SIM RMIT JULY 2012 INTAKE

sapphiree

How i wish all of us are in the same course with the same advance standing.

Anyway, it seems that SIM offers new RMIT course: Bachelor of Business (Logistics & Supply Chain Management), application closing date is 15 June 2012 for local applicants.

For Bachelor of Business (Marketing), application is still open for (Full Programme & Advanced 1 Entry), application closing date is 31 May 2012 for local applicants.

desiredken

When do we need to choose? I will probably consider HRM. What u have in mind? So have u decided between business or evons and finance alr? :)

I think I will go with Econs and Finance eventually. But I am quite worried about the large class size.
Teacher: Student Ratio: 1:368?!

For management, it is at a more acceptable size of 1:167.

desiredken

When do we need to choose? I will probably consider HRM. What u have in mind? So have u decided between business or evons and finance alr? :)

Hmm, I guess 1st year should be around the same for all business (as in management or econ&fin) students. I compared the modules of management and econs and finance, the common cores of 8 modules are exactly the same. If you choose finance minor, then it would be a total of 12 similar modules. So what I guess that management students will choose the minor from second year onwards. But then again, I may not be correct.

letenous

guys, anyone of you received advance 2 (12modules, 1.5 years) and contract puts course duration at 24months??? I called student services earlier, they told me policy change! wtfff now advance 2 is 24months!!!

sapphiree

guys, anyone of you received advance 2 (12modules, 1.5 years) and contract puts course duration at 24months??? I called student services earlier, they told me policy change! wtfff now advance 2 is 24months!!!

Got such thing? I think it's better if u make a trip down to SIM and ask? Rather than asking them through the phone.

6 months do make a huge difference eh!

letenous

Got such thing? I think it's better if u make a trip down to SIM and ask? Rather than asking them through the phone.

6 months do make a huge difference eh!

they told me because of my qualification (dip in banking & finance) I have to take one additional module of marketing principle. but I see the website, marketing principle is already included in advance 2 leh. since im accepted into advance 2, then why I still need take additional. weird right. Somemore one module take extra 6months to complete? funny lor. Gonna make a trip down tomorrow. sian.

eastwind

Hmm, I guess 1st year should be around the same for all business (as in management or econ&fin) students. I compared the modules of management and econs and finance, the common cores of 8 modules are exactly the same. If you choose finance minor, then it would be a total of 12 similar modules. So what I guess that management students will choose the minor from second year onwards. But then again, I may not be correct.

Yes. Management students will get choose and do their minor in second year. So those who enter by the advance 1 & 2 routes will get to do their minor in their very first semester.

eastwind

they told me because of my qualification (dip in banking & finance) I have to take one additional module of marketing principle. but I see the website, marketing principle is already included in advance 2 leh. since im accepted into advance 2, then why I still need take additional. weird right. Somemore one module take extra 6months to complete? funny lor. Gonna make a trip down tomorrow. sian.

R u applying management course (Full-time)? If yes, then advanced 2 route does not include marketing principles.

Check this website:
Bachelor's Degree - Bachelor of Business (Management) by RMIT University (Look at programme structure)

-----> there is no tick in the Marketing Principles Module box, so that means students are not required to take this module in advanced 2 route and assumed they have the required knowledge from their diploma course.
I assumed in your dip, u did not study marketing principles or something similar, that y u r required to take the marketing principles module.

I guess u need another 6 months because you cannot squeeze this extra module into the existing 3 semesters of the advance 2 route. RMIT policy is that each semester, a student can only take up till 4 modules. Basically, u r doing this extra module in a semester; only 1 module in 1 semester.

letenous

R u applying management course (Full-time)? If yes, then advanced 2 route does not include marketing principles.

Check this website:
Bachelor's Degree - Bachelor of Business (Management) by RMIT University (Look at programme structure)

-----> there is no tick in the Marketing Principles Module box, so that means students are not required to take this module in advanced 2 route and assumed they have the required knowledge from their diploma course.
I assumed in your dip, u did not study marketing principles or something similar, that y u r required to take the marketing principles module.

I guess u need another 6 months because you cannot squeeze this extra module into the existing 3 semesters of the advance 2 route. RMIT policy is that each semester, a student can only take up till 4 modules.

nope I'm not taking the management course.I'm taking marketing. which is why I dont understand. on their website, 1.5years = principles of marketing + 11 other modules. but now I was told I need to take up principles of marketing which will take additional 6months. altogether 12 modules can be completed within 3 semesters. lady told me its a mistake on their part for not updating the system. i mean, if the rest of the prospective students experience the same thing as me, that they have to take 2 years instead of the 1.5years, then Im fine with it. but if I'm the only one that graduates half a year later then there is a very big problem.

Xander13

Got my advance1 business management rmit offer letter yesterday for part time studies. Anyone taking the same course as me fall in. We can make friends so won't look so alien when school begins ;)

Aidennn

nope I'm not taking the management course.I'm taking marketing. which is why I dont understand. on their website, 1.5years = principles of marketing + 11 other modules. but now I was told I need to take up principles of marketing which will take additional 6months. altogether 12 modules can be completed within 3 semesters. lady told me its a mistake on their part for not updating the system. i mean, if the rest of the prospective students experience the same thing as me, that they have to take 2 years instead of the 1.5years, then Im fine with it. but if I'm the only one that graduates half a year later then there is a very big problem.

letenous, I'm also taking Advanced2 Bachelor in Marketing(FT). I have yet to receive my letter of offer though.
One point to note, I did went down to SIM HQ to register for the course, and the representative that did my registration assured me that it was a 1.5yr course, unless you did not meet certain requirements.

Maybe you would like to go down to SIM HQ to clarify your case? Once I receive my offer, shall update you on my status, to see if there's any difference from yours.

Hope this helps, cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.