SimLim shop recommendation

jaywalkra

ditto PCT on peace-of-mind and after-sales service

bot an asrock mobo, took for granted and didn't check as i was really running late ...
rushed off, and whilst on the train took out to have a look ...
:eek::eek: the board inside isn't what as stated on box ...
noticed something's amiss cos of RAM slots (2 less than should be) ... noticed the wordings "DGS"
cham liao ... if TradePac ... should in deep sh*it liao ...
called shop immediately and explained ... they took my word for it without even any doubts

dunno why, but i took a 2nd look at the mobo again ...
:eek::eek: it's not even the DGS equivalent of my mobo series ...
totally different series, one's that almost a year old and EOL already ... H61 instead of B75 !!!
called them back immediately, (had to else big misunderstanding board returned isn't what they're expecting) and they politely told me they've set aside the right board for collection anytime

now, that's quality of service, that's PC Themes for u :)
and when i returned in the evening to collect, their apology was sincere ...

i can't help but think what will be of the situation had it been TradePac or Bizgram even ...
not too sure, perhaps Fuwell also might be difficult ... (i can't think of a better shop in this instance than PCT)
sure have to kpkb make big hooha and even then you are at their mercy !

If buying from TP, when waiting for your other parts to arrive (since they always need to take something from their storeroom :s22:), open box and check the parts inside, esp mobo, GPU and anything that doesn't have factory seal.

Go TP customer must also chut pattern, kpkb them but in friendly manner lol, otherwise you keep kpkb rudely at them you won't get discount :D

@Ah Hui, not bad right? Buying from TP make you learn to be SLS-savvy :s13:

naked123

sometimes some people really stupid one.

they check liao say dont have walk away lor.
easy right?

ah hui

If buying from TP, when waiting for your other parts to arrive (since they always need to take something from their storeroom :s22:), open box and check the parts inside, esp mobo, GPU and anything that doesn't have factory seal.

Go TP customer must also chut pattern, kpkb them but in friendly manner lol, otherwise you keep kpkb rudely at them you won't get discount :D

@Ah Hui, not bad right? Buying from TP make you learn to be SLS-savvy :s13:

Yea. Must shop smart at sls de. I always try to buy sealed hardware de. Especially those expensive hardware. But normally what u buy has de receipt that states what u buy, so if the receipt and the box or part dun tally, can go back shop and fight for ur rights. Of cos in a polite manner, dun make it sound they owe u and ur family a living de. Hehe. But when u know how to shop at TP, and they recognise u, discounts will be coming to u de. Even cheap stuffs.. I wanted to buy a msi gtx670, but no stocks, so settle for a 660ti, the sales guy ask me wan good price for the gpu or give me a psu bundle with it at a nice price to make up to me cos I couldn't get a 670 that day as I couldn't wait for another 3 days for a 670. Haha.

Pc themes also same. I wanted a LG ODD, but pc themes no stock. So yilong sold me a HP ODD(more expensive)at de price of the LG one(cheaper price). So I only buy from these two shops. I'm getting a new case soon, and these two shops will be the only shops I visit. Haha.

Jas007

PCTheme should be the best DIy friendly shop in recent times. Their standard i think maintained for a few years at good prices, good service. Old birds will remember a shop call superpet with also enthusiast people running it.

Other shops see go up and down.
Like Cybermind, recent times is improved a lot and can say next to PCT in service level.

Fuwell i think gone south in their too stuck up attitude and force you to buy bundle before they release new in-demand hardware
Bell, i dont know what happen but now look so lok kok and their pricelists super ex.

Simlim computer shops are really shrinking, not much new competitors. Alot of handphone accessories and china tablets running the show

ya Superpet !!!
my first rig from them, and the rig wasn't even solely from them ...
CPU mobo casing ... from them
the rest all chapalang from different shops ...
they just assembled my rig swee swee no extra labor
sadly, they closed a year or so after that ....
think this was back in 2003 ...

PCT reminds me of them ...
by and far like what some say, the best SLS shop in recent times ... and these has been a few years liao ...
have bot a lot of loose parts off them over the years ...
a few PSUs, HDD, DVD burners, nothing major cos i haven't upgraded my rig for years lol

Jas007

After looking through all this posts, now I am scared to go to SLS to buy my rig.

these posts here are to educate you ... not to scare you ...

if you not going to DIY (and esp a first timer) ... then get your rig from one like PCT, Fuwell ...
shops like TradePac, for loose parts ... oem sw, rams, case fans should be safe ...
as you become more seasoned, you will learn the ropes (thru this forum esp) ... and know the workarounds etc

also, plan your parts for your rig beforehand ...
try to have an alternative part in case no stock ...
but do be flexible in the sense that if it's not a major component eg your PSU no stock in the shop, ask if they allow you to get from another shop and help u fix that up with your rig as well ...
always ask to avoid misunderstandings ... no matter which shop, no matter how friendly they are or not ...
also, make sure no hidden labor costs etc ...

these days PC DIY not as hot as the good old days ...
i guess Apple was a game changer ... Dell too ...
then came the Courts, etc ...
those days so many DIYers, parts will go OOS ...
hop from shop to shop ... not as easy as now to assemble your planned rig ... and back then more shops also ...

jaywalkra

sometimes some people really stupid one.

they check liao say dont have walk away lor.
easy right?

Ya. TP always like to straighaway say "no stock!" and then recommend something else, when actually, the box is like hanging over the shelf nearby :s13:

so if the receipt and the box or part dun tally, can go back shop and fight for ur rights. Of cos in a polite manner, dun make it sound they owe u and ur family a living de. Hehe. But when u know how to shop at TP, and they recognise u, discounts will be coming to u de. Even cheap stuffs.. I wanted to buy a msi gtx670, but no stocks, so settle for a 660ti, the sales guy ask me wan good price for the gpu or give me a psu bundle with it at a nice price to make up to me cos I couldn't get a 670 that day as I couldn't wait for another 3 days for a 670. Haha.

Lol, TP bros really know how to convince people to buy ex pars when chopping people. Try to chop me to buy Extreme VI, heng the next day Asview delivered Extreme IV boards...lol. Total was $1271, paid $810 first. TP man sign on invoice, next day pay $461 bundle price and got my 3570k & mobo :D

these posts here are to educate you ... not to scare you ...

also, plan your parts for your rig beforehand ...
try to have an alternative part in case no stock ...
but do be flexible in the sense that if it's not a major component eg your PSU no stock in the shop, ask if they allow you to get from another shop and help u fix that up with your rig as well ...
always ask to avoid misunderstandings ... no matter which shop, no matter how friendly they are or not ...
also, make sure no hidden labor costs etc ...

This. When buying individual parts, know the stuff that you're gonna buy, prepare options in case items are OOS. If coming in unprepared and don't wanna get chopped, might as well just buy PC Theme's ready-built systems.

daggerden

For me when I go to sls...

Tradepac for those small individual parts for me. Even can just ask for discount. Patronize a few times. Got 1 time, I wanna buy fd define case, they said got, go take alr and ask me pay first, but I told them I want to check first then pay. So beware of this, physically see the goods and check before paying, if not don't. In the end, they don't have it. Lol

On the same day, quite late already, and go try my luck at the old pc themes. Even though Yilong close accounts for the day, he still very gladly sell to me! Thumbs up for the service as well! And still sell me the same price tp quoted me, even though I buy case only! Imo, full rig can buy from pct at a peace of mind.

From own experience, recently bought an itx rig from mynextcom, cause only there got the mobo + casing I want after combing all reputable shops. The boss just quote a total price of the rig. After paying, the receipt like those popular bookshop kind, worst is never list individual parts, but total amt only, not the one like pct, listed out unit price and total price. I think I got carroted I also don't know, even though price seems reasonable to me. Nvm. Found out my case is using 3.5 hdd, not 2.5hdd which he given me. Next day called him, luckily say can come down do a change+top up. Changed to a WD blue from toshiba. Quote me another little sum, ok no choice, cannot refund. I wait dam long and he keep calling on the phone. Most likely know his tactics alr, get from another shop, and I asked him can open another receipt, say no need. He say anything wrong can just go find him, but I think I won't. Just go straight to distributor already.

Still not very sls-savvy. Lesson learnt. Imo, if want buy, just go to reputable or recommended shop listed here by forumers. My 2c. Cheers :)

goenitz33

PCTheme should be the best DIy friendly shop in recent times. Their standard i think maintained for a few years at good prices, good service. Old birds will remember a shop call superpet with also enthusiast people running it.

Other shops see go up and down.
Like Cybermind, recent times is improved a lot and can say next to PCT in service level.

Fuwell i think gone south in their too stuck up attitude and force you to buy bundle before they release new in-demand hardware
Bell, i dont know what happen but now look so lok kok and their pricelists super ex.

Simlim computer shops are really shrinking, not much new competitors. Alot of handphone accessories and china tablets running the show

i agree on this.

Last time i always check Fuwell / Bell also for competitive pricing and "rare" stuff since they always seem to get new release earlier.

However nowadays they dont seem to have alot of the new stuff and their pricing is -_-

CM's service level have definitely improved but their pricing still the same :s13:

terence52

i agree on this.

Last time i always check Fuwell / Bell also for competitive pricing and "rare" stuff since they always seem to get new release earlier.

However nowadays they dont seem to have alot of the new stuff and their pricing is -_-

CM's service level have definitely improved but their pricing still the same :s13:
Any shop so long you are close to them price will drop one. No matter how stuck up. :D
Well apart from Tradepac. *cough cough*

Jas007

that's why CM mah ...
ChopperMind :s13:

i noticed last few years, the SLS shops like Fuwell, CM, VideoPro all like playing musical chairs ...
keep changing shop locations ... never quite understood why ...
is it change shops, reno price mark up higher than really is (on receipt) so as to mask profits against tax :s11: :s13:

goenitz33

Any shop so long you are close to them price will drop one. No matter how stuck up. :D
Well apart from Tradepac. *cough cough*

Technically i dont like to bargain though, i will usually base on pricelist to work out my budget.

Also i am not really close to any shop since i only go down every few months :s13: sometimes can be half a year once.

TP do offer attractive pricing but their OOS stunt is really annoying sometimes.

ah hui

Technically i dont like to bargain though, i will usually base on pricelist to work out my budget.

Also i am not really close to any shop since i only go down every few months :s13: sometimes can be half a year once.

TP do offer attractive pricing but their OOS stunt is really annoying sometimes.

But for tp, sometimes is really a lot of ppl buy their stuffs de. Den is really oos. I went thr few times, got those back alley shop owners also buy stuffs from tp den bring to their own shop and sell to customers or use it for repair or whatever purpose. Cos de cpu+mobo bundle is de cheapest in sls le.

goenitz33

But for tp, sometimes is really a lot of ppl buy their stuffs de. Den is really oos. I went thr few times, got those back alley shop owners also buy stuffs from tp den bring to their own shop and sell to customers or use it for repair or whatever purpose. Cos de cpu+mobo bundle is de cheapest in sls le.

cause cheat code is enabled mah.

thus no other shop dare to complain them. :s13:

Jas007

$15. I recall somewhere selling $14, but don't remember the shop. If you live near MacPherson/Paya Lebar area, you can get MX-4 for $11.90 from Powergamers

i think Powergamers close to $15 also ...

just bot one(MX-4) today @ $13 ...
quoted $15, but receipt printed $13 ... caused me to do a double take on the product again :s13:

bot from shop, served by guy who wanted to smoke me on the bundle :s13:
maybe he gimme discount ah :s11: :s13:

and i asked if have NZXT Source 210 Elite ... tell me old casing, seemed hesitant, consulted with other guy, think profit margin not much cos i only buying casing, tried to push me another casing ... said firmly, i not considering any other casings ...

go back fave PCT to get ...

jaywalkra

i think Powergamers close to $15 also ...

just bot one(MX-4) today @ $13 ...
quoted $15, but receipt printed $13 ... caused me to do a double take on the product again :s13:

bot from shop, served by guy who wanted to smoke me on the bundle :s13:
maybe he gimme discount ah :s11: :s13:

and i asked if have NZXT Source 210 Elite ... tell me old casing, seemed hesitant, consulted with other guy, think profit margin not much cos i only buying casing, tried to push me another casing ... said firmly, i not considering any other casings ...

go back fave PCT to get ...

PG is $11.90 if you buy direct from them at their office. Add extra if want postage which makes it close to SLS price. You go where for case? TP?

PCT still great if you buying items which are higher in price when you buy individually (eg. casing, mobo, CPU) because you won't kena smoke like at TP/CT :s13:

Jas007

PG is $11.90 if you buy direct from them at their office. Add extra if want postage which makes it close to SLS price. You go where for case? TP?

PCT still great if you buying items which are higher in price when you buy individually (eg. casing, mobo, CPU) because you won't kena smoke like at TP/CT :s13:

Casing first asked TP bcos price list say ASK mah lol.

But eventually got it from pct

Jas007

I think they is just lazy want go downstair take for you when earn only a few dollar :s13:

ya I know ...
the casing they suggested was from Best Value , the shop opposite hitch is actually their shop too lah :s13:

jaywalkra

ya I know ...
the casing they suggested was from Best Value , the shop opposite hitch is actually their shop too lah :s13:

Tradepac print receipt also use Best Value name =:p

Best Value = non-GST registered Tradepac entity
Best Price = Diff shop near Choppermind/Bizgram
Best Bargain = Famous P.I. shop, used to be cheap
Best Buy = Newer & cheaper than Bargain. The place to get Sandisk stuff (all local set & lowest price :p)

So many Best here, Best there :s22:

Jas007

Tradepac print receipt also use Best Value name =:p

Best Value = non-GST registered Tradepac entity
Best Price = Diff shop near Choppermind/Bizgram
Best Bargain = Famous P.I. shop, used to be cheap
Best Buy = Newer & cheaper than Bargain. The place to get Sandisk stuff (all local set & lowest price :p)

So many Best here, Best there :s22:

"Best Buy = Newer & cheaper than Bargain. The place to get Sandisk stuff (all local set & lowest price :p)"

but is the Sandisk stuff covered by local dealer ... (is it still) Vector Magnetics :s11:

btw, all the Best are **** shops rite ? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.