ST Engineering

dork32

staff of st eng confirm buy their shares meh?

eh, u say aberdeen and temasek also support u la. since they also vested in ST Eng.

but then hor, the rest of the market doesnt support you lor.

if you read the corporate action page of sgx. you will see many staff exercising their stock options.

Jazzbie

Buying STE at $3.25 is good value to me. I do not expect it to go up significantly but am happy to hold it long term for dividends.

Buying Silverlake at less than $1 is also good value. But I will expect it to go up and will sell once it hits target price. So far it is still quite depressed but I can also look forward to the dividends while waiting.

Vested in both STE and Silverlake but for different reasons. You guys do not need to be so extreme in your thoughts.

Keverus

if you read the corporate action page of sgx. you will see many staff exercising their stock options.

i am not certain, but i am pretty sure big companies have employee share system. essentially, is almost sure win. some do it in a way that when they sell, chao chao will be at the price they bought. or they buy at a discount to market value. so staff exercising stock options is not a big reflection of their confidence.

dork32

to sum up. yes, my post is super bias towards st eng. you are right. it is not that rosy. but it is also not a lousy counter. this is a stable dividend share.

same thing kev posts are super bias against st eng. i just wanted to show that he is very bias. in the process, my comments became very bias.

this counter is not for kev, he wants excitement. it is meant for people that want stability.

st eng does form a small part of my portfolio. i will never bet my entire fortune on this counter

dork32

i am not certain, but i am pretty sure big companies have employee share system. essentially, is almost sure win. some do it in a way that when they sell, chao chao will be at the price they bought. or they buy at a discount to market value. so staff exercising stock options is not a big reflection of their confidence.

i got relative working in st aerospace. she holding 150 000 shares of st eng. many of her colleagues are doing the same.

dork32

Buying STE at $3.25 is good value to me. I do not expect it to go up significantly but am happy to hold it long term for dividends.

Buying Silverlake at less than $1 is also good value. But I will expect it to go up and will sell once it hits target price. So far it is still quite depressed but I can also look forward to the dividends while waiting.

Vested in both STE and Silverlake but for different reasons. You guys do not need to be so extreme in your thoughts.

very sensible comments. i have nothing against silverlake as well. i just used it to highlight how bias kev is.

i will not be surprised if you make money for both counters.

Mecisteus

employees exercise because they were given discounts to market prices. who doesnt like discounts?

frankly speaking, STE is fully valued or a hold to me at current price. if you look at the past 3 to 4 years, revenues and profits have been stagnant. the only yummy thing that investors are attracted is because of the high payout and dividends. unlikely to be sustainable unless STE can demonstrate consistent profit growths.

dork32

i got relative working in st aerospace. she holding 150 000 shares of st eng. many of her colleagues are doing the same.

you are right that the counter may be overpriced at times. a few months ago she told me she sold 20000 at 3.7x. the next day i off load everything at 3.8x. despite selling she is still holding onto quite a lot of it.

dork32

employees exercise because they were given discounts to market prices. who doesnt like discounts?

frankly speaking, STE is fully valued or a hold to me at current price. if you look at the past 3 to 4 years, revenues and profits have been stagnant. the only yummy thing that investors are attracted is because of the high payout and dividends. unlikely to be sustainable unless STE can demonstrate consistent profit growths.

you could be right. at least, it is not a "sell" counter to you. hold counters usually have stable price like what many of us have stated.

i agree that money could be better deployed into the "buy" counters

Keverus

frankly speaking, i'm not upset or anything. this is all pretty entertaining to me :s13:

dork32

to me, as long as eps > dividend per share, the scheme is sustainable.

Perisher

frankly speaking, i'm not upset or anything. this is all pretty entertaining to me :s13:

After watching the show for so long, when a guy says something something... probably means the opposite. :s8:

Too late to quote others but the idea is there.

Keverus

@ perisher: dont want to quote u, cuz got vid. but hahahaha.

and seriously, Kroger..issit a buy?

Keverus

what do you mean by fully valued? in terms of dbs vickers, that means sell call....ie. dork32 misunderstood.

and i fully agree with you about the unsustainability of high divs. EPS 17 cents, payout 15? i rly dont know how they intend to do this magic.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.