Should I semiretire in JB now?

mummy1234

Have properties to rent out to get S$4000 passive income. After deduction of taxesandmaintenance and JB condo rental and kids international school fees , maybe S$2000left which I can supplement by working maybe 2 mornings a week in Sg as a locum GP. Can get another maybe S$3000 and S$5000 should be enough for a family of 4 to get by in JB....get to work less and spend more time with kids...only thing is their education will be more convenient in JB....tempted to semiretire now...what do u guys think?

mummy1234

Hubby also chronically out of work and I am getting tired working... If ever I lose my job, Glad can still survive by selling my terrace and living in JB...

satayxp

why dont want to work? work for fun also shiok wat
dun work do nothing ur brain will deteriorate n get dementia faster... u doctor u shld know reh

mcylo

Get yr lazy husband to work lah.

Dont understand why u want to keep a leech at home. 有手有脚不工作

satayxp

oic husband not working... why leh? handicapped?
go work part time also gd wat.. do nothing buay sian meh? ~

mummy1234

Get yr lazy husband to work lah.

Dont understand why u want to keep a leech at home. 有手有脚不工作

He has been trying but unable to keep a job for Long. Even asked him to be a taxi driver but he does not want.

satayxp

He has been trying but unable to keep a job for Long. Even asked him to be a taxi driver but he does not want.

hmm thats a poor excuse for not working leh
not working buay sian meh?
why cannot keep a job for long?
even if cannot just keep looking for jobs lo.. part time also can

satayxp

btw rental income is not consistent one.. is good to have but to totally rely on it is too risky.

homer123

If you can control your expense, retiring overseas is actually very easy. However, I don't see you or your husband are ready for that. Better keep on working.

Seannie

I dont think its good idea leh... u never know what will happen in jb one day. Anyway just be extra careful and alert if going to retire there.

highsulphur

Obviously the root of your stress is you are the only breadwinner. Slap your husband to wake up his idea. Either be a full time house husband (which means taking care of everything in the household) or get his lazy ass up to find a job. What kind of example is he setting for the kids?

peterchan75

TS, You are a doctor. Is your hubby suffering from depression ? Depressed people can't hold on to job for long. Lower living expenses in JB maybe cancel out with children's international school fee.

homer123

Trying to retire with 3 mouths to feed is just bad idea. Especially with 2 young school-going kids, there are always a lot of unexpected expenses from kids

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.