Small Rice Chat

DesilDesil

I find xiaomi sibeh xiasuay, cant use their own skill sell their own phone.
Have to copy apple almost completely even right down to naming to purposely skip afew numbers.

Reminds me of that wing chun movie called ip man where they purposely align their release with iron man.

Jin xiasuay
Lol Oppo also doing that but now in their flagship but their Reno series Pro Max

Kinda funny since it could be read as them saying their midranger is as good as iphone/xiaomi pro max

SantyBalls

Pretty normal to copy nowadays since most things have plateaued, everyone's taking each others and incorporating into their own products.
It's 1 thing to plagarise your work.

It's another to copy someone else poorly, 画蛇添足 add afew things, rename your product to be the same as what you copy, then brag and pay ppl to say your product is better.

Got another incident recently where xiaomi self-driving car drive by itself without owner instruction and then use state censorship to silence the news, then blaming it on the owner's iphone.

Did xiaomi ceo change recently? So shameless now. If this keeps up i will need to find means to hide my phone brand.

froztheart

It's another to copy someone else poorly, 画蛇添足 add afew things, rename your product to be the same as what you copy, then brag and pay ppl to say your product is better.

Got another incident recently where xiaomi self-driving car drive by itself without owner instruction and then use state censorship to silence the news, then blaming it on the owner's iphone.

Did xiaomi ceo change recently? So shameless now. If this keeps up i will need to find means to hide my phone brand.
I hear you, but nobody cares one la. As long as it fit ones needs and price is right, cannot be bothered with all these nonsense.
Just find it amusing nia, but I also get that XM probably wants to leech off Apple to market their products.
And the CEO is still Lei Jun. :o

SantyBalls

I hear you, but nobody cares one la. As long as it fit ones needs and price is right, cannot be bothered with all these nonsense.
Just find it amusing nia, but I also get that XM probably wants to leech off Apple to market their products.
Alot of ppl care. like how huawei users are perceived to be troublesome stubborn hardcore prc supporters.
When you see a huawei user, do not make the mistake of bringing up the topic about usa or china, or you will never hear the end of it

DesilDesil

I think copy then copy lor, extremely shameless and cringe but whatever lol
But adding a rear screen and calling it "Innovation" is intellectually dishonest
Saint Peter will judge them eventually

Rear screen on a slab phone is bloody pointless and they spent $1 billion rmb to r&d it which gets pass on to consumer. I believe not just XM17 series but price hike(or spec cuts) for every XM phone just to plug back the gap
https://www.gsmarena.com/the_xiaomi...nt_just_a_fad_its_here_to_stay-news-69945.php

Motorola can engineer a rear screen on much thinner fold phone, heck even Transsion/Infinix also can

dreamcast18

Alot of ppl care. like how huawei users are perceived to be troublesome stubborn hardcore prc supporters.
When you see a huawei user, do not make the mistake of bringing up the topic about usa or china, or you will never hear the end of it
eh...now that u mentioned it..was at super atas PRC (i think laundromat) restaurant last night..i think we were the only local table..saw these bunch of PRC with the Huawei Pura rotating lens phone..really never seen the phone in the wild...should have gone up to them and yell "MAGA Orange Man kick ass!" :ROFLMAO: 🤪

dreamcast18

Copycat.jpg

I think copy then copy lor, extremely shameless and cringe but whatever lol
But adding a rear screen and calling it "Innovation" is intellectually dishonest
Saint Peter will judge them eventually

Rear screen on a slab phone is bloody pointless and they spent $1 billion rmb to r&d it which gets pass on to consumer. I believe not just XM17 series but price hike(or spec cuts) for every XM phone just to plug back the gap
https://www.gsmarena.com/the_xiaomi...nt_just_a_fad_its_here_to_stay-news-69945.php

Motorola can engineer a rear screen on much thinner fold phone, heck even Transsion/Infinix also can

If (i say if) i was a XM product manager - I would look at history of innovation and focus on the XM AI Glass. Google and others have failed in it previously...but its the future of human UI.

First and second gen stuff often fail due to tech not good enuff..but when tech catches up..boom!

Apple Newton (failed) -> iPads & tablets a necessity and common now..so much so laptops have become 2 in 1 to compete.

Palm Treo (final death keel of Palm), PocketPC (e.g., iPaq) -> Crackberry/Iphone

Apple IIgs (Copycat of Xerox) -> Windows / Mac

NeXT -> MacOS

etc etc...1st mover advantage in tech don't really matter...its taking a good idea and making it work.

rrr2015

it will be sad if XM being forced to dip into politics like huawei.

SantyBalls

eh...now that u mentioned it..was at super atas PRC (i think laundromat) restaurant last night..i think we were the only local table..saw these bunch of PRC with the Huawei Pura rotating lens phone..really never seen the phone in the wild...should have gone up to them and yell "MAGA Orange Man kick ass!" :ROFLMAO: 🤪
Prc not so bad. It's the self-radicalised local chinese boomers that's the problem

froztheart

Copycat.jpg

If (i say if) i was a XM product manager - I would look at history of innovation and focus on the XM AI Glass. Google and others have failed in it previously...but its the future of human UI.

First and second gen stuff often fail due to tech not good enuff..but when tech catches up..boom!

Apple Newton (failed) -> iPads & tablets a necessity and common now..so much so laptops have become 2 in 1 to compete.

Palm Treo (final death keel of Palm), PocketPC (e.g., iPaq) -> Crackberry/Iphone

Apple IIgs (Copycat of Xerox) -> Windows / Mac

NeXT -> MacOS

etc etc...1st mover advantage in tech don't really matter...its taking a good idea and making it work.
Yes this, essentially it's who manages to get it right and in turn being well received by consumers as a business.
Copy and innovating is how business works anyway.

We're into end stage capitalism, there's a limit to how things work nowadays. :o

froztheart

it will be sad if XM being forced to dip into politics like huawei.
It might happen with how the world is nowadays, which is why from what I see that XM is trying to get it's own chip, ecyosystem etc. up as a moat and preventive protection in the event they are forced like Huawei.
I personally believe it's a matter of time, from how the Chinese companies are slowly moving to go global and integrate more to fight the usual international powerhouses.

As always, competition is good. As consumer, fit my needs and price is right, the politics etc. not really my concern. :s22:

rrr2015

It might happen with how the world is nowadays, which is why from what I see that XM is trying to get it's own chip, ecyosystem etc. up as a moat and preventive protection in the event they are forced like Huawei.
I personally believe it's a matter of time, from how the Chinese companies are slowly moving to go global and integrate more to fight the usual international powerhouses.

As always, competition is good. As consumer, fit my needs and price is right, the politics etc. not really my concern. :s22:
politics does matter especially when Winnie's involved. hate to see XM being used as his political tools

froztheart

politics does matter especially when Winnie's involved. hate to see XM being used as his political tools
Sorry not for me at least, business is business.
All these silly politics could have just been everyone working together to get things better and compete.
No business wants to willingly be involved in politics, can earn money in peace why get involved in such nonsense to begin with ain't it?

rrr2015

Sorry not for me at least, business is business.
All these silly politics could have just been everyone working together to get things better and compete.
No business wants to willingly be involved in politics, can earn money in peace why get involved in such nonsense to begin with ain't it?
not silly, it seriously frustrating. just look at huawei

K202020K

Like i see every thread is tied to a phone model. Go thru 5pages liao, No general chat? Like to discuss acoss various models, promos, etc.
After years of contemplating buying their phones, I bought one for my helper as a form of reward for her services. After going through the phone's software, I confirmed that I'll only get those with no proprietary operating system like Redmi's HyperOS. Stock Android is a much better Android experience for me..

rrr2015

anyone knows where is the reflection removal tool. disappeared after my recent update.

jeff79

Looked in the gallery app, reflection removal is still available.

In the gallery app edit tool, click create at bottom row, click erase button.

rrr2015

:(Looked in the gallery app, reflection removal is still available.

In the gallery app edit tool, click create at bottom row, click erase button.
i only have erase people, objects & manual
under manage plugins, reflection remove still installed & I can't uninstall.
uninstall & reinstall gallery app still no ok
i hope they didn't remove feature from 13T

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.