SRS Portfolio

JetStorm

Cpf as fixed income not enough? Everyone kpkb say government make cpf compulsory and stop their warren buffet investment opportunity. Then suddenly got 1 group voluntary lock up their SRS to earn 3%. 😜!
This kind of risk don’t even dare to take. How to be entrepreneurs? No wonder property market need to cheong.
Im using my CPF as my FI component of portfolio. Every cash & SRS investments all whack into equities. Currently still very bond heavy as Im using 110-my age for Equities portion.

Nofear40

It’s difficult to get to $4 million by age 63 in a SRS account alone. Not altogether impossible, though. Starting early (age 25 for example) and with the higher foreigner contribution limit would both help. The foreigner contribution limit is $35,700 per year. Do that for 30 years with circa 7.7%/year average net returns and that’d get you to about $4 million. Whereupon you’d have to pay some income tax on your withdrawals, of course.
Maybe year2013 can enlighten us
lol

elvintay07

Im using my CPF as my FI component of portfolio. Every cash & SRS investments all whack into equities. Currently still very bond heavy as Im using 110-my age for Equities portion.
I used to be 100% equities on SRS. In 2023, I do a bit of 25% SSB and 75% equities. 25% is for me to all in equities in ever a 1997, 2008, 2020 happen again. But very difficult to time market.

JetStorm

Actually with high interest rates in banks now, why need to do SSB ah? You maxed out the 100ks on all the banks already?

s0crates

Good point on SRS meant for retirement.

Based on CPF SA 4% as benchmark, i think very hard to find investments with zero to very low risk with 4% returns.

That's just mental accounting. The way I see it, because it's for long term investing, you should take risk, but only compensated risk, for your retirement.

Why do we have a irrational obsession with tying retirement with risk free savings??

andyhtc

That's just mental accounting. The way I see it, because it's for long term investing, you should take risk, but only compensated risk, for your retirement.

Why do we have a irrational obsession with tying retirement with risk free savings??

Coffin money better don't risk too much, unless you have another safety net elsewhere.

E,g. Many elderly had part of their life savings wiped out by Hyflux perpetual bonds.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/c...ores-hyflux-investors-facing-near-total-loss/

sohguanh

Coffin money better don't risk too much, unless you have another safety net elsewhere.

E,g. Many elderly had part of their life savings wiped out by Hyflux perpetual bonds.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/c...ores-hyflux-investors-facing-near-total-loss/
The investment advice I always preach is diversify so even if you are very old every single investment instrument never all in should be fine. For your post it is same leave some for coffin monies (if those not already "scammed" by own ppl hahaha)

fr33d0m

Cpf as fixed income not enough? Everyone kpkb say government make cpf compulsory and stop their warren buffet investment opportunity. Then suddenly got 1 group voluntary lock up their SRS to earn 3%. 😜!
This kind of risk don’t even dare to take. How to be entrepreneurs? No wonder property market need to cheong.
LOL. SSB is not locked like CPF SA, okay? Fixed income does not mean holding it forever. Fixed income is to help you reduce the volatility in short to mid term and reinvest accordingly. Every investment vehicle has its own utility. It all depends on how you utilize it.

elvintay07

LOL. SSB is not locked like CPF SA, okay? Fixed income does not mean holding it forever. Fixed income is to help you reduce the volatility in short to mid term and reinvest accordingly. Every investment vehicle has its own utility. It all depends on how you utilize it.
My group of bear friends has missed the boat since 2009. They think JPM will become like Lehman. 2020 they also missed the boat when market crash. 2023 they shouted crash again but didn’t managed to deploy. They think next year (2024) will crash, if not 2025. Else they bet their bird on 2026. Don’t say SSB cap. Their money alone can fill up a few coffin. I think probably no hope to deploy. That is the human nature. My other gangho group is always in the market. Haha! Bull or bear all inside

fr33d0m

My group of bear friends has missed the boat since 2009. They think JPM will become like Lehman. 2020 they also missed the boat when market crash. 2023 they shouted crash again but didn’t managed to deploy. They think next year (2024) will crash, if not 2025. Else they bet their bird on 2026. Don’t say SSB cap. Their money alone can fill up a few coffin. I think probably no hope to deploy. That is the human nature. My other gangho group is always in the market. Haha! Bull or bear all inside

you don't know how to utilize a vehicle, it is completely fine. The government does not create a vehicle for you only. LOL.

Leave it to the ones who know how to utilize.

year2013

Maybe year2013 can enlighten us
lol
Haha, see if someone has invested $100K at the age of 30 and stock market give return of say 12% annually (which is not impossible)..do maths and see return at age of 63, it will be $4000K

elvintay07

Haha, see if someone has invested $100K at the age of 30 and stock market give return of say 12% annually (which is not impossible)..do maths and see return at age of 63, it will be $4000K
Some ppl humji. $200k park in simi bonds. If park $5m then ok la. If government can give u risk free 3%, they got ways to make 10%. lol! And we think we take 3% sibei smart

sohguanh

Such postings have been around for ages but in reality it can be hard to be practised simply because of human psychology. When it is in deep red colour one tend not to enter or sell at a loss. Very few follow the advice faithfully to buy when super red or hold on long term etc

Just an e.g I was collecting S-Reit for a while back and some readers say wait. Now some say can go in. When I see them go in I stop as prices move up slightly above my comfortable level.

BBCWatcher

what do you guys invest using SRS$? S27?
I suggest MBH and/or (ES3 or G3B) in most cases. These ETFs are reasonably low cost and reasonable choices for SRS dollars assuming you’re planning to retire in Singapore. Outside your SRS account I’d focus on a low cost global stock index fund such as IWDA, VWRA, or ISAC.

S27 has some tax issues for most people. It’s subject to 30% dividend withholding tax and is U.S. estate taxable. It’s possibly a good fit for U.S. persons with SRS accounts, but there aren’t many such people.

sgmegadeals

I just deposited some funds into SRS, for 2024 tax relief must wait until 01 jan to use for investment or now before 31 Dec can use?

TehSi99

you don't know how to utilize a vehicle, it is completely fine. The government does not create a vehicle for you only. LOL.

Leave it to the ones who know how to utilize.

If govt create a vehicle for all to be profitable, nobody wants to work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.