SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

acsus lawrence

TPG best i have ever experienced in my house even in the toilet. Starhub beats singtel and m1. tpg easily surpasses starhub. so glad i decided to gv tpg a try. farewell m1 and m1 fibre broadband.

JustDoLor

Check your email. Maybe also your spam folder.
Want to ask. For my tpg port in from singtel. I have already put my credit card on the website and account showing pending activation. When will my sim card be ready to collect? I have already paid the sgd 5 dollar and deducted from account

JustDoLor

Yes, your latest Singtel’s bill showing the mobile number u want to port in. TPG also want to confirm your mailing address.

The current deduction is to pre-paid your first billing cycle with TPG. So say, if u collect today, activate/port-in your SIM card successfully tomorrow, then your first payment is used to pay for period 26-Jan to 25-Feb.
OK I got my email. Got another question. Monthly proof of billing. Am I supposed to send the previous monthly billing for my previous telco? Also for the current deduction from my bank, it is for the month of Feb right if I register for port over today?

limpingsim98

You can't say that just because of your area's weak performance.

It's more like it's less suitable for you.

It seems very unfair to say everything is bad just because one thing/place is bad lol
What is their coverage now (as per advertised Vs actual)?

limpingsim98

you can try below still around $10

8434470-A-4068-41-A0-AD37-1-CF6824-C574-C.jpg
Thanks seem like a good plan.

JustDoLor

Someone reported in this thread in Mar-2021, he took 4 days to port-in from MR to TPG, he said TPG claimed it was a technical/system issue.

Post 1518
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-tpg-mobile.6243080/post-132950452Of course, also a few here said their port in only needed 1 day, collect SIM today, port successful the next morning, but didn’t mention what their telco/MVNOs, I assume not MR lor.

Recently also got one here also experienced porting delay from MR.

The advice given here was during registration instead of stating your existing mobile operator as MR, should state as M1.
Well, I didn’t follow the advice, this week I selected MR for the following reasons:
  1. If select M1, does MR system aware I already port-out? Will MR continue to charge my CC even after port-out?
  2. Did anyone here really selected M1 (iso MR) and ported in without any issue or consequences?
  3. Cannot be lah, so many months already, TPG still have technical/systems issue? Don’t tell me u mean I am one of the first few from MR porting in? So TPG got not enough MR users’ info to improve and rectify?

My experience, collect SIM on 24-Jan-2021 this Mon afternoon, the XMM said will take about 3-day for port-in. I received immediately email indicating:

—————
Port-In Request Submission Date: 24/01/2022
Expected Port-In Date: 25/01/2022
Expected Port-In Timeslot: Within 1 working day (excluding Sat, Sun & Public Holidays
—————-

Ok, waited 2 days port in successfully on 26/01, this morning.

JustDoLor

Just checked my email, actually TPG sent me a 2nd email on Tues 25/01 @6.30pm with the exactly same content “porting progress notification” message, but indicated new dates:

————-
Port-In Request Submission Date: 25/01/2022
Expected Port-In Date: 26/01/2022
Expected Port-In Timeslot: Within 1 working day (excluding Sat, Sun & Public Holidays)
————-

Maybe the first porting attempt failed, and TPG need a 2nd attempt 😅
Someone reported in this thread in Mar-2021, he took 4 days to port-in from MR to TPG, he said TPG claimed it was a technical/system issue.

Post 1518
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-tpg-mobile.6243080/post-132950452Of course, also a few here said their port in only needed 1 day, collect SIM today, port successful the next morning, but didn’t mention what their telco/MVNOs, I assume not MR lor.

Recently also got one here also experienced porting delay from MR.

The advice given here was during registration instead of stating your existing mobile operator as MR, should state as M1.
Well, I didn’t follow the advice, this week I selected MR for the following reasons:
  1. If select M1, does MR system aware I already port-out? Will MR continue to charge my CC even after port-out?
  2. Did anyone here really selected M1 (iso MR) and ported in without any issue or consequences?
  3. Cannot be lah, so many months already, TPG still have technical/systems issue? Don’t tell me u mean I am one of the first few from MR porting in? So TPG got not enough MR users’ info to improve and rectify?

My experience, collect SIM on 24-Jan-2021 this Mon afternoon, the XMM said will take about 3-day for port-in. I received immediately email indicating:

—————
Port-In Request Submission Date: 24/01/2022
Expected Port-In Date: 25/01/2022
Expected Port-In Timeslot: Within 1 working day (excluding Sat, Sun & Public Holidays
—————-

Ok, waited 2 days port in successfully on 26/01, this morning.

JustDoLor

Aiyo, he jump ship because I think he don’t know

1.) though there is no option to topup if exceed usage (other MNO can topup?) he need to top up his balance account for excess usage lor.

2.) can pay by GIRO/CC lah, though option not available on app but can change/add your payment method in browser lor.

3.) his phone not support VoLTE, need to use app lor. If signup online, you will see the list of supported devices lor.

4.) got free delivery if signup with app leh……. TPG Facebook

Anyhow I think many uncles n aunties maybe walk pass those neighbourhood shop, saw and attracted to the big big TPG advertising banner, then just sign up on the spot, never check website/FAQ lor….

Also many such seniors after signup the $5 one, when meetup with their kaki, will spread the words, cheap and 好料…..

One thing he mention is correct, the upload speed is comparatively slow, as already reported here:

Download speed of 21.5Mbps, and upload speed of 4.6Mbps was reported. That was in 2021, this year might be worst…..
https://www.opensignal.com/reports/2021/06/singapore/mobile-network-experience

(Yes, actually I was considering GIGA vs TPG, but took up TPG because of unlimited mobile to mobile call)

So did you jump ship to giga like him... Then later he kpkb and leave, u also copy? 🤔

JustDoLor

BTW, when collecting my SIM at Orchard Central, one uncle at the other counter complaint he cannot receive call, I overheard the counter staff said it was a xiaomi phone and need to enter the code to disable the carrier check…., I think he might not be the only one encounter such issue….

twosix

BTW, when collecting my SIM at Orchard Central, one uncle at the other counter complaint he cannot receive call, I overheard the counter staff said it was a xiaomi phone and need to enter the code to disable the carrier check…., I think he might not be the only one encounter such issue….
nobody will know... unless being told. i also know abt it after reading up in hwz. haha.

JustDoLor

When collecting the SIM I was asked by counter staff to take a photo of the below instruction, staff never explain to me or go through it with me, just ask me take photo ☹

(the xiaomi instruction is printed on it)

Tried out the SMS 1218. The next time I want to check account balance just SMS send “2”, rather thn through the app which is tedious need to enter mobile number and key in the super long 8 digit OTP!

Furthermore sending SMS to 1218 is free, it is excluded from the 30 SMS limits!

BJMYhyZ.jpg

twosix

When collecting the SIM I was asked by counter staff to take a photo of the below instruction, staff never explain to me or go through it with me, just ask me take photo ☹

(the xiaomi instruction is printed on it)

Tried out the SMS 1218. The next time I want to check account balance just SMS send “2”, rather thn through the app which is tedious need to enter mobile number and key in the super long 8 digit OTP!

Furthermore sending SMS to 1218 is free, it is excluded from the 30 SMS limits!

BJMYhyZ.jpg
good info. thanks!

JustDoLor

Last time during trial, there got display a big poster in the office showing the supported devices. But now no such poster, never show me the list when I was collecting my SIM, they should improve on this step.

Hmmm… but then potential customers might change their mind after knowing abt it lor..

nobody will know... unless being told. i also know abt it after reading up in hwz. haha.

JustDoLor

Noticed the loading of website quite slow while in MBR. So did a speed test.

jVvZQjZ.jpg

f1ag4Ga.jpg

In the living room
YlB3SyY.jpg

Went just outside the flat where I can see the clear sky
ZDDwp5c.jpg

There is a reason why when DL speed is low, the UL speed is much higher and vice versa. Abit technical I may explain if got time. But maybe some of you already know lah!

JustDoLor

Quoted:
Mr Ian Fogg, vice-president of analysis at Opensignal, said in a statement: “While this may not seem like much, when you consider that most people spend large parts of their time at home or at work where they likely have a good signal, these small differences will be considerably more significant when users are moving around Singapore, through its streets, shopping malls and especially on Singapore’s metro where users are accustomed to good mobile service.”

Good to give some data, anyhow if network slow, I will have (and others) will easily notice it like I did this morning…
how low? better to describe using numbers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.