SimplyGo screw ups

royalmix

I simply love "Instant Gratification" when I tap and see zero fare! My "hack" works to help me save money with 5 trips on a single distant fare! Huat ah!

multijesture

i would be very surprised to hear of people using ezlink who got overcharged the moment they board/alight the bus/mrt. if it is so prevalent, why so many comments about "why fixed what is not broken"? if ezlink is really inferior, I think the general population would not be making so much noise..

all my simplygo overcharging is ALL due to system error (tapped correctly with the right device, got OK / tick, got beep sound, my google wallet shows the transaction, but yet in the simplygo app, it shows 'missing exit'). and subsequently I have to submit claims via the app after a few days. although it is just a few cents, it is annoying.

and what is troubling is the company would stand to gain (profit) unethically when commuters don't check the app to see if there is any overcharging and hence did not submit any claims. how much have they already profited over the past 3 over years since implementation - that's everyone's guess.

"Those people still experiencing it probably unwittingly tailgated someone else or tapped in and out with different devices." -- you probably shouldn't assume all users are at fault while trying to deny the faults of simplygo itself.
Can share if your simplygo overcharge is the bank card version or the ezlink upgraded version?

CrashWire

Who's to say other cities wouldn't eventually discontinue the acceptance when 2/3 of users use CC?

Different stage of the adoption and diff population size. cannot compare.

if 2 in 3 adult commuters have already adopted simplygo, does that mean only 1/3 adult commuters are the one making noises?
LTA/SimplyGo/EZ-Link staff have been forcing people to convert without their consent since last year:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...rd-converted-at-station-without-her-knowledge

There are still cases of this happening being posted on Reddit even this month.

The 2/3 number is for people who use SimplyGo, but it isn't clear if they're doing so by choice, or because some unethical staff converted their card to hit their quota.

reddevil0728

LTA/SimplyGo/EZ-Link staff have been forcing people to convert without their consent since last year:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...rd-converted-at-station-without-her-knowledge

There are still cases of this happening being posted on Reddit even this month.

The 2/3 number is for people who use SimplyGo, but it isn't clear if they're doing so by choice, or because some unethical staff converted their card to hit their quota.
While I wouldn’t deny it might be the case some got “forced”, what we wouldn’t for sure if that’s the actual story since it’s one-sided.

but regardless, there a lot of uncertainty in itself be it 2/3 be it 1/3.

royalmix

Change was made last night! Possibly after so many complaints, rethinking their plans?

Just like after so many complaints, they decided to u-turn and retain Bus Servcie 167 recently! :ROFLMAO:

royalmix

They spent more than 3 months integrating Ezlink and Simplygo, as they encounted "technical problems", cosing me to lose 3 mths worth of rebates as I cannot login to Ezlink! They bochap, maybe I am one of the few with problems, I suspect because I have both accounts (but inactive simplygo) and the integrated system cannot "handle"? :ROFLMAO:

Luckily they resolved in time for me enjoy the balance mths of rebate!

sglandscape

They spent more than 3 months integrating Ezlink and Simplygo, as they encounted "technical problems", cosing me to lose 3 mths worth of rebates as I cannot login to Ezlink! They bochap, maybe I am one of the few with problems, I suspect because I have both accounts (but inactive simplygo) and the integrated system cannot "handle"? :ROFLMAO:

The ezlink system should be dropped long time ago, it is long overdue. The transition is finally happening, and there is so much teething issue from card replacements to bow to deal with concessions cards.

royalmix

Hurray, rebates are still alive!

oceanicmanta

ST article today:

"LTA’s drastic SimplyGo move puzzling in the absence of big-picture transport payment plans"

t9gUr7U.jpg

this was put under Tech section ... not public transport :unsure:

reddevil0728

ST article today:

"LTA’s drastic SimplyGo move puzzling in the absence of big-picture transport payment plans"

t9gUr7U.jpg

Is there a public transport section? Anyway tech makes sense ma.

RedsYWNA

ST article today:

t9gUr7U.jpg

How many of the decision makers actually take public transport? Imagine if their Ezlink/Nets cashcards just show simply go at the carpark gantry without red light for low bal......

Then they kena fined when passing through ERP gantry due to insufficient balance? LOL

XiaoJinLing

Yesterday no notification on the simplygo to tell fare n rates after usage... siao siao why sometimes hv n sometimes dun hv...

sibeiTrolled

Yesterday no notification on the simplygo to tell fare n rates after usage... siao siao why sometimes hv n sometimes dun hv...
Missed exit/entry?
Personally, that will only happen when i really missed my exit, else it will also have the notification though the worst delay i have encountered was 1h later.
Better go into the app to check the fares for your yesterday trip
those Q earlier to exchange

now Q again to exchange :(
Singaporeans love to queue ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.