SQ Redemption Devaluation

spearhawk

Just to quickly share some calculations. Biz flights are not so much affected (4%-7% increase), but First/Suite increases much more (9%-10%).

Before
34q1axj.jpg

After
2zi78gk.jpg

elnewbie

How can it be a 4-7% increase when the 15% online bonus is revoked ??

Just to quickly share some calculations. Biz flights are not so much affected (4%-7% increase), but First/Suite increases much more (9%-10%).

Before
34q1axj.jpg

After
2zi78gk.jpg

elnewbie

This goes back to the age old question on how much is a mile worth. Even if I can get my miles at zero cost, I would still value at 0.05 as that is the implied value I can derive from getting a J class seat.

Edit: just to add on, SQ will charge you US$0.04 per mile if you are short. So S$0.05 is a fair value.

Yes. It's written there. =)

spearhawk

This goes back to the age old question on how much is a mile worth. Even if I can get my miles at zero cost, I would still value at 0.05 as that is the implied value I can derive from getting a J class seat.

I based it on the simple fact that one can easily buy miles redemption tickets at that rate or even lower. Although the implied value is much higher, we know miles sellers can't sell at the same cost as an actual cash ticket price.

vince123123

Theres probably a difference in valuation when you have to buy a mile, and when you redeem a mile. The latter is more difficult to value as it also includes the additional comfort of premium cabins. When buying a mile, one way to value is to see how much it costs for an economy trip in cash as the cheapest cash way to get from A to B and compare that with mile redemption in business. that of course completely disregards the comfort factor, but serves as a good "floor price" in the value of a mile.

civicguy

I booked four business class tickets from SG to Perth yesterday. The "cash" part (which is airport tax) is cheap. I believed the miles needed are the same as before ? Hence I am better off for this change just for Perth, right ?

OngHuatHuat

No more 15 % online discount.

I booked four business class tickets from SG to Perth yesterday. The "cash" part (which is airport tax) is cheap. I believed the miles needed are the same as before ? Hence I am better off for this change just for Perth, right ?

bladez87

sian. kind of regret taking the afternoon flight to tokyo, reach there 2150H and gotta waste around 150 for the night's lodging. very pek chek to see the narita day flight open up after i booked my haneda afternoon flight.

dahnoob

sian. kind of regret taking the afternoon flight to tokyo, reach there 2150H and gotta waste around 150 for the night's lodging. very pek chek to see the narita day flight open up after i booked my haneda afternoon flight.

Cancel and rebook? It's only $30 per pax.

fone

Cancel and rebook? It's only $30 per pax.

Plus after devaulation mileage requirement. $30 per pax, if 2 pax, $60 vs $150, then still need to consider the costs for getting from airport to city (HND should be cheaper and faster than NRT)

elnewbie

Why didn't u consider staying at the Capsule hotel within Haneda ? It's only 6000¥ all in, including sauna. Quite an experience for me.

bladez87

Why didn't u consider staying at the Capsule hotel within Haneda ? It's only 6000¥ all in, including sauna. Quite an experience for me.
me and gf leh. convenient ah? maybe for 1 night worth trying lor. at least not so chor.

dahnoob

now rebook is new miles requirements...bo hua liao

You said 'after you booked your HND flight' but did not specify how long after, so I assumed that it was released right after and you would be under old arrangement. If the NRT space was only released after 23rd, there's nothing to regret over because the difference in miles required + rebook fees will more than likely cover the $150 incurred for accommodation.

That said, getting to town from HND at 10pm is not the worst thing to do. The monorail and train both have their last departure at 12am, and the limo bus last departure is around 1am. Getting around central Tokyo at that time may be harder however, so if your hotel is not accessible then it might be better to stay in an airport hotel.

TribleBoob

Edit: just to add on, SQ will charge you US$0.04 per mile if you are short. So S$0.05 is a fair value.

they charge at 4 cents per mile, apparently u cannot sell higher than that. So I would price it below 4 cents

elnewbie

Not all limo bus routes operate that late. I once got into Haneda at 8pm and wanted to head to Urasayu but no more bus.

You said 'after you booked your HND flight' but did not specify how long after, so I assumed that it was released right after and you would be under old arrangement. If the NRT space was only released after 23rd, there's nothing to regret over because the difference in miles required + rebook fees will more than likely cover the $150 incurred for accommodation.

That said, getting to town from HND at 10pm is not the worst thing to do. The monorail and train both have their last departure at 12am, and the limo bus last departure is around 1am. Getting around central Tokyo at that time may be harder however, so if your hotel is not accessible then it might be better to stay in an airport hotel.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.