Speakers Dilemma!

malenko

MX5021 also got hissing sound leh, hissing sound very irritating.. my mx5021 play sound also got hissing sound...

erwinrommel

These 2 models are considered good. MX5021 satellite speakers are clear and crisp while packs a powerful bass. It is THX certified as well.

Klipsch satellite speakers are even clearer. But its not easy to find. So far, I have hjeard this set of speakers at Funan Fuwell store.

Seriously, both sets are good. :)

M_16

when connecting to speakers via analogue, noise will be picked up from the audio cable one.

to enjoy noiseless conenction, go digital. been using my soundworks digital 2.1 for almost 8 years still going strong except for the stupid volume control always fail.

cimman305

if you really want good sound, get the following items:
1) USB DAC - Fubar II
2) Speaker Amplifier - Trends T amp or (tube amp ?:s12:)
3) Book shelf speakers - Wharfedale Diamond 9.0
4) Subwoofer - Wharfedale WH2

you'll get audiophile quality sound with the above components.
However, the next step is to know how to calibrate the subwoofer so that it blends in with the rest of the system. You can always take out the sub for the if you don't need the bass.

check this site for high end USB DACs:
http://www.wavelengthaudio.com/usbdac.html
all above US$1,700.

anyway, there are also a lot of affordable, good inexpensive USB DACs.

kcinthehouse

should i get a aego M or AudioEngine A2 for my pc and tv ? cannot get 5.1 cause room no space hahaha

deadsoul79

whats the diff between Promedia Ultra 2.1 and GMX A 2.1 ?

GMX bass and treble damn good...good for movies and music too. i played kenny g's songs, crank up the volume to 70% to max also no distortions. thumbs up for GMX :)

silthfire

promedia ultra is the best series from klipsch....not exactly sure abt the diff as i haven heard it myself

Those looking for budget 2.1 digital speaker (under $200), Edifier S330D is great, value for money. Just got mine from Skylet, $185. With optical output to the speaker, my PS3 games now feel so much better!

erwinrommel

whats the diff between Promedia Ultra 2.1 and GMX A 2.1 ?

GMX bass and treble damn good...good for movies and music too. i played kenny g's songs, crank up the volume to 70% to max also no distortions. thumbs up for GMX :)

Hmm... I heard the GMX at Funan Fuwell store. The mid-range and treble are OK, but not as sharp as I expect for that price range though. Maybe a sound card will help to make it sharper.

matoriv

how does the altec lansing fx6021 vs mx5021 compare?

from the specs, 5021 is more powerful but i prefer the design of 6021.

seems quite a few people reccommend 5021, is it becuz the 6021 too "old" and more ex?

matoriv

how does the altec lansing fx6021 vs mx5021 compare?

from the specs, 5021 is more powerful but i prefer the design of 6021.

seems quite a few people reccommend 5021, is it becuz the 6021 too "old" and more ex?

anyone knows?

frekuenzy

anyone has recommendations for 2.1 speakers ? preferably altec lansing.. my budget is 100 to 150. =) thanks !

pew

If got space constraints, get bookshelfs. If not, go for floorstands.

For PC usage, i guess using active speakers like studio monitors should probably suffice. Can save space on amps too. Normal MP3 playing should be good enough. Try Sinemax at Parklane.

For hi-fi then go Adelphi.

Bottom line, audition before buying. No test no buy. Pls dun just read good reviews then buy liao. I heard so many of those so call good sound system which sounded......mediocre. Pls try it out first. ;)
Wah, this thread still alive, and sticky some more

My 2 cents.

Actually bookshelf requires bigger space compared to floorstanders.
Bookshelf speakers are not meant to be placed on the table, but proper speaker stands. trust me, the difference is like heaven and hell. So, in terms of footprint are the same. Most bookshelf can handle low frequency very well (I dunno how to put it in 'audiophile' terms, so a sub might be required for bass. Floorstanders can handle a larger frequency range so you might be able to get away without sub.

If u have space constrain, or you are using it for PC, you shouldn't even be thinking of seperates (I myself am guilty of it last time)

First of all, PC speakers are meant to be listened at close range (there is a term of it, near field or something like that.)and for proper speaker, u need to position it properly so that u get the optimum. My bookshelves were placed way behind and away from my computer table so that I can get the optimum soundstage (I close my eyes, I can visualize the singer in front of me, drummer behind, guitarist at left side and bassist standing next of the guitarist (something like that, i hope u know what i am talking about) But even so, it's blocked by my computer table.

For seperates, u need a seperate amp (can go for integrated if u want simple. I just discovered that there is this USB DAC which bypass your crappy soundcard's DAC to ur amp. There is even a DAC cum amp (but might be enuff to drive ur speakers as it is meant for headphones) Cables make major difference also especially ur interconnect cables and good cables cost a bomb (I really mean a BOMB) Power supply also has to be very clean if u are particular. Hifi is a rich man's hobby. I am only talking about stereo setup. 5 channel or 7 channel setup is alot more than that.

For PC speakers, they are meant to be played in your face. and they are active speakers which means amplifier is integrated into the speakers already (that's y they require a seperate power plug)

If want to play high end, there is this pc speakers by dynaudio supposed to be bloody good but bloody expensive (dynaudio, wud do u expect)

Dun understand nvm, cuz getting late liao and i think i am typing rubbish.

wwenze

anyone knows?

MX5021 still better... the satellite drivers of FX6021 sound tinnish (cheapo).

Amazing this thread became sticky.

To add on to pew's post, actually there are much more external DACs than soundcards, and probably more USB DACs than soundcards.

By external DAC I mean something that can take in either USB or SPDIF or I2S input. Don't understand the last two nvm. Then there are DACs with headphone amps, speaker amps, with SPDIF in/out, with tubes, the combination is endless.

And usually they sound better than soundcards at the same price due to simplicity + better components. But no surround and effects except for very high-end ones.

fevernova

My 2 cents.

Bookshelf speakers are not meant to be placed on the table, but proper speaker stands. trust me, the difference is like heaven and hell. So, in terms of footprint are the same. Most bookshelf can handle low frequency very well (I dunno how to put it in 'audiophile' terms, so a sub might be required for bass. Floorstanders can handle a larger frequency range so you might be able to get away without sub.

If u have space constrain, or you are using it for PC, you shouldn't even be thinking of seperates (I myself am guilty of it last time)

First of all, PC speakers are meant to be listened at close range (there is a term of it, near field or something like that.)and for proper speaker, u need to position it properly so that u get the optimum. My bookshelves were placed way behind and away from my computer table so that I can get the optimum soundstage (I close my eyes, I can visualize the singer in front of me, drummer behind, guitarist at left side and bassist standing next of the guitarist (something like that, i hope u know what i am talking about) But even so, it's blocked by my computer table.

For seperates, u need a seperate amp (can go for integrated if u want simple. I just discovered that there is this USB DAC which bypass your crappy soundcard's DAC to ur amp. There is even a DAC cum amp (but might be enuff to drive ur speakers as it is meant for headphones) Cables make major difference also especially ur interconnect cables and good cables cost a bomb (I really mean a BOMB) Power supply also has to be very clean if u are particular. Hifi is a rich man's hobby. I am only talking about stereo setup. 5 channel or 7 channel setup is alot more than that.

For PC speakers, they are meant to be played in your face. and they are active speakers which means amplifier is integrated into the speakers already (that's y they require a seperate power plug)

If want to play high end, there is this pc speakers by dynaudio supposed to be bloody good but bloody expensive (dynaudio, wud do u expect)

You're talking about the Dynaudio MC15. It comes with an option to add in a Subwoofer called the SUB-250MC. Price wise its alright. Its around 2.1K now and can be purchased from Adelphi first floor dynaudio showroom.

I'm using one for my PC...
desktop.jpg

dynaudio.jpg

mc15.jpg

triple888

My 2 cents.

not really, a four feet length table will do, just add some spikes might do the trick -( for tighter bass) as for frequency ranges, think some bkshelves could manage that as well

all my set-ups are separates :s7:
First of all, PC speakers are meant to be listened at close range (there is a term of it, near field or something like that.)

yup, near field is the term and not necessary for pc speakers, passive do the job jusy as well
and for proper speaker, u need to position it properly so that u get the optimum. My bookshelves were placed way behind and away from my computer table so that I can get the optimum soundstage (I close my eyes, I can visualize the singer in front of me, drummer behind, guitarist at left side and bassist standing next of the guitarist (something like that, i hope u know what i am talking about) But even so, it's blocked by my computer table.
even with your eyes opened, you can hear the difference =:p

For seperates, u need a seperate amp (can go for integrated if u want simple. I just discovered that there is this USB DAC which bypass your crappy soundcard's DAC to ur amp.
you can connect your soundcard via the dac too

There is even a DAC cum amp (but might be enuff to drive ur speakers as it is meant for headphones) Cables make major difference also especially ur interconnect cables and good cables cost a bomb (I really mean a BOMB) Power supply also has to be very clean if u are particular. Hifi is a rich man's hobby. I am only talking about stereo setup. 5 channel or 7 channel setup is alot more than that.
yes, but with pc as source, it is very affordable really

again, not necessary to have exp or high-end speakers to enjoy music :s7:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.