Just to quickly share some calculations. Biz flights are not so much affected (4%-7% increase), but First/Suite increases much more (9%-10%).
Before
After
How can it be a 4-7% increase when the 15% online bonus is revoked ??
Because taxes are reduced. I am calculating based on cash equivalent costs for miles.
Yes. It's written there. =)
This goes back to the age old question on how much is a mile worth. Even if I can get my miles at zero cost, I would still value at 0.05 as that is the implied value I can derive from getting a J class seat.
I booked four business class tickets from SG to Perth yesterday. The "cash" part (which is airport tax) is cheap. I believed the miles needed are the same as before ? Hence I am better off for this change just for Perth, right ?
sian. kind of regret taking the afternoon flight to tokyo, reach there 2150H and gotta waste around 150 for the night's lodging. very pek chek to see the narita day flight open up after i booked my haneda afternoon flight.
Cancel and rebook? It's only $30 per pax.
sian. kind of regret taking the afternoon flight to tokyo, reach there 2150H and gotta waste around 150 for the night's lodging. very pek chek to see the narita day flight open up after i booked my haneda afternoon flight.
now rebook is new miles requirements...bo hua liaoCancel and rebook? It's only $30 per pax.
me and gf leh. convenient ah? maybe for 1 night worth trying lor. at least not so chor.Why didn't u consider staying at the Capsule hotel within Haneda ? It's only 6000¥ all in, including sauna. Quite an experience for me.
now rebook is new miles requirements...bo hua liao
This goes back to the age old question on how much is a mile worth. Even if I can get my miles at zero cost, I would still value at 0.05 as that is the implied value I can derive from getting a J class seat.
Edit: just to add on, SQ will charge you US$0.04 per mile if you are short. So S$0.05 is a fair value.
You said 'after you booked your HND flight' but did not specify how long after, so I assumed that it was released right after and you would be under old arrangement. If the NRT space was only released after 23rd, there's nothing to regret over because the difference in miles required + rebook fees will more than likely cover the $150 incurred for accommodation.
That said, getting to town from HND at 10pm is not the worst thing to do. The monorail and train both have their last departure at 12am, and the limo bus last departure is around 1am. Getting around central Tokyo at that time may be harder however, so if your hotel is not accessible then it might be better to stay in an airport hotel.