<ST Forum>Bus driver continued journey even though air-conditioning was not working

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

tomsss

she should have alighted and boarded the next bus and then claim the overcharge fees from sbs. i mean, isnt that what most rational people would do? some more she has history of asthma. Seems like she did get off at some "remote stop", so i assume she did board the next bus. Actually, is there really a need to write in to complain about this?
entitled attitude

just because she didn't do anything wrong or out of the norm, she thinks she didn't deserve the experience that she had (paid for only simple bus trip, but get sauna as well). She is also expecting companies to look out for commuters (like herself with asthma) and have a standby contingency plan for breakdowns to ensure little to no distruption to commuter travelling time and experience.

basically she thinks the world revolves around her

focus1974

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-even-though-air-conditioning-was-not-working

I had the misfortune of boarding SBS service 121 on April 3 around 7.20pm.

It was only after it had left the bus stop that I realised there was no air-conditioning and no opening for ventilation.

When the bus driver confirmed that the air-conditioning was not working and that the service was continuing, I asked if he could open the doors for ventilation.

He said the doors could be opened only at bus stops.

I decided to endure the ride till it reached my destination at Tiong Bahru MRT station, given the heavy downpour and my lack of familiarity with the bus route in the dark.

With my history of asthma, I did my best and pulled out a fan to circulate the air around me.

But the lack of air circulation got to me and I had to get off at some remote stop.

No satisfactory response came from SBS Transit following my report of the incident.

The bus driver should have stopped as soon as possible and not allowed any boarding once the air-conditioning broke down.

SBS should take steps to prevent something like this from happening again and not just apologise for any distress or inconvenience caused.

Molly Lim
ah... this brings back memories of by gone years...
when buses were naturally aerated (lol).
And when there's rain, everyone closes the windows...
and we have to endure the journey with stuffy air inside...

yildun

I feel her complaint is justified. Vehicle aircon seldom breakdown suddenly.
The bus captain is in charge of checking and ensuring the bus is in good functional state before starting the trip.

The company also need to send their buses for regular maintenance, including aircon.

I feel this is a deteoriation of service standard, putting unserviceable buses on the road to meet some bus frequency KPI.

pohw0008

I feel her complaint is justified. Vehicle aircon seldom breakdown suddenly.
The bus captain is in charge of checking and ensuring the bus is in good functional state before starting the trip.

The company also need to send their buses for regular maintenance, including aircon.

I feel this is a deteoriation of service standard, putting unserviceable buses on the road to meet some bus frequency KPI.
Taken before.. really quite discomfort and will sweat kind.. don't understand why people can act like nothing happened.. no one complain etc.. 😂

Kaylin

get down the bus, take down the bus plate no, write in to compensate :( endure SMLJ

newcell

Encountered too, buses with poor air-conditioning, digital display dim not readable during bright sunlight, some driver attitude seriously needs improving - why jerk at every stop/start at bus stop.

Bus operators don't border to monitor and inspect their service delivery.

Elfblade

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-even-though-air-conditioning-was-not-working

It was only after it had left the bus stop that I realised there was no air-conditioning and no opening for ventilation.

When the bus driver confirmed that the air-conditioning was not working and that the service was continuing, I asked if he could open the doors for ventilation.

I decided to endure the ride till it reached my destination at Tiong Bahru MRT station, given the heavy downpour and my lack of familiarity with the bus route in the dark.

With my history of asthma, I did my best and pulled out a fan to circulate the air around me.

But the lack of air circulation got to me and I had to get off at some remote stop.

No satisfactory response came from SBS Transit following my report of the incident.

The bus driver should have stopped as soon as possible and not allowed any boarding once the air-conditioning broke down.

SBS should take steps to prevent something like this from happening again and not just apologise for any distress or inconvenience caused.

Molly Lim
Whining like a Karen Lim. :censored:

win_man

Then alight and change to another bus la. Still want to ask driver to open door? LOL

I ever kena bus 12 many years ago also no aircon just alight and wait for next bus or go to another number.

Sibeihaolian

she should have alighted and boarded the next bus and then claim the overcharge fees from sbs. i mean, isnt that what most rational people would do? some more she has history of asthma. Seems like she did get off at some "remote stop", so i assume she did board the next bus. Actually, is there really a need to write in to complain about this?
Boh liao comprain when ownself can resolve. Not comfortable just disembark and wait for the next one. What bus stop so ulu on her route until can be called remote. Driver have to carry on if not kena comprain why the wait so long for bus or those already on and rushing for time… sibei ji siao, say raining expect driver to drive with door open, dangerous also…

batuchka

tbh in same situation i would rather reach my destination in discomfort then add possibly a huge delay? as a goodwill gesture the bus coy could waive the fare and/or offer NTUC vouchers and the like haha

grevq80o

Molly Lim
She can Always alight. Like when I cannot stand the smell of peepur from a certain countries. I step away. Yar ish to my detriment, but my nose ish no longer suffer

eflash

Molly Lim

I had the experience taking the sbs bus which air con had broken down... Inside was so hot that there was condensation on the windows because outside was cooler.

From the outside it appeared that the bus air con was so cold that the windows are fogged but it is actually the reverse.

But it was late at night... So I endured the trip, alighted the bus sweating...

PaulLevesque

Name molly but behave like karen. Not happy alight and wait for the next bus lah. People driving with doors opened then chut tai chi she answer ah

Kunkka

Molly Lim
Lol azthmas is pes c condition meh

dambio

Last week i also encountered.
Basket, driver either oblivion to the stuffy heat blowing out from the air vent or he having a fever feeling cold. Best part is halfway route, another off duty bus captain boarded the bus and just kept chatting with driver, also oblivion to the heat
Ur 1 still got air blowing. Tis case says not working. How to breathe? 😂

li9ht5peed

aircon gas went up 40% over the last 2 years. with trump tariffs, it will get worse. one aircon gas refill for a bus costs at least $40. replacing the condenser, evaporator, piping and compressor costs at least $2k excluding labor. it will bankrupt any transport company if this happens frequently. if you noticed, singapore malaysia coaches are mostly from volvo and are replaced after 5 yrs (my guess). i doubt it can last 10 yrs without expensive repairs. these coaches easily cost $500k each. so it's very difficult to turn a profit when it breaks down frequently. european coaches tend to be more reliable than china made, and can go at sustained 120kmh along NS hwy. it's really well made

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.