SIMBA Fibre Broadband

gregory_choo

you're in the wrong thread bro, this is Simba broadband there is no $10 plan. Not so much about the amount as well, more on the way they deduct/do business.
so even $30, put in 1-2 week earlier wont cost you much.

eddy0505

so even $30, put in 1-2 week earlier wont cost you much.
No worries, just trying to get some sense if others are also getting earlier than expected deduction attempts from simba. Same principle as I don't pay my cc bill 2 weeks in advance no matter how small the amount is.

MichealScott

wah wanted to jump to Simba liao but seem like network not stable one? not good leh. think i stick to my current one

thiamhui

I think I'm the only hero here... I call in to terminate my Singtel broadband 1 week before the NLT appointment.
  • 16 SEP - NLT Appointment
  • 17 SEP - Officially first day of SIMBA broadband service
  • 18 SEP - Last day of Singtel broadband service
Luckily everything went smoothly... A happy SIMBA broadband user here...

xiaofan

wah wanted to jump to Simba liao but seem like network not stable one? not good leh. think i stick to my current one

Same I see so unstable I stick on to M1 500mbps. 😁

Now you got two more choices for low cost 10Gbps service.

If you do not mind using unbridged ONR, then WC 10Gbps is not bad at S$29.99 per month for the no-router option. It is using Singtel network so stability should be okay.

If you do not want to use unbridged ONR, then VQ 10Gbps plan is not bad at S$38.75 per month (effective price) for the no-router option. VQ is using bridged XGS-PON ONR by default (effectively the same as ONT). Some users prefer to use ONR and VQ allows them to request to configure the ONR in router mode.

SongManKranji

Now you got two more choices for low cost 10Gbps service.

If you do not mind using unbridged ONR, then WC 10Gbps is not bad at S$29.99 per month for the no-router option. It is using Singtel network so stability should be okay.

If you do not want to use unbridged ONR, then VQ 10Gbps plan is not bad at S$38.75 per month (effective price) for the no-router option. VQ is using bridged XGS-PON ONR by default (effectively the same as ONT). Some users prefer to use ONR and VQ allows them to request to configure the ONR in router mode.
Tks xiaofan for the tips. WC is whizzcom tio bo. 😁
Pai sei me noob in world of fibre. Bridged & unbridged onr any great difference. 😁

xiaofan

Tks xiaofan for the tips. WC is whizzcom tio bo. 😁
Pai sei me noob in world of fibre. Bridged & unbridged onr any great difference. 😁

WC is Whizcomms.

Brided ONR or ONT --> you have all the freedoms to use your own router to its best ability

ONR (unbridged ONR) --> ISPs got the power to control your home network. Simple features. It may be cheaper for the ISP as well. For the user, the main benefit is probably to be able to save one router in the DB box.

An example is that Starhub is using Nokia XS-2426X-A ONR to provide lower cost 5Gbps plan since it also has wireless function.

Take note the link says only for new customers. Quite a few users (eg: from M1) have reported the success to sign up for this plan. For Starhub users, not so sure if any one (targeted user) has got this offer.
https://www.starhub.com/personal/st...speed-5gbps-onr-at-2955_ultraspeed-5gbps.html

xDaoM71.png

xiaofan

More info about ONT (or bridged ONR) versus ONR.

Majority of the average users will usually be fine with ONR. The problem is that sometimes you do not know it is causing problems for you or not (eg: port forwarding). Power users will avoid ONR in general.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...cs-of-home-networking.6653421/#post-138363236

I am stuck with Singtel ZTE F8648P ONR myself now since Singtel made some changes to make the manual bridging method no longer working. I have to use different work-arounds to get around some of the limitations but not all. Anyway, I am getting used to the ONR myself with the work-arounds even though I lost some useful feautes previously using Singtel ONT.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...nr-replacement-with-onu-or-pon-stick.6938685/

slash

The WC 10Gbps is 12mth contract if no-frills. If need wifi router more expensive per mth plus contract 24mths.
And they don't allow existing 2.5Gbps users under contract to upgrate... dumb***
What have they got to lose.

SongManKranji

More info about ONT (or bridged ONR) versus ONR.

Majority of the average users will usually be fine with ONR. The problem is that sometimes you do not know it is causing problems for you or not (eg: port forwarding). Power users will avoid ONR in general.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...cs-of-home-networking.6653421/#post-138363236

I am stuck with Singtel ZTE F8648P ONR myself now since Singtel made some changes to make the manual bridging method no longer working. I have to use different work-arounds to get around some of the limitations but not all. Anyway, I am getting used to the ONR myself with the work-arounds even though I lost some useful feautes previously using Singtel ONT.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...nr-replacement-with-onu-or-pon-stick.6938685/
Tks again. Gd info.

HiHelloBye

My NLT appointment was this morning but no one turned up. I finally received an email from SIMBA at 4pm telling me that my “NLT appointment for Home Broadband 10Gbps is complete and your service start date is tomorrow”

This NLT operations really CMI, if they can activate my fibre port without any need to come into my house, they should at least have the courtesy of sending me an email or message or call to inform me so that I don’t have to take leave and waste time waiting at home for them in vain
that's normal...

they can either do it remotely, or require to be in your house

their SOP varies and there's no clear-cut indication, so you just playing by your luck

xiaofan

The WC 10Gbps is 12mth contract if no-frills. If need wifi router more expensive per mth plus contract 24mths.
And they don't allow existing 2.5Gbps users under contract to upgrate... dumb***
What have they got to lose.

Survey of the 10Gbps plan options here for reference to those who want to look at the 10Gbps plans. You need to carry out your own calculations to see which options to go.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/singapore-isp-comparisons.6665380/page-49#post-153877257

xiaofan

Personally I will recommend VQ 10Gbps and Starhub 5Gbps plan over SIMBA/WC 10Gbps plans. But that is just my personal opinion.

Here is my updated recommendation for new sign-up (just updated today). I still recommend M1 1Gbps and 2.5Gbps plans, followed by VQ 10Gbps.

Good point from @Mach3.2 here. Unfortunately most user may not understand this. Most important is price per month to them, followed by the number (10Gbps is better than 2.5Gbps to them).
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ussion-part-2.5658375/page-597#post-153037580

There's more nuance to how a connection is considered good. connection speed is largely meaningless for most people, and is just a convenient number ISPs like to use to differentiate their services in the market.

the real metric that really matters is how well peered they are, and how much upstream capacity they have relative to their user base, and the quality of their upstream transit providers.

And guess what? this aspect isn't transparent, so good luck to you unless you put in effort to figure it out.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/singapore-isp-comparisons.6665380/
Updates for Year 2024. The following are just my personal opinion. YMMV.
Last update on 28-Sept-2024

1) For existing users of any ISPs: no switching of ISP unless if you got issues or you got very good offers from the other ISPs.

This is especially true for M1 500Mbps and Starhub 500Mbps plan users since you still pay S$30.45 per month out of contract.

2) Recommendation for new sign-up:
a) M1 1Gbps plan

b) M1 2.5Gbps plan if you want to have higher speed without invest in 10G stuff.

c) VQ 10Gbps plan is well worth considering, especially for Power Users. It is using CGNAT, so you may need to pay for Static IPv4 add-on at S$4.03 per month, if you hit into the limit of CGNAT.

d) MR 3Gbps plan is worth considering as well. It is using CGNAT, so you may need to pay for Static IPv4 add-on at S$51 one time charge, if you hit into the limit of CGNAT. MR 3Gbps Gamer Plan may be a good one if you need low latency to China. Nothing wrong to go with MR 10Gbps plan either.

e) SH 5Gbps plan is worth considering. It is better if you opt to go with the ONT option plus TP-Link EB810v. But it is okay to go for the cheap ONR option if you do not mind the limitation of Nokia all-in-one ONR.

f) SH 10Gbps plan is the way to go if you need EPL or other contents bundling. Recommendation is to go with the ONT option plus TP-Link EB810v, unless you do not mind the limitations of the Nokia all-in-one ONR.

g) WC 2.5Gbps plan if you do not mind using ONR and only want to have a lowest cost yet stable plan. WC 10Gbps no-frill plan is also worth considering.

The above is just my own recommendations. You can always go with the plan you like. You know your specific use cases the best.

xiaofan

Take note SIMBA (ONT) does not provide the wireless router with the 10Gbps plan, so you may need to factor the cost.

Same for the WC no-frills 10Gbps plan. WC 10Gbps plan with WiFi 7 router is not worth considering due to the high cost.

You can of course reuse your existing 1Gbps or 2.5Gbps capable gears. But in that case, you may find Starhub 5Gbps offer attractive. Starhub is using Nokia XS-2426X-A ONR to provide lower cost 5Gbps plan since it also has wireless function (AX6000).

Take note the link says only for new customers. Quite a few users (eg: from M1) have reported the success to sign up for this plan. For Starhub users, not so sure if any one (targeted user) has got this offer.
https://www.starhub.com/personal/st...speed-5gbps-onr-at-2955_ultraspeed-5gbps.html

xDaoM71.png

slash

Take note SIMBA (ONT) does not provide the wireless router with the 10Gbps plan, so you may need to factor the cost.

Same for the WC no-frills 10Gbps plan. WC 10Gbps plan with WiFi 7 router is not worth considering due to the high cost.

You can of course reuse your existing 1Gbps or 2.5Gbps capable gears. But in that case, you may find Starhub 5Gbps offer attractive. Starhub is using Nokia XS-2426X-A ONR to provide lower cost 5Gbps plan since it also has wireless function (AX6000).

xDaoM71.png
Not sure the ONR how many ports and how many Gbps per port?

zodius

Thinking of upgrading M1 500mbps to WC 10gbps but the $50+ installation fee is a deal breaker. Do WC has promos now and then like during IT shows that waives both NTL and their one time fees?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.