SRS Portfolio

andyhtc

This Ready LifeIncome (III) by DBS-Manulife looks good. Any comments? Will the payout also attract income tax?

Ready LifeIncome (III)​

At a Glance​

Ready LifeIncome (III), a whole life insurance income plan that provides yearly income that last for generations, starting from end of policy year 5 or year 10, up to age 120

015.png

Receive yearly income starting from end of policy year 5 or year 10, up to age 120. A boost in yearly income from policy year 25 onwards

003.png

Get a lump sum payout in the event of your retrenchment

040.png

Get covered for death and terminal illness up to age 120

026.png

Get a premium waiver upon total and permanent disability during premium payment term, while your coverage continues

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/insurance/endowment/income-stream-plans/ready-lifeincome-iii

Nofear40

There is a 2.5 year SGS bond coming in end Jan. Thinking of putting in the fresh SRS funds there. Is there a way to check the estimate yield?

BBCWatcher

If you invest 100K in good ETFs and keep it till retirement (i.e. 25-30 years), it will grow to 4000K!!
Probably not. S$100,000 growing to S$4,000,000 in 30 years requires a net CAGR of ~13.08%. S$200,000 growing to S$4,000,000 in 30 years (~10.50% CAGR) is a little more believable but still "a bold prediction."

BBCWatcher

If you want something fairly realistic try this:
  • $3,000/month savings
  • 7.5%/year average net returns
That'll result in about $4 million after 30 years. Faster if you can increase the $3,000/month periodically.

TehSi99

there has been a lack of those non-participating endowment plans these days... otherwise would have dumped them (SRS) in as they promise 100% capital guaranteed with quite good (3% p.a. or more) returns.

I won't wanna dump into ETF or any funds that don't guarantee capital. SRS is meant for retirement...

but that's just me heh.

Good point on SRS meant for retirement.

Based on CPF SA 4% as benchmark, i think very hard to find investments with zero to very low risk with 4% returns.

elvintay07

Don’t see SRS as a tool to do safe investment. Today if you are 32, what is the point of putting inside SSB? Then at age 42, what to do with the money? Start to put inside world index? Unless today you are 52, then it make sense. Personally some of my friends machiam lose their balls and suddenly switch from equities to SSB. And they are so young. Only 30+. From age 30 to 50+, all SRS goes to SSB? Serious or not. 😜

maumu

Don’t see SRS as a tool to do safe investment. Today if you are 32, what is the point of putting inside SSB? Then at age 42, what to do with the money? Start to put inside world index? Unless today you are 52, then it make sense. Personally some of my friends machiam lose their balls and suddenly switch from equities to SSB. And they are so young. Only 30+. From age 30 to 50+, all SRS goes to SSB? Serious or not. 😜
sometimes it's because there's lack of time to look around to fish for good yields... SSB is dump and park for 10 years can sleep easy at night. peace of mind. past one year has been great at 3.xx% yield instead of the 0.05% for doing nothing so of course many people flock to SSB...

once the rates start to drop below 3%, or 2.5% (ref. CPF) the interest will go down also. then maybe there are other more favourable products.

personally will only put SRS into "capital guarantee" products since it is for retirement. dun want to spend my old days waiting to recoup paper losses or to breakeven. won't ever get to sleep in peace.

elvintay07

sometimes it's because there's lack of time to look around to fish for good yields... SSB is dump and park for 10 years can sleep easy at night. peace of mind. past one year has been great at 3.xx% yield instead of the 0.05% for doing nothing so of course many people flock to SSB...

once the rates start to drop below 3%, or 2.5% (ref. CPF) the interest will go down also. then maybe there are other more favourable products.

personally will only put SRS into "capital guarantee" products since it is for retirement. dun want to spend my old days waiting to recoup paper losses or to breakeven. won't ever get to sleep in peace.
Like I say, if u r 52 then SSB at 3% is good. If you are 32, why waste time putting into SSB?

fr33d0m

There are multiple reasons to go with SSB while young.

1. everyone needs some allocation of fixed income.

2. SSB helps to earn while waiting for opportunity. It only takes $2 and at most 1 month to get the money back

TehSi99

Sgporeans are risk adverse bunch.
But at the same time, also FOMO bunch.

elvintay07

2. SSB helps to earn while waiting for opportunity. It only takes $2 and at most 1 month to get the money back
Cpf as fixed income not enough? Everyone kpkb say government make cpf compulsory and stop their warren buffet investment opportunity. Then suddenly got 1 group voluntary lock up their SRS to earn 3%. 😜!
This kind of risk don’t even dare to take. How to be entrepreneurs? No wonder property market need to cheong.

BBCWatcher

Don’t see SRS as a tool to do safe investment. Today if you are 32, what is the point of putting inside SSB?
A very good question!
sometimes it's because there's lack of time to look around to fish for good yields... SSB is dump and park for 10 years can sleep easy at night. peace of mind.
Except you can’t “sleep at night” because at 3.07% p.a. (on a 10 year hold) a Singapore Savings Bond is just not going to help you retire. It might slightly run ahead of inflation if Singapore dollar inflation eases back to 2.0% target, but even that’s a big if.

There’s another problem: if you “spend” some or all of your $200K SSB allotment within a SRS account (a very strange place!) what are you going to do when you actually need a vehicle for short-term savings goals like a wedding or home renovation — what SSBs are actually designed for? If the $200K limit is limiting you might earn less interest on your short-term savings, that’s what. Would earning less interest on short-term savings (raising the cost of your wedding or home renovation, for example) help you sleep at night?
It doesn’t usually work this way. What just happened to stock prices, for example? They’re at or near new record highs! Ooops.

Stop trying to time markets! This is a SRS account we’re talking about. It’s expressly a long-term account, for most people anyway. Contribute, move the dollars right away into a long-term investment, and then don’t look at it again until you’re approaching age 62.
Why do you need a “capital guarantee“ on a 30+ year account? You don’t! A capital guarantee is quite expensive, especially over 30+ years.
OK, but that’s called MBH here in Singapore, not SSBs. MBH will have better long-term performance than SSBs. Unless the credit markets in Singapore are completely, persistently broken, and that’s exceedingly unlikely.
How many people parking SRS dollars in SSBs do you think are waiting for the “right” price within the next 18 months to lob those dollars into DBS stock, for example? What percentage?
Cpf as fixed income not enough?
Another excellent question! The government is offering 4.08% (1Q2024) on CPF MA, SA, and RA. Why would you settle for 3.07% (tops)?
Everyone kpkb say government make cpf compulsory and stop their warren buffet investment opportunity. Then suddenly got 1 group voluntary lock up their SRS to earn 3%. 😜!
Hilarious, isn’t it?

Also hilarious there are some people rushing to pay off their 2.6% HDB loans as quickly as possible even when ~3.75% T-bills exist.

dngth

Not much value using SRS to invest in SSB unless you are nearing the statuory retirement age. With a long time horizon, you can afford to be more aggressive with SRS portfolio. I had invested a small amount in some of the SGX listed ETF, returns are not great. My greatest return come from blue chips equities such as local bank stocks which give good dividend while I wait for the stock price to appreciate.

As usual, DYOD.

TehSi99

Cpf as fixed income not enough? Everyone kpkb say government make cpf compulsory and stop their warren buffet investment opportunity. Then suddenly got 1 group voluntary lock up their SRS to earn 3%. 😜!
This kind of risk don’t even dare to take. How to be entrepreneurs? No wonder property market need to cheong.

Back to the basics.

SRS is for tax savings and use to money to invest for retirement.
Normally, it makes more sense if you are the high income group. Example, if taxable income above 80k, 10k into SRS saves you 1.15k in tax.
Need to do the math. Everyone is different.

kickass22

Probably not. S$100,000 growing to S$4,000,000 in 30 years requires a net CAGR of ~13.08%. S$200,000 growing to S$4,000,000 in 30 years (~10.50% CAGR) is a little more believable but still "a bold prediction."

Even then, SRS limit you to only 15300 per year for Singaporeans. So hard to reach the amount with that limitation. So kinda suprised they can get 4mil using SRS to invest.

BBCWatcher

This Ready LifeIncome (III) by DBS-Manulife looks good. Any comments? Will the payout also attract income tax?
That particular product is not fully SRS qualified. You might be able to buy that product with SRS dollars, but it would not lengthen the 10 year SRS withdrawal window because it‘s not a genuine life annuity. It has a terminal age: age 120. Sure, not too many people live to age 120, but any terminal age disqualifies the product for these specific purposes. So in the 10th year of payouts the entire remaining value of the policy would be deemed withdrawn, subject to income tax on 50% of the deemed withdrawn amount.

BBCWatcher

Even then, SRS limit you to only 15300 per year for Singaporeans. So hard to reach the amount with that limitation. So kinda suprised they can get 4mil using SRS to invest.
It’s difficult to get to $4 million by age 63 in a SRS account alone. Not altogether impossible, though. Starting early (age 25 for example) and with the higher foreigner contribution limit would both help. The foreigner contribution limit is $35,700 per year. Do that for 30 years with circa 7.7%/year average net returns and that’d get you to about $4 million. Whereupon you’d have to pay some income tax on your withdrawals, of course.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.