SIM UOL August 2012 Intake

chiwawa23

I think quitting might be a waste since it implies you're already gone through halfway, why not take acca at the same time? at least at the end you'll have both certs, they are very different certs btw.

U in which course 1 ah??

chiwawa23

eCR will start on 18 jul and last till 25 jul. Now gotta start thinking about planning timetable.

ernestseow

eCR will start on 18 jul and last till 25 jul. Now gotta start thinking about planning timetable.

morning slot will be better; and it will be better if you can allocate 1 module for 1 day instead of cramping 2 in 1 day.. quite taxing and absorption ability will decrease as hours went by :)

ellejuly

Take both at same time very stressful leh, study both and then still have to pay both as well, will be exp man.

I agree, but ACCA if I'm not wrong is a series of papers and there's different levels. So the study schedule for ACCA is more flexible. What course are you taking now? If your course has accounting in it, then you might need to take less ACCA papers after completing your programme.

PrataKosong

didn't meet up w them...the talk was a waste of time though.

Gotta agree with you that! It was a huge waste of my morning. Anyway the administration kindly uploaded the presentation slides used in the enrollment talk up to the SIM student portal, so those who missed the talk might want to have a look at it.

chiwawa23

I agree, but ACCA if I'm not wrong is a series of papers and there's different levels. So the study schedule for ACCA is more flexible. What course are you taking now? If your course has accounting in it, then you might need to take less ACCA papers after completing your programme.

Me Business FT. Not A&F though. Yea, though ACCA got a series and different levels, its considered quite tough.

chiwawa23

morning slot will be better; and it will be better if you can allocate 1 module for 1 day instead of cramping 2 in 1 day.. quite taxing and absorption ability will decrease as hours went by :)

Meaning go to sch everyday?? 1 day take 1 module or unit only?? Ok, thanks for the advise, senior.

ellejuly

How come wanna quit UOL ah?? U got direct entry to yr 2 and that's gd ah. Anyway, though UOL is difficult, heard that ACCA is even more difficult to study and the failure rates are high.

sorry I asked the wrong person, if you have direct entry into year 2 BSC in Accounting , you can finish your degree and take only a few more papers from ACCA. but if you quit now, you have to take a heck lot more papers from ACCA. I would advise you not to quit unless you only want to be an accountant and nothing else forevermore. A degree gives you more options, I feel. you can even take ACCA while youre working after you graduate. no rush, I heard if your performance is good, some employers might sponsor your further studies.

EDIT: omg i fail at this forum thing, I meant to reply to Tentaikun

Tentaikun

Hey thanks for the advice. I m in accounting and i m aware of the exemptions i can get. Haiz i think mayb dun choose accounting change to econs instead. :(
sorry I asked the wrong person, if you have direct entry into year 2 BSC in Accounting , you can finish your degree and take only a few more papers from ACCA. but if you quit now, you have to take a heck lot more papers from ACCA. I would advise you not to quit unless you only want to be an accountant and nothing else forevermore. A degree gives you more options, I feel. you can even take ACCA while youre working after you graduate. no rush, I heard if your performance is good, some employers might sponsor your further studies.

iceducky

How come wanna quit UOL ah?? U got direct entry to yr 2 and that's gd ah. Anyway, though UOL is difficult, heard that ACCA is even more difficult to study and the failure rates are high.

Nothing is impossible. It will always be difficult if you deemed it to be..., think on the brighter side, why can't you be in the passing or even distinction group? High failure rate doesn't mean that you will fail!Have a positive mindset yeah =)

deathrages

I think Yr 1 Bsc Biz students would have their lectures allocated to them.
This is because the units to take is for biz students are all compulsory units for year 1.

So i guess there's pretty much not much planning to do. Ahaha.. well thats what its like for me, anyway i'm year 2 going year 3 Bsc Biz students SIM-UOL

chiwawa23

I think Yr 1 Bsc Biz students would have their lectures allocated to them.
This is because the units to take is for biz students are all compulsory units for year 1.

So i guess there's pretty much not much planning to do. Ahaha.. well thats what its like for me, anyway i'm year 2 going year 3 Bsc Biz students SIM-UOL

Don't think so. Cos that day the enrollment talk they say we can choose out our own timetable though the units are compulsory. And we are able to do that during the eCR. So u senior as well, thanks for the info ah.

ernestseow

Meaning go to sch everyday?? 1 day take 1 module or unit only?? Ok, thanks for the advise, senior.

1 day 1 module e.g.

mon morning - intro econs
tues morning- ibm
wed morning- poa
thurs morning- m1/s1

haha thats my year 1 timetable if i still rmb correctly! now no more compulsory thurs lesson so is all back to normal :)

chiwawa23

Nothing is impossible. It will always be difficult if you deemed it to be..., think on the brighter side, why can't you be in the passing or even distinction group? High failure rate doesn't mean that you will fail!Have a positive mindset yeah =)

True lar, not wrong lah. But the person not me ah, should be tentaikun ah.

chiwawa23

Yea. I know u reply to tentaikun ah. No worried man. Won't fail at forum de ah. Haha.

chiwawa23

I just received my acceptance into dip in econs UOL 2 days ago haha. been researching extensively into which course to take, and my business friend has given me lotsa useful advice

Dip not bad ah. If do well, then will have exemptions to the Deg course ah. Haha.

jills1992

hi guys! i just recently got an offer for the UOL econs&fin program. but i'm in a dilemma. should i continue with uol or wait until feb 2013 and go to university of melbourne? i'm 20 this year btw so i'd be 21 if i start uni in melb..

applebob101

hi guys! i just recently got an offer for the UOL econs&fin program. but i'm in a dilemma. should i continue with uol or wait until feb 2013 and go to university of melbourne? i'm 20 this year btw so i'd be 21 if i start uni in melb..
hi, i think it really depends on what you really like (between e&f and the course that you are gg to chose in uni of melbourne). it really does not matter what age you are because as long as u are doing something you love, you won't regret it. maybe you could talk to your parents and friends to get more opinions? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.