SimLim shop recommendation

jaywalkra

knn. Tradepac chut pattern. say must add $20 extra for listed price on mobo-CPU bundle. say $ is for complete system. didn't wanna argue cos I pressed for time. Walked out, go another shop buy. Then return with goods in plastic bag to buy their kingston RAMS. cheapest n covered by convergent.
Salesman who smoked (he wasnt the one serving me for RAMs) me saw the bag n LLST. nevermind if pay abit more cos still cheaper than if I had to pay tt stupid extra 20 bucks.

It's like that one. Best Buy has even lower listed price, but when ask for whole system quote, the bundle price :s22:

afaik, everything except the mobo+cpu combo on TP pricelist is their actual retail price. That's why the terms remain; TP only if you can tolerate their tactics, PCT for everything else :s13:

behling

knn. Tradepac chut pattern. say must add $20 extra for listed price on mobo-CPU bundle. say $ is for complete system. didn't wanna argue cos I pressed for time. Walked out, go another shop buy. Then return with goods in plastic bag to buy their kingston RAMS. cheapest n covered by convergent.
Salesman who smoked (he wasnt the one serving me for RAMs) me saw the bag n LLST. nevermind if pay abit more cos still cheaper than if I had to pay tt stupid extra 20 bucks.

Nice one bro

xbai87

pricing for hardware is so competitive these days. pc themes is already one of the cheapest. how much more can u save? is it worth taking sh*t .. and worse, actually receiving sh*t from a 50-50 discredited shop for $10-20 in savings?

i almost always exclusively buy from PC Themes. all my systesm, upgrades have been from there. i don't know their staff la so i don't get discounts .. but who cares, i'm a working adult, i can afford the $2-3 more for peace of mind. transparent pricing, and reliable goods/service.

i remember as a kid, running around the old SLS buying 1 part from here, 1 part from there, just to save $2 per item. so much energy, so little brain. end up wasting 3hours getting parts when it could be done in an hour. lagi best, when parts fail, start scrambling through the barrage of different receipts trying to figure out who to return, and to where. oh oh, i remember got 1 time, 1 shop never chop e warranty card somemore .. end up 3yr warranty become 3mth warranty only (the part died after 3 months).

killless

You can consider go Bizgram. The staff attitude quite good.

Pricing may not be as good though.

ah hui

Wah. What pattern now, i buy cpu + mobo bundle from them 3 times, they always quote me de price of the pricelist, i go thr, what i want, i ask them for pricelist and highlighter, den i highlight what i want den ask them go check, so if they say no stock or what, i will ask them go check 1st. I go tp so many times, de price of all the stuffs i buy thr only srop, nv increase de leh. At most pricelist price... If they really add $20 to their cpu bundle ah, i will change my regular shop le.. I only go pct and tp for computer parts, other shops for stuffs like fan, thermal paste and cables.. Haha.

Jas007

Wah. What pattern now, i buy cpu + mobo bundle from them 3 times, they always quote me de price of the pricelist, i go thr, what i want, i ask them for pricelist and highlighter, den i highlight what i want den ask them go check, so if they say no stock or what, i will ask them go check 1st. I go tp so many times, de price of all the stuffs i buy thr only srop, nv increase de leh. At most pricelist price... If they really add $20 to their cpu bundle ah, i will change my regular shop le.. I only go pct and tp for computer parts, other shops for stuffs like fan, thermal paste and cables.. Haha.

i think that fella think he can cream me for extra $20 ...
guessed i showed him huh, when i returned to the shop just to buy 2 sticks of RAMs with the bundled items in another shop's bag :s13:
got $ to make, wanna be greedy ... end up competitor earned instead :s13:

i only ever 2x before bot things from them ...
both times were case fans ...
and i know they have bad rep b4 ...
so i go there and act like lao jiao ... take pricelist, take highlighter ... highlighted my item and ask them if got stock ...
chut si pattern, i also chut my own pattern ... i chut out of the shop :s13:

i think it's heng suay one lah ...
another time, another salesman, another story liao ... just my luck i guessed :p

i'm not saying they shld be avoided ...
if your budget is tight, and willing to take a risk buying items from them, then by all means give them a try (unless they chut pattern)

shops shld be blacklisted if once u purchased stuff from them, bring back bcos got problem, they chut all kinda patterns to try to push responsibilities off themselves ...
are rude ...
does not honor their B/W sales policy ...
give u a replacement that does not work ...
are beat u up like those good ole SLS days :s13:

jaywalkra

My SLS shopping:
Typical hardware: TP
Eye candy accessories: Bell
MX-4 thermal paste: Cashtronic
Thumbdrives/SD cards: Best Buy
If I can't find what I want: Choppermind

I personally boycott Best Bargain; rude service & parallel import stuffs still there. Friendliest person I know is the uncle from Bell.

What I do like about TP is that you get them to get some stuffs for you even though it is not listed on their pricelist

Jas007

My SLS shopping:
Typical hardware: TP
Eye candy accessories: Bell
MX-4 thermal paste: Cashtronic
Thumbdrives/SD cards: Best Buy
If I can't find what I want: Choppermind

I personally boycott Best Bargain; rude service & parallel import stuffs still there. Friendliest person I know is the uncle from Bell.

What I do like about TP is that you get them to get some stuffs for you even though it is not listed on their pricelist

how much is the MX-4 @ Cashtronic ?

Kairos

I am buying my first gaming rig computer :

i5 3570k + ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 8gb
SAPPHIRE HD 7870 GHz edition OC 2gb GDDR5
Crucial M4 128GB SSD + 1.0TB Western Digital black HDD
Seasonic M12ii 620W Bronze 80+
Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium x64

I know what components I need , what shop do you recommend me going to ?

P.S Sorry if I post at the wrong section! =:p

PCT or Fuwell.

Not the best price out there.

But have peace of mind and good after sale service. :D

jaywalkra

PCT or Fuwell.

Not the best price out there.

But have peace of mind and good after sale service. :D

In all honesty, PCT if you really want peace-of-mind and after-sales service. Fuwell's pricing isn't that competitive and is more of royalty-based.

sakratulmauts

What about Best Price I bought from them 3 months ago service great too just told them pc at $1300 budget n they build me for $1245

Jas007

In all honesty, PCT if you really want peace-of-mind and after-sales service. Fuwell's pricing isn't that competitive and is more of royalty-based.

ditto PCT on peace-of-mind and after-sales service

bot an asrock mobo, took for granted and didn't check as i was really running late ...
rushed off, and whilst on the train took out to have a look ...
:eek::eek: the board inside isn't what as stated on box ...
noticed something's amiss cos of RAM slots (2 less than should be) ... noticed the wordings "DGS"
cham liao ... if TradePac ... should in deep sh*it liao ...
called shop immediately and explained ... they took my word for it without even any doubts

dunno why, but i took a 2nd look at the mobo again ...
:eek::eek: it's not even the DGS equivalent of my mobo series ...
totally different series, one's that almost a year old and EOL already ... H61 instead of B75 !!!
called them back immediately, (had to else big misunderstanding board returned isn't what they're expecting) and they politely told me they've set aside the right board for collection anytime

now, that's quality of service, that's PC Themes for u :)
and when i returned in the evening to collect, their apology was sincere ...

i can't help but think what will be of the situation had it been TradePac or Bizgram even ...
not too sure, perhaps Fuwell also might be difficult ... (i can't think of a better shop in this instance than PCT)
sure have to kpkb make big hooha and even then you are at their mercy !

Personally I go to Fuwell to buy my stuff... (Really like their service, I bought a Barracuda Green last time, they even asked and make sure it wasn't for the OS Drive and for Storage)
I'd go to Cybermind if Fuwell out of stock (suay suay 2 times WD Scopio Black out of stock :()
Maybe I should try PC Themes next time...

naked123

my friend's rig and mine >>>

both bought from tradepac.

mobo price same as pricelist wor and they sure give me discount.

junjian

After looking through all this posts, now I am scared to go to SLS to buy my rig.

ah hui

After looking through all this posts, now I am scared to go to SLS to buy my rig.

Like many bros stated, a piece of mind would be pc themes, no wrong when u go thr de. Unless u know ur stuffs, den can go other shops to get ur hardware and stuffs.

My rig ~~~>. Bought from tradepac de, 1st rig also thr, 2nd rig also thr. 1st rig bought from them, kena psycho change this change that to other parts, paid more for what i needed, though my 1st rig only $800. Haha. Learn it de hard way and now i can know mynway around sls.

bemylove

PCTheme should be the best DIy friendly shop in recent times. Their standard i think maintained for a few years at good prices, good service. Old birds will remember a shop call superpet with also enthusiast people running it.

Other shops see go up and down.
Like Cybermind, recent times is improved a lot and can say next to PCT in service level.

Fuwell i think gone south in their too stuck up attitude and force you to buy bundle before they release new in-demand hardware
Bell, i dont know what happen but now look so lok kok and their pricelists super ex.

Simlim computer shops are really shrinking, not much new competitors. Alot of handphone accessories and china tablets running the show

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.