now.

get the ming qian tea. its about 1 rmb/gram and not the cheaper ones. remember to get this years tea. This is quickly snapped up. If you buy now, you may end up with yuqian.

walrusie

can anyone help..? my friend n i will be landing on hangzhou at 11+pm. we have checked all the shuttle buses and trains. by the time we reach, they are not available. even the shuttle bus operated by airasia is not in operation already. is there any other alternative to travel to shanghai at that timing? thanks!!

mbluesz

Will be extending my trip by 1 day.

How to get to Millennium Hong Qiao hotel to Pudong Airport by metro?
Is the fare fixed by the line OR similar like Singapore by number of stations?
Need to change train at which interchange station?

Is there any wholesale/ warehouse factory like Guangzhuo?

Tour will touch: Yuyuan Mart, Chenghuang Temple, Nanjing Road, Shanghai Huangpu River Cruise

When on my own, what are the must go/eat?

Thanks.

beanstalk6

https://www.google.com.sg/maps/dir/...43f5c10220d1!2m2!1d121.395226!2d31.197003!3e3

The alternative is to take the airport shuttle bus between Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport, and then get on the metro line 10 to your stop which is Shuicheng station as indicated on the link you pasted.

Whether the fare is by distance or number of stations- does it matter? The fare is indicated at the ticketing machine and on billboards. The route and interchange stations are clearly indicated on boards within the trains and the stations.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.