[Skincare] Everything Sunscreen

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Renzokukenz

Alcohol in Skincare is bad for your skin
Avoid alcohols in your skincare products

You wouldn't think applying a hand sanitizer on your face is good for your skin would you? (hand sanitizers are made with more than 90% alcohol)

So why would you want to apply skincare products with alcohol in them in your skin?

Articles explaining why alcohols are bad for your skin

#1 https://www.truthinaging.com/review/alcohol-in-cosmetics-is-it-safe
#2 https://www.paulaschoice.com/expert...care-tips/alcohol-in-skin-care-the-facts.html
#3 https://blackpaint.sg/alcohol-in-skincare/#Why_is_Alcohol_Bad_for_Your_Skin

Source: https://blackpaint.sg/alcohol-in-skincare/#Why_is_Alcohol_Bad_for_Your_Skin

TL : DR

Good Alcohols (alcohols that are acceptable) :
  • Cetyl Alcohol
  • Stearyl Alcohol
  • Cetearyl Alcohol
  • Any other fatty alcohol

Bad Alcohols (alcohols to be avoided) :
  • ethanol
  • denatured alcohol
  • ethyl alcohol
  • methanol
  • benzyl alcohol
  • isopropyl alcohol
  • sd alcohol
This list is non-exhaustive

please do read this and understand that

all non-fatty alcohols are bad for you

in other words, only fatty alcohols are good for you

the science once again is steadfast on this, it is as good as the earth is round

Renzokukenz

Fatty Alcohol =/= Alcohol​

• Cetyl Alcohol
  • Stearyl Alcohol
  • Cetearyl Alcohol
All of the listed items above are all fatty alcohols

• ethanol
  • denatured alcohol
  • ethyl alcohol
  • methanol
  • benzyl alcohol
  • isopropyl alcohol
  • sd alcohol

https://www.paulaschoice-eu.com/alcohol-in-skincare-the-facts
THE GOOD TYPES OF ALCOHOL
There's a class of ingredients known as fatty alcohols, which are not the least bit harmful for skin. Often confused with the bad alcohols, such as denatured alcohol, the fatty alcohols include, among others, cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol. Typically, fatty alcohols are used as emollients and thickeners in skin-care products. Fatty alcohols are not irritating and, in fact, can be beneficial for dry skin. As far as your skin is concerned, fatty alcohols are about as related to skin-damaging alcohol/ethanol as a martini is to a cup of olive oil.

harky

ah thanks... i tot i need to avoid all alcohol hahah

Fatty Alcohol =/= Alcohol​

• Cetyl Alcohol
  • Stearyl Alcohol
  • Cetearyl Alcohol
All of the listed items above are all fatty alcohols
Other fatty alcohols include Behenyl, decyl, caprylyl/caprylate, lauryl, myristyl and isostearyl.
When reading a label, you can find a fatty alcohol by noticing the common ending ‘-yl’ in each alcohol name.

• ethanol
  • denatured alcohol
  • ethyl alcohol
  • methanol
  • benzyl alcohol
  • isopropyl alcohol
  • sd alcohol

https://www.paulaschoice-eu.com/alcohol-in-skincare-the-facts

Renzokukenz

ah thanks... i tot i need to avoid all alcohol hahah

haha paiseh i abit triggered

anyway please spread the word around and tell your friends as well

on a large level, this will signal to manufacturers to make better products and continue existing good ones :)

harky

I test le. Got one is blue bottle.
The Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk had the similar (non sticky, non oily) to the one I use..
The only thing is the price lol.

Maybe i can use Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk on face, while BIORE:Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF50 on hand.

btw
There is a promo in Shopee..
want to buy, get it ASAP
it had shop voucher also, can stack it.. than it cost more cheaper than shop.

Renzokukenz

Huh you all got use one hand one ah?

Ok la if on hand I also don’t care for alcohol or not

harky

Now I got use le as my hand getting darker lol

anyway, i get 2 from shopee, offset -$10 (shop voucher) + $5 (dbs)

Huh you all got use one hand one ah?

Ok la if on hand I also don’t care for alcohol or not

aaronlimsinga

Tks Renzokukenz! Learnt alot from your thread.
I ordered the Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk online. Cant wait to try it :)

I rem my facialist telling me that there is oil based and cream/aqua based sunscreen. She recommended me for my oil skin type, I should avoid oil based.
She also said I dont need to get sunscreen that are over 30+ as once its over, it will contain certain ingredients which are not so good. So those 25+ is good enough. Not sure if I rem the terms correctly.

You got any info related to that?

aaronlimsinga

Another qn. How often do you apply sunscreen a day?
I'm in an office environment. I usually just apply once in the morning and thats it. Too lazy to keep reapply again in the afternoon :o

Renzokukenz

Tks Renzokukenz! Learnt alot from your thread.
I ordered the Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk online. Cant wait to try it :)

I rem my facialist telling me that there is oil based and cream/aqua based sunscreen. She recommended me for my oil skin type, I should avoid oil based.
She also said I dont need to get sunscreen that are over 30+ as once its over, it will contain certain ingredients which are not so good. So those 25+ is good enough. Not sure if I rem the terms correctly.

You got any info related to that?

no you cannot judge if a sunscreen have good/bad ingredients from the SPF alone. don't listen to these fake pieces of advice

beauticians in facial parlors earn more when they sell products
it is like the food you buy in the cinema help the cinema make more money
always do your own readings and research

the only way to ascertain if a sunscreen have bad ingredients is if you looking into the ingredient list.

When i make a purchase i will first screen the ingredients list for alcohol (fatty alcohols are fine), once there's alcohol I don't bother looking at the rest and move on to the next product.

Next I google the ingredients, sometimes word for word, this is why I spent 30 minutes typing by hand the FULL Ingredient list on Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk

The ingredients list are often in descending order.
Meaning there are more of the ingredients that appear first.

More on all these things in post 15 here (watch the video): https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/120745159-post15.html

last but not least for the Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk
you need to LET IT DRY, it will dry into a matte finish, just that it takes some time
after it drys it is perfect and it mattifies your skin

羊咩咩的天地

Try Canvas Beauty Sun Protect Gel SPF 30.Price is definitely on the high side but I feel that based on (1) matte non-oily finish and (2) good organic ingredients, it is justified.

Renzokukenz

btw
There is a promo in Shopee..
want to buy, get it ASAP
it had shop voucher also, can stack it.. than it cost more cheaper than shop.

Erm I just checked shoppee

shoppe.png

when there's 20% off you can get the 60ml one at $32 from Watson
the $18 one in the screenshot is 20ml only

Shoppee on the price is much worst and cannot even confirm if the sellers are selling the real product

harky

nv use full name to search for product

it a official shop...

Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk (20ml/60ml)
https://shopee.sg/product/46944726/2216382712

Anessa Essence UV Mild Milk (20ml/60ml)
https://shopee.sg/Anessa-Essence-UV-Mild-Milk-(20ml-60ml)-i.46944726.2216356085

There is a shop voucher, if u want must get it today... as today is the last day promo...
nt sure they will extend a nt.

and if u get 2, can try ur luck... use a citibank card. can stack 1 more card discount during the time when u choose payment mode.
https://shopee.sg/campaigns?smtt=210.11294

*Btw, order liao nv cancel ah.. because i dont think shopee will revere the voucher.
*remember to use shopback :)
VPk6ZFRh.jpg

can trust anot??

later fake product or counterfeit how??

Renzokukenz

nv use full name to search for product

it a official shop...

Anessa Perfect UV Mild Milk (20ml/60ml)

Anessa Essence UV Mild Milk (20ml/60ml)
https://shopee.sg/Anessa-Essence-UV-Mild-Milk-(20ml-60ml)-i.46944726.2216356085

There is a shop voucher, if u want must get it today... as today is the last day promo...
nt sure they will extend a nt.

and if u get 2, can try ur luck... use a citibank card. can stack 1 more card discount during the time when u choose payment mode.
https://shopee.sg/campaigns?smtt=210.11294

*Btw, order liao nv cancel ah.. because i dont think shopee will revere the voucher.
*remember to use shopback :)
VPk6ZFRh.jpg

wah I damn new to the online shopping gain
why you buy both the 20ml+60ml

also I forgot they have a blue version
other than the lower SPF I don't really know the difference.
But maybe can get a hint from the naming of the product

Milk vs Essence. I am guessing the essence is even more watery and lightweight

hmmmm after so many voucher game and discount the price match Watson 20% discount.... I think I will pass haha too many online accounts I cannot keep up

Renzokukenz

wait omg 60ml at $21

WOW ok thanks for lobang <3 :o

this voucher best:

Shopee
Min. Spend $25
Code:
SHOPEE10APR
Valid Till: 30.06.2019

harky

the price for small one not much diff since had promo.
Put the small one @ office :)
Blue one more moisturising & conditioning

I dunno how u get tht but nt all code can be apply. if can than gd

There is a shop voucher
take tht if u get 2 bottle so get can $10 off

6vRYDle.png

wah I damn new to the online shopping gain
why you buy both the 20ml+60ml

also I forgot they have a blue version
other than the lower SPF I don't really know the difference.
But maybe can get a hint from the naming of the product

Milk vs Essence. I am guessing the essence is even more watery and lightweight

hmmmm after so many voucher game and discount the price match Watson 20% discount.... I think I will pass haha too many online accounts I cannot keep up

Renzokukenz

the price for small one not much diff since had promo.
Put the small one @ office :)
Blue one more moisturising & conditioning

I dunno how u get tht but nt all code can be apply. if can than gd

There is a shop voucher
take tht if u get 2 bottle so get can $10 off

6vRYDle.png

i think blue one for dry skin as you mention
but SG everyday sweat get that one prolly will have pimples (plus the SPF lower)

hope you like this sunscreen after i sell it so much LOL
must shake before use ah

harky

Thanks! i went to watson tried so decide to get since got promo now.. haha

tapiocamypearl

Hi - Wouls just like to share that I got SK11 sun cream for face and it is VERY good - not oily at all and nice texture

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.