SimLim shop recommendation

Madnessfan

Must see first. Sometimes (esp first-timers), out of stock is not really OOS but simply lazy to send their man down to take from the store room. Sometimes, it is really out of stock, like when I bought my Asrock Extreme IV.

For TS, never be afraid to stand by your original choice, though don't be too overbearing on them (you might come back to them again). They know how to convince people to buying "something they don't need" which means more money for themselves, but if you know how to play their game, you can get quite a good deal from them (incl. a taxi ride home :D)

Pretty much any price you see in SLS, if you find anywhere lower than Tradepac, they will match/beat it (based on my experience) because their business is really low-cost-to-profit margin

edit: Fans you can get Bitfenix Spectre LED 120mm for $10 from Tradepac, or Arctic F12 120mm for $7 from Powergamers

Then what to do? Just walk away and buy another time arh?

jaywalkra

If I buy the fans from the other stores , and I build my whole PC in PCThemes , will they help me install the fan ?

Doubt so. Usually only install if you buy the things from them, or charge more than usual (I never go PCT)

Then what to do? Just walk away and buy another time arh?

Don't understand your "walk away", walk away in the event of??? If they claim OOS, keep saying you want the same thing (whilst providing valid reasons of course). If blah blah blah......

Long story short, if you want the best deal, go Tradepac. PC Themes is still very competitive (better prices than Bizgram/Fuwell/Choppermind) and regarded as the best customer service shop in SLS.

My recent experience:
Want buy Asrock Extreme4 motherboard. They say no stock. Straightaway tried to convince me to get Extreme6 +$50. This is their typical tactic, seen quite a number of people kena chopped this way.

I said no. I want Ext4, Ext6 overkill, I don't need, die die don't need. They also tried to convince me to buy Gigabyte boards which was abundance in stock. Turn down all offers, the Boss then lan lan go call his store & other shops ask for stock. Turns whole SLS don't have. Asrock rep was later present @ the shop, kena "scolding" by Boss for delayed mobo delivery.

Madnessfan

Don't understand your "walk away", walk away in the event of??? If they claim OOS, keep saying you want the same thing (whilst providing valid reasons of course). If blah blah blah......

Long story short, if you want the best deal, go Tradepac. PC Themes is still very competitive (better prices than Bizgram/Fuwell/Choppermind) and regarded as the best customer service shop in SLS.

My recent experience:
Want buy Asrock Extreme4 motherboard. They say no stock. Straightaway tried to convince me to get Extreme6 +$50. This is their typical tactic, seen quite a number of people kena chopped this way.

I said no. I want Ext4, Ext6 overkill, I don't need, die die don't need. They also tried to convince me to buy Gigabyte boards which was abundance in stock. Turn down all offers, the Boss then lan lan go call his store & other shops ask for stock. Turns whole SLS don't have. Asrock rep was later present @ the shop, kena "scolding" by Boss for delayed mobo delivery.

Ah... I see, thanks for clearing up my misconceptions!

Rock

My case is asked for ASRock Extreme 4 mb and the boss said no stock and trying to convince to take other brands like Asus. Then after insisted for Extreme 4 plus waited half hour in the shop, ASRock's sales representative came and said no stock and recommended me to take Extreme 3 which is $20 cheaper. End up no thank you and just walk out from the shop.
Later found there are stock in PC Theme, what a joke.

behling

What's the general price diff between pct and tradepac.. A ballpark figure when assembling a rig?

jaywalkra

My case is asked for ASRock Extreme 4 mb and the boss said no stock and trying to convince to take other brands like Asus. Then after insisted for Extreme 4 plus waited half hour in the shop, ASRock's sales representative came and said no stock and recommended me to take Extreme 3 which is $20 cheaper. End up no thank you and just walk out from the shop.
Later found there are stock in PC Theme, what a joke.

So fast sold out? I had just bought one from them yesterday from them :eek:

And that was fresh stock from yesterday (Tuesday saw 0 boards on shelf, yesterday around 6 boards at 6pm). Many people hooting Extreme4 liao :s22:

edit: I guess we overall had the same experience about them trying to chop us mobo buyers. But I kept pestering them about checking other shop's stock & when stock will arrive :D

behling

i just went to get another rig from PCT for my fren. at my age already i dont have time to ba long long in the shop play the cowboy shoot-out see who draw gun faster game with shop owner untill need representative come down.

maybe when i was younger i could dedicate a day to "building rig outting day" spend the day take mrt go down SLS slowly see price list once more. check here and there build the parts bit by bit.

now is just drive down. park (and you know how the rob you for parking) go PCT take price list highlighter highlight parts. let yilong do his calculations. bam. go albert street have angel horse fish soup. come back 30mins later collect and go.

jaywalkra

Which is why: Tradepac only for those cheapo hunters who can play "the game", PCT for everything else

DarkWinds

So fast sold out? I had just bought one from them yesterday from them :eek:

And that was fresh stock from yesterday (Tuesday saw 0 boards on shelf, yesterday around 6 boards at 6pm). Many people hooting Extreme4 liao :s22:

edit: I guess we overall had the same experience about them trying to chop us mobo buyers. But I kept pestering them about checking other shop's stock & when stock will arrive :D

Haha, I'm gonna go down to PCTheme tomoro to get ASRock z77 Extreme4 for my gaming rig , gonna check if there are anymore stocks :p

enenyi

Haha, I'm gonna go down to PCTheme tomoro to get ASRock z77 Extreme4 for my gaming rig , gonna check if there are anymore stocks :p
I think u shld just get your stuff from PCThemes. Their pricelist may look overprices, but trust me, YiLong knows the current pricing in SLS and with a bit of bargaining skills (smile smile, talk cock, act interested), u can prob get your stuff at the price Tradepac is willing to slash for u. Better still, if u play the 'price-match' game, they are willing to sell u at the price u quote from the pricelist of another shop, if they can afford to. And when u buy from PCThemes, u r rest assured that they wun con u thru business tactics that other shops employ. Just to illustrate on this point, I recall one time I left my receipt for my desktop rig in their shop. I called YiLong and he actually kept it for me in his shop till I went down few days later to collect from him. This is in contrast to other shops where they can easily deny they actually saw your receipt lying around, and there goes your document for warranty...

behling

I think u shld just get your stuff from PCThemes. Their pricelist may look overprices, but trust me, YiLong knows the current pricing in SLS and with a bit of bargaining skills (smile smile, talk cock, act interested), u can prob get your stuff at the price Tradepac is willing to slash for u. Better still, if u play the 'price-match' game, they are willing to sell u at the price u quote from the pricelist of another shop, if they can afford to. And when u buy from PCThemes, u r rest assured that they wun con u thru business tactics that other shops employ. Just to illustrate on this point, I recall one time I left my receipt for my desktop rig in their shop. I called YiLong and he actually kept it for me in his shop till I went down few days later to collect from him. This is in contrast to other shops where they can easily deny they actually saw your receipt lying around, and there goes your document for warranty...

Pretty much sums it up

djdestiny

@entire topic
Stay away from Tradepac if you can, i hate their service and worse, i can never find what i want there even if it was written on the pricelist for several months

By your rig build, I think going PCThemes to buy and assemble works best for u. Coz u can take advantage of their bundle pricing (MSI HD 7850 TFII + Seasonic M12II Modular 80+Bronze at $409), cheaper than u buy a HD7870 at $394 and M12II 620W at $116 separately.

Hell no. 7850 and 7870 have stark peformance differences, the two cards have about 100$ price tag apart from each other

SBS8030L

@entire topic
Stay away from Tradepac if you can, i hate their service and worse, i can never find what i want there even if it was written on the pricelist for several months

Hell no. 7850 and 7870 have stark peformance differences, the two cards have about 100$ price tag apart from each other

Price tag doesn't differentiate the performance difference.
For most people the increase from 7850 to 7870 isn't too appreciable to justify the $100 extra.

goenitz33

Yup unless one is comparing 7850 vs 7950/70

usually within same series 78XX the performance increase to me dont really justify the price difference, unless there is a really good promotion that is going on (like the PCT store opening promotion), sometimes the jump isnt worth it.

You will need to see for yourself on what you require based on your resolution, budget, game that you play to decide on what card you should get.

Regarding Tradepac, i have always been able to find the stuff i want there. IMO it is a place where one should go if they are able to know what they want and of course not the too "rare" stuff, they are always slightly behind in the new releases (like i had to wait 1 week before they stock in the new 3570s) but it is not always (they had the ASUS MF5 out earlier then even PCT)

enenyi

@entire topic

not that 7850 is inferior to 7870, just that 7870 is too overpriced. At $10 - $20 more I could upgrade from a 7870 to a 7950, although they are supposed to be proportionally ranked with 7950 the best and 7850 the worst in terms of performance. So for 7870 either wait for price to drop or buy a 7950 or just settle for other brands like Powercolor HD7870 which is going at the $340 range.

DarkWinds

Thanks! I think there are still 2/3/4 more z77 extreme4 mobo left.[PCThemes][From what I see yestreday]

jaywalkra

Thanks! I think there are still 2/3/4 more z77 extreme4 mobo left.[PCThemes][From what I see yestreday]

Hoot fast, think later. Pretty sure Extreme IVs sell like hotcakes (has features for $30-$50 less than other brands)

Jas007

knn. Tradepac chut pattern. say must add $20 extra for listed price on mobo-CPU bundle. say $ is for complete system. didn't wanna argue cos I pressed for time. Walked out, go another shop buy. Then return with goods in plastic bag to buy their kingston RAMS. cheapest n covered by convergent.
Salesman who smoked (he wasnt the one serving me for RAMs) me saw the bag n LLST. nevermind if pay abit more cos still cheaper than if I had to pay tt stupid extra 20 bucks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.