SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

King_Ming

You didn't provide specific dates (pertaining to your current SIMBA plan cycle) -- so I can only gve a general reply below.

(1) All SIMBA plans are 30days cycle.

1 year has 365days.

This means after 1 year, all the renewal dates in the coming year -- will all be shifted earlier by 5 calendar days -- compared to all the renewal dates in the previous year.
(after 2 years, all renewal dates will be shifted earlier by 10days compared to 2 years ago, etc, etc.)

(2) SIMBA charges 4 days before the start of the next 30days cycle.

If your current month SIMBA plan 30days cycle ends on 26th Aug -- your next 30days cycle will start on 27th Aug.

So SIMBA will charge your SIMBA plan -- that starts on 27th Aug -- 4 days earlier on 23rd Aug (which is today).

This month (Aug) has 31days.

Using above example...

So next month (Sep), your SIMBA plan 30days cycle will end on 25th Sep (not 26th Sep) -- and SIMBA will charge for the next 30days cycle on 22nd Sep (not 23rd Sep).

Yes, if you do not like (1) & (2) above -- you should port out to other telcos.
28 July my plan was activated.
So 27 Aug it is due for renewal.
4 days prior is 23 Aug (today), yet they charged my card on 22 Aug, a day early. So they're wrong there.
They also refused my number port-out, claiming that I must attend personally at their office in Orchard in order to pay them $30. What utter tripe.
As I said, utter shite-show of a company that I cannot wait to leave.

boonkang

28 July my plan was activated.
So 27 Aug it is due for renewal.
4 days prior is 23 Aug (today), yet they charged my card on 22 Aug, a day early. So they're wrong there.
They also refused my number port-out, claiming that I must attend personally at their office in Orchard in order to pay them $30. What utter tripe.
As I said, utter shite-show of a company that I cannot wait to leave.
From the SIMBA FAQ page:

"You will be charged 4 days before the end of the 1st billing cycle"

So it's correct, 28th Jul your plan is activated -- so end of your 1st billing cycle is 26th Aug (i.e. 30th day).

4 days before the end of 1st billing cycle (26th Aug) -- is 22nd Aug -- so SIMBA charged your card on 22nd Aug is correct.

(My understanding of SIMBA charging 4 days before start of next 30days cycle in my previous post may be incorrect then -- since SIMBA charges 4 days before end of current billing cycle).

From another SIMBA FAQ page:

"An activation fee of $30 is chargeable for port-out within 30 days of plan activation."

So if you want to port out today (23rd Aug) -- so yes, you need to pay $30 first.

Since your 1st billing cycle ends on 26th Aug (30th day). you can wait a few days & port out after 26th Aug.

Of course, if you cannot wait -- just go pay $30 now -- and your port out wil not be blocked.

King_Ming

From the SIMBA FAQ page:

"You will be charged 4 days before the end of the 1st billing cycle"

So it's correct, 28th Jul your plan is activated -- so end of your 1st billing cycle is 26th Aug (i.e. 30th day).

4 days before the end of 1st billing cycle (26th Aug) -- is 22nd Aug -- so SIMBA charged your card on 22nd Aug is correct.

(My understanding of SIMBA charging 4 days before start of next 30days cycle in my previous post may be incorrect then -- since SIMBA charges 4 days before end of current billing cycle).

From another SIMBA FAQ page:

"An activation fee of $30 is chargeable for port-out within 30 days of plan activation."

So if you want to port out today (23rd Aug) -- so yes, you need to pay $30 first.

Since your 1st billing cycle ends on 26th Aug (30th day). you can wait a few days & port out after 26th Aug.

Of course, if you cannot wait -- just go pay $30 now -- and your port out wil not be blocked.
Appreciate the info, but I wonder how any of this is compatible with relevant Singapore consumer law?

SibehHL

It's like each time we screw up on something, we go back to wonder on why we were not warned / advised / informed / advance notify / is it legal etc before we screw up. Not many actually look back and examine why we screw up, like, not being able to count up to 30, habit of shooting from the hip, urged on by other keyboard warriors etc etc.

King_Ming

It's like each time we screw up on something, we go back to wondering on why we were not warned / advised / informed / advance notify / is it legal etc before we screw up. Not many actually look back and examine why we screw up, like, not being able to count up to 30, habit of shooting from the hip, urged on by other keyboard warriors etc etc.
Not really. It's more about questioning whether it's lawful for a company to behave in such a way. That's all.

Arandalo

Not really. It's more about questioning whether it's lawful for a company to behave in such a way. That's all.

Telcos will usually state what is the minimum bill cycles in their FAQ/contract/service agreement/critical information summary so you have to always read carefully.

In this case because they charge for renewal 4 days before the end of each 30 day cycle and also impose a $30 charge if port out or terminate within 30 days, the effective minimum bill cycles is 2.

@crystalnox have also mentioned it before
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-simba-telecom.6243080/post-147578048

jywy2005

If I wish to terminate my plan, just dun renew it and let it lapse. My subscription is almost 5 months. Should be ok?

hk7310

If I wish to terminate my plan, just dun renew it and let it lapse. My subscription is almost 5 months. Should be ok?

in an appropriate way, you have to fill up a termination form and submit to SIMBA to notify them, 7 days in advance.

zekai

Telcos will usually state what is the minimum bill cycles in their FAQ/contract/service agreement/critical information summary so you have to always read carefully.

In this case because they charge for renewal 4 days before the end of each 30 day cycle and also impose a $30 charge if port out or terminate within 30 days, the effective minimum bill cycles is 2.

@crystalnox have also mentioned it before
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-simba-telecom.6243080/post-147578048
write in to IMDA and complain

CPTMiller

If yours is not link to a payment card. Yes. Then by refusing to make payment. Your subscription will be terminated. This is what the Simba counter staff told me. I never link any payment card but make cash payment at simba counter due date. The simba outlet is near to my location.

Actually I am more interested in Simba Tpg home boardband but it seems forever waiting. :D

King_Ming

If yours is not link to a payment card. Yes. Then by refusing to make payment. Your subscription will be terminated. This is what the Simba counter staff told me. I never link any payment card but make cash payment at simba counter due date. The simba outlet is near to my location.

Actually I am more interested in Simba Tpg home boardband but it seems forever waiting. :D
I was considering Simba home broadband as well, but I’m petrified of giving my entire home communications backhaul to this shower of amateurs.

kelvinti

Read and understand the T&C before purchase.

Don't purchased already then kpkb why I wasn't eligible to stand as a President candidate. .. :rolleyes: 😬 🤭

Just IMHO as Kelvin Porter .. 😬

Zomgnoob

Tried all means to raise the issue to SIMBA via FB, email, walk-in to Kaki Bukit CSC. Reach out to them so many times still zero response after so long. Time to escalate via IMDA ADR liao.

D2TK0eD.png
After 3 weeks of back and forth, finally received call from SIMBA that they have removed my golden number restrictions and I can port out without paying $500! Happy liao!
m9tzGK1.png

Review on IMDA ADR:
The IMDA ADR process was a very good experience, the case got closed even before reaching mediation stage. Kudos to the SMC team for persistently following up with SIMBA on the case despite having difficulty finding someone in SIMBA to provide response for this case. (y)(y)(y)

If you are a reasonable person with a dispute case that you can back up with evidence, I highly recommend using IMDA ADR channel to reach our to your telcos.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.