Sony Xperia XZ

bigbadber

Help needed

I just checked, so this is what happened:

1) for my Z3 tablet:

I plugged it in, Windows 10 made a notification sound.

so i noticed at the taskbar notification that I have this option to remove/eject device.

however, I have yet to choose the options for what I want windows to do, whether to open a folder and view/trf files... or few other options.

Also, I have not chosen the option in my tablet, whether its MTP, or others ....

Sony Companion on my desktop tells me to choose MTP so I can transfer files.

so I did choose MTP.

once I've chosen this option, immediately the option to Eject device on my taskbar disappears.

2) for my Z3 phone:

its almost the same, when I plug it in, there is the same notification sound. I saw the option at the taskbar to Eject Device, but disappears immediately, I think cos my pc or the phone remembers that I usually choose MTP option.

so there you go, my desktop doesnt allow me to safely remove/eject my devices one I choose the MTP option.

how sia?

Help!

I plugged in my phone to my desktop windows 10.

but it doesnt show any icon for me to click to "safely remove device"

Sorry, not sure how to help you as it does appear on my windows 10 system.

Maybe it is inside the arrow icon? Or the remove device safely icon was set to hidden?

omelet

I just checked, so this is what happened:

1) for my Z3 tablet:

I plugged it in, Windows 10 made a notification sound.

so i noticed at the taskbar notification that I have this option to remove/eject device.

however, I have yet to choose the options for what I want windows to do, whether to open a folder and view/trf files... or few other options.

Also, I have not chosen the option in my tablet, whether its MTP, or others ....

Sony Companion on my desktop tells me to choose MTP so I can transfer files.

so I did choose MTP.

once I've chosen this option, immediately the option to Eject device on my taskbar disappears.

2) for my Z3 phone:

its almost the same, when I plug it in, there is the same notification sound. I saw the option at the taskbar to Eject Device, but disappears immediately, I think cos my pc or the phone remembers that I usually choose MTP option.

so there you go, my desktop doesnt allow me to safely remove/eject my devices one I choose the MTP option.

how sia?

That's interesting...
Can you try this?
http://m.winsupersite.com/windows-10/how-customize-autoplay-defaults-windows-10

marandaz

XZ is on my shortlist of phones. Would like to ask some questions..

> Is the Dual Sim 4G+3G or 4G+2G only?
> How is the battery life? Able to last through the day for you? (Understand this is subjective)
> for 64GB model, how much free storage are there by default?

dimitri_can

XZ is on my shortlist of phones. Would like to ask some questions..

> Is the Dual Sim 4G+3G or 4G+2G only?
> How is the battery life? Able to last through the day for you? (Understand this is subjective)
> for 64GB model, how much free storage are there by default?

4G+3G
Can last bout 1 day if u are not too much of a gamer...
50++ gb
cant remember too well le..

alienjeffman

Anyone can SIC full cover screen protector? The one I got only has adhesive on the side, it looks damn ugly:(

Searched for Imak screen protector because of Daniel's post and found this.

https://www.imak-hk.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=2315

It claims to be an upgraded version of tempered glass that is flexible, and will fit curved screens.

Maybe we can do a mass order. :)

bigbadber

OK thanks for replying.

but in rssd21's article, I cant find it anywhere where they say it's fine to just remove my hp from my desktop if no files are ongoing. i'll take your word for it.

but im curious,

does the absence of that 'Safely Remove USB device' icon also happens to you guys when you all choose the MTP option?

@BBB

The devices connected to computer via MTP mode does not have the option to "safely eject", as it works differently from MSC mode.

You can simply and safely remove your devices when no transfer is ongoing.

For more information of MTP mode.

http://www.howtogeek.com/192732/android-usb-connections-explained-mtp-ptp-and-usb-mass-storage/

Whitelion

Wah Lau eh.... The tempered glass screen protector kept popping out... Sibei irritating... Any good one to recommend??

omelet

OK thanks for replying.

but in rssd21's article, I cant find it anywhere where they say it's fine to just remove my hp from my desktop if no files are ongoing. i'll take your word for it.

but im curious,

does the absence of that 'Safely Remove USB device' icon also happens to you guys when you all choose the MTP option?

Alright, sorry for misinformation. I just replied based on my memories and I forgot that my PC always have the icon there as I am using AHCI mode on old motherboard...

Anyway, tested on XZ and Z4 Tablet, both of them does not have the icon "safe to remove device" option. Anyway, like what rssd21 mentioned, you can just pull out the cable if there is no file transfer going on. Have been doing that since my first android phone...

bigbadber

Alright, sorry for misinformation. I just replied based on my memories and I forgot that my PC always have the icon there as I am using AHCI mode on old motherboard...

Anyway, tested on XZ and Z4 Tablet, both of them does not have the icon "safe to remove device" option. Anyway, like what rssd21 mentioned, you can just pull out the cable if there is no file transfer going on. Have been doing that since my first android phone...

ok thank you.

my fren just confirmed that this is normal too.

cos i've only gotten my new desktop a few months ago, with win10.

before this, was using a very very very old desktop and windows. it had that icon to remove the device.

i thought this win10 of mine is a bit corrupted :s13:

rizal5150

damn aliexpress. ordered usb adapter and screen protector on 24 oct and 1 nov. till now no sign of them.

seller only tell me to wait. -.-
not gona pay for them.

rssd21

OK thanks for replying.

but im curious,

Sorry for not being clear in my earlier post.

Usually when recent version of Windows detect portable drive or storage device connected, it would display the safe to remove option.
This would be categorised as MSC mode.

When the computer detects the device connected as media device or cameras, it will not have option to safely remove the connected device.
This will be categorised as MTP mode.

This article should be more relevant.
http://www.howtogeek.com/69869/when-should-you-properly-eject-your-thumb-drive/

JAson1980

damn aliexpress. ordered usb adapter and screen protector on 24 oct and 1 nov. till now no sign of them.

seller only tell me to wait. -.-
not gona pay for them.

Its like that one la, i usually order already then forget about it.
When received, like receiving a surprise package like that.
Just keep a look out for buyer protection. Make sure it don't lapse until you received the package.

JAson1980

Sorry for not being clear in my earlier post.

Usually when recent version of Windows detect portable drive or storage device connected, it would display the safe to remove option.
This would be categorised as MSC mode.

When the computer detects the device connected as media device or cameras, it will not have option to safely remove the connected device.
This will be categorised as MTP mode.

This article should be more relevant.
http://www.howtogeek.com/69869/when-should-you-properly-eject-your-thumb-drive/

There is an eject option in Xperia companion.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.