Sony Days 2015

mrsun18

can't be. playing on my PC screen no jerk....but stream to the sony TV , it jerks alot....

stream to my LG TV also no problem ....so must be Sony TV problem ?
You said good for 720p but no good for full hdb. Perhaps Sony wireless not fast enough.

minute_me

What if you copy the same file onto a thumb drive & playback on the TV?

Seems like there is no jerkyness when the full HD vid is played directly from the USB. however it takes a long time to load the video.

I supposed the jerkiness is due to the network connection speed. There is no gigabit LAN for the x8300C only 100MBPs.

My Cheapo LG TV can can stream faster than this Sony.

No good man.........i am going to try wireless see ok or not.

xJoker

Connect my 8500b to sony br player s7200. So far no issue streaming from my com via both wired and wireless. Moreover upscaling and audio from the player is vastly superior as compared to the tv up scaling.

minute_me

You said good for 720p but no good for full hdb. Perhaps Sony wireless not fast enough.

I downloaded a 1080 youtube file and it manage to stream properly to the x8300C.

I wonder if there is something to do with the file.

the youtube vid has a data rate of 4151kbps while my other vid is twice or 9000kbps.

bit rate of youtube vid also 1/2 that of the vid that is not streaming properly.

frame rate 23 vs 29.

I m not sure if these are causing the jerky problem.

mrsun18

I downloaded a 1080 youtube file and it manage to stream properly to the x8300C.

the youtube vid has a data rate of 4151kbps while my other vid is twice or 9000kbps.

bit rate of youtube vid also 1/2 that of the vid that is not streaming properly.

frame rate 23 vs 29.

Based on what you have tried so far, I still feel that your wireless speed for streaming may not be good enough. Youtube is known to have reduced bit rate compared to the original video (you have verified). I called this a data compression because those full hd files that I uploaded all have the file sizes reduced. In one case it was from 110MB to 15.8MB. Looking at this from a different angle, it means a reduced data rate for youtube video. So you can stream it well while those files with higher bit rate were not so good. I believe frame rate has no effect on the streaming. It is the bit rate that counts.

The Sony eSupport provides information on how to test the speed of your Internet connection. This may be useful to verify your connection speed.

Edit: all along I have assumed that you are using wireless for streaming. If you are using wire, you may have to check the lan cable.

minute_me

Based on what you have tried so far, I still feel that your wireless speed for streaming may not be good enough. Youtube is known to have reduced bit rate compared to the original video (you have verified). I called this a data compression because those full hd files that I uploaded all have the file sizes reduced. In one case it was from 110MB to 15.8MB. Looking at this from a different angle, it means a reduced data rate for youtube video. So you can stream it well while those files with higher bit rate were not so good. I believe frame rate has no effect on the streaming. It is the bit rate that counts.

The Sony eSupport provides information on how to test the speed of your Internet connection. This may be useful to verify your connection speed.

Edit: all along I have assumed that you are using wireless for streaming. If you are using wire, you may have to check the lan cable.

I don't think there is anything wrong with my LAN cable.
When connected to my laptop, I am able to get gigabit lan. but when connected to my Sony X8300c, I am only getting 100MBPs.

I also have 2 LG TV connected to the network. One LG TV is connected to the network by a powerline adaptor (which has speed of less than 100mbps). I tried streaming the same full HD video from my NAS to this LG TV, again, stream smoothly, unlike the Sony TV which just jerk and can't even finish playing the video.

So that particular video when stream to 2 LG TV has no problem, but stream to the Sony TV, has problem. Should I call Sony centre ? I was going to get 2 more Sonys but I am afraid there will be the same problem when streaming high data rate videos.

mrsun18

When connected to my laptop, I am able to get gigabit lan. but when connected to my Sony X8300c, I am only getting 100MBPs.

I also have 2 LG TV connected to the network. One LG TV is connected to the network by a powerline adaptor (which has speed of less than 100mbps). I tried streaming the same full HD video from my NAS to this LG TV, again, stream smoothly, unlike the Sony TV which just jerk and can't even finish playing the video.

So that particular video when stream to 2 LG TV has no problem, but stream to the Sony TV, has problem. Should I call Sony centre ? I was going to get 2 more Sonys but I am afraid there will be the same problem when streaming high data rate videos.
If I were you I would have called Sony. Not sure if they will bill you if they found nothing wrong with the tv. But I know Samsung definitely charge for service rendered even during the warranty if there is nothing wrong with the set.

minute_me

If I were you I would have called Sony. Not sure if they will bill you if they found nothing wrong with the tv. But I know Samsung definitely charge for service rendered even during the warranty if there is nothing wrong with the set.

Service so lousy ? when i called LG to tell them about some problem, they will send people here to check. when they found nothing wrong also no charge.

killerl

My order of W850C from gain city 1 month liao, they still can't deliver yet... really is :s22::s22::s22:

@minute_me
I don't think its the limitation of ur connection, its the limitation of the transcoding hardware.
I'm running kodi on my w800c wireless-ly, it can't do any 10bit mkv (bad rendering, stuttering badly or it just doesn't play), but I can play 8bit mkv to ~9k bitrate perfectly fine (anything higher, it will need buffering time every few min).

From ur previous posts, i see u are using nas, if ur nas have satki cpu, u can try using plex, that way the transcoding will be done on ur nas's satki cpu, and tv should be able to play.

Wongpk

frame rate 23 vs 29.

media server which platform ?? any streaming apps ??

jsn124

No point calling Sony CIC. Their after-sales service is really bad and no sense of urgency. Keep pushing the ball between the dealer and themselves. My case of a new replacement set has not been resolved. 14 days and counting.

minute_me

My order of W850C from gain city 1 month liao, they still can't deliver yet... really is :s22::s22::s22:

@minute_me
I don't think its the limitation of ur connection, its the limitation of the transcoding hardware.
I'm running kodi on my w800c wireless-ly, it can't do any 10bit mkv (bad rendering, stuttering badly or it just doesn't play), but I can play 8bit mkv to ~9k bitrate perfectly fine (anything higher, it will need buffering time every few min).

From ur previous posts, i see u are using nas, if ur nas have satki cpu, u can try using plex, that way the transcoding will be done on ur nas's satki cpu, and tv should be able to play.

I am using DS414....dunno satki or not....but has no problem streaming the same full HD vid shot with my fuji cam to 2 LG TV, one is the LGUB850 and the other is low end LB series from 2 years ago.... smoothly. but stream to Sony latest x8300C cannot make it.

do you think it's still not Sony TV problem ? below is the details of the vid which cannot be stream properly.
11049614_10152882309066688_2944908464302456276_n.jpg

killerl

I think u need a 414+ or 414play to transcode those more hardcore format. :(

U upload the vid i see if i can play or not lor.

I think old tv uses dedicated processing chip to transcode these videos, and android tv uses arm processors which do a lot more than just transcode, but isn't that great at doing just transcoding??
I don't think Sony used a good arm processor for their tv also. :(

Maybe u can try streaming the video on ur android phone? since it uses arm processor as well.
If it doesn't work on ur phone as well, then ur vid format is just too op for mainstream arm processors. :(

Video encoded format plays a big part also, I can play 8bit mkv with 9k bitrate, I can't play 10bit mkv with 1k bitrate. :(

minute_me

I think u need a 414+ or 414play to transcode those more hardcore format. :(

U upload the vid i see if i can play or not lor.

I think old tv uses dedicated processing chip to transcode these videos, and android tv uses arm processors which do a lot more than just transcode, but isn't that great at doing just transcoding??
I don't think Sony used a good arm processor for their tv also. :(

Maybe u can try streaming the video on ur android phone? since it uses arm processor as well.
If it doesn't work on ur phone as well, then ur vid format is just too op for mainstream arm processors. :(

Video encoded format plays a big part also, I can play 8bit mkv with 9k bitrate, I can't play 10bit mkv with 1k bitrate. :(

I am actually going to use it as a digital signage that i can stream videos to.....seems like there are certain limitations for some videos with the Sony TV. Lucky I bought one to try first ...

playing direct from USB has no problem...I am going to try using the intel computestick see if I can go around the problem.

trancepot

anyone knows whats the latest deal for w800 50"? still able to get below 1.5k with the additional sony gifts? care to share where having the best deal. intending to grab 1 this week. thanks.

Wongpk

any owner of KDL-800C guide me on how to use the PIP feature.
when i click the PIP button on remote
"to use this feature, a system software update is required, please refer to reference guide"
I'm using the latest firmware PKG2.311.0010.PAA

TV need to have two DVB-T2 tuners then can watch 2 channels at the same time and it has 2 tuners. if only 1 DVB-T2 tuner then can only watch 1 ch

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.