SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

beng035

Anyone experienced, after new month renewal, the roll over gone? I am left with the standard allocated data for local and overseas

jeff79

If the FUP of 2-3 GB per day is true and permanent, Simba as a travel sim may not be worthwhile anymore compared to travel esims.
2-3GB per day is a lot of usage. Most people needs to watch many hours of livestream or videos then can use so much data. Waste money go oversea holiday to watch many hours of video?

twosix

2-3GB per day is a lot of usage. Most people needs to watch many hours of livestream or videos then can use so much data. Waste money go oversea holiday to watch many hours of video?
Even if use for GPS to drive whole day also dun use 1gb. But there r people who will chill the whole day in cafes and watch Netflix. Haha.

dexboi

Why SIMBA wanna follow those malaysia telco footsteps?

Most malaysia SIM plans are unlimited, but hide FUP small print in TnCs.
Even have peak hour / off-peak speed limit. zzz
When i was trying to buy, those unker/auntie keep telling me very good, unlimited... :rolleyes:

twosix

Why SIMBA wanna follow those malaysia telco footsteps?

Most malaysia SIM plans are unlimited, but hide FUP small print in TnCs.
Even have peak hour / off-peak speed limit. zzz
When i was trying to buy, those unker/auntie keep telling me very good, unlimited... :rolleyes:
So far only 2 users claim have cap. I can’t find the fup t&c on their website. Haha.

hereiam7788

Even if use for GPS to drive whole day also dun use 1gb. But there r people who will chill the whole day in cafes and watch Netflix. Haha.

the thinking is silly, one's behaviour does not equal to everyone's. one can work overseas and requires data to download stuff or doing video conferencing etc. Watching a 1080p (Full HD) YouTube video uses approximately 2 to 4 GB of mobile data per hour.

how one wants to use the roaming data given is on his choice. what matters is what is not given as compared to other MVNOs.

IF one telco has 500gb of data that can be used in bolehland, hongkieland, indo mee land etc.. but IF they have FUP, it is as good as advertising as 'unlimited' but in real it is never 'unlimited'.

other MNVO offers 588gb of local data and this data is truly usable in bolehland and other countries as advertised without FUP or speed limit.

A7997A

Any idea how the 2 months free for port in is handled ? Credit in main balance or something else ?

neptunesea

Saw Facebook got ppl saying that after they used the roaming data for 2.5GB, their speed will be throttled to like 0.5Mbps kind of speed and before 2.5GB used up the speed is ok.

got such thing?

Yes, started from 1 May as i was staying at my fren jb place till now still the same, i observed as long as u exceed ard 2gb or so, they will cap ur speed to 500kpbs which is useless for most applications, any telco/mvno to recommend porting over for my roaming usage cos simba sucks now?

the thinking is silly, one's behaviour does not equal to everyone's. one can work overseas and requires data to download stuff or doing video conferencing etc. Watching a 1080p (Full HD) YouTube video uses approximately 2 to 4 GB of mobile data per hour.

how one wants to use the roaming data given is on his choice. what matters is what is not given as compared to other MVNOs.

IF one telco has 500gb of data that can be used in bolehland, hongkieland, indo mee land etc.. but IF they have FUP, it is as good as advertising as 'unlimited' but in real it is never 'unlimited'.

other MNVO offers 588gb of local data and this data is truly usable in bolehland and other countries as advertised without FUP or speed limit.
Can confirm, right after hitting 2gb my connection got throttled down to about 5mbps. Didn't get any notification about this new FUP.

Roaming in Thailand on True H, tried switching to dtac but same throttling.

Within 2GB

11608954126.png

After 2GB
11609017126.png

Typically port in take how long to process? Meanwhile how to log in to check?
My mum do her port in to simba at the hp shop ytd.
When they reg they didnt ask for her contact number or email. Today her prev telco sim still work, simba sim dont work.

How will simba inform her if port in rejected if simba doesn't give a temp number?

Varies. I submitted Thursday afternoon, same night started porting already.
Weekends, Mondays & Public Holiday tend to be slower.
I see. Cause we submit same time. 1 port in to simba. Another port in to eight.

Eight next day morning done liao. V fast. Got temp number so you can receive sms updates on the port in status also.

JAYSCS

Can confirm, right after hitting 2gb my connection got throttled down to about 5mbps. Didn't get any notification about this new FUP.

Within 2GB

11608954126.png

After 2GB
11609017126.png
If Simba is practising throttled speed after hitting quota/day then it will be very disappointing. I presume it will affect only roaming data but if local data is affected too, then giving lots of data/mth becomes silly, though those countries that share local data allocation are definitely a joke now.

Habrosus

In Malaysia now. Just tested roaming. Yes, after 2gb or so playing utube, the speed drops to 5mbps.
I don't have this problem because I normally switch to my Malaysia line for data once I've settled down. Just say'in. :grin:

alex22

If Simba is practising throttled speed after hitting quota/day then it will be very disappointing. I presume it will affect only roaming data but if local data is affected too, then giving lots of data/mth becomes silly, though those countries that share local data allocation are definitely a joke now.
Mean its just a numbers game for show?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.