Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

sango65

am i the only one that dont mind paying annual fee?

for the service, convenience etc...
only pay annual fees if the card is prestige card or earning miles. For other normal cards (with no extra benefit after paying annual fees), no point wasting money to pay annual fees.

DigDub

Any banks reserve the rights not to waive the annual fees. It is in the T&C.
Of course they have their rights. If they feel so strongly about enforcing it, then losing customers to competitors and gaining a bad reputation for their services should also be within their expectation also.

Evil_Boss

only pay annual fees if the card is prestige card or earning miles. For other normal cards (with no extra benefit after paying annual fees), no point wasting money to pay annual fees.

tbh all these is small money for the convenience, just pay lo.

Sirus88

Last time I encountered also with stanchart. Say must pay the annual fees then can cancel. I called again another CSO picked up and waived. Immediately cancelled after that and no more stanchart for me. Lack of standards.
U gave me hope ... I decided to call up again and this time I spoke to a very soft spoken nice Chinese CSO gentleman ... He was so reassuring and told me no worries .. he checked I cleared all my outstanding balances and will cancel the card for me ...... the only thing is the balance of rebates will be forfeited ...... better then paying the $200++ for annual fee!!

All done in 5mins .... He made my day .... even wish me a wonderful weekend ahead and ask if there is anything else he can assist me ..... I feel so blessed to have this encounter with him ..... the earlier aggressive one was a very brash fellow !!!!

pohw0008

I had the same exp few year ago and got outstanding balance inside. The CS told me can cancel the card only if there no outstanding balance and I had to pay the annual fee in order to enable the card again and make the payment. Heng, I used the card for some of my spending that year can wavie.

Basically, the CS also cannot do anything, card kena disabled. They are low level staff following policy to ask you to pay and enable the cable.
How long nvr used then will kanna disabled.. by right should have sent email regarding that the card will be disabled..

Dudick

Thought many EDMWers like Japan and Aus? Then you all should be comfortable with no credit card annual fee wavier.

zuppeur

U gave me hope ... I decided to call up again and this time I spoke to a very soft spoken nice Chinese CSO gentleman ... He was so reassuring and told me no worries .. he checked I cleared all my outstanding balances and will cancel the card for me ...... the only thing is the balance of rebates will be forfeited ...... better then paying the $200++ for annual fee!!

All done in 5mins .... He made my day .... even wish me a wonderful weekend ahead and ask if there is anything else he can assist me ..... I feel so blessed to have this encounter with him ..... the earlier aggressive one was an Indian fellow ..... very brash fellow ... even told me he don't believe in sugar coating his words and just wants to manage my expectations!! Such a load of CRAP!!!!

u heng if not 200+ fly kite. a few people appeal also got rejected. cs give them some link to their tnc.

hwarzoner

Only local sg bank don't wanna waive, dbs, uob, ocbc, i jitao just cancelled all.

tidiii

moi heard b4 that banks will try to daiji and charge u annual fee only if the card is special 1

or u use the card to buy those monthly installments things so they know they can push u to pay it

XiaoJinLing

So far for me only ocbc (ntuc plus card then) snd diners (didn't used so they cancelled) cannot waived... so we cancelled ... they waived the fees and i had to pay all other remaining and block the card and after I cleared the payment they cancel away the card officially lor

No where got like hv to pay the fees to cancel wan...

lousydk

Just 1 or 2 months I cancelled a diners cc no issues
Seldom use liao then comes annual fee, but diners only give 50% waiver of annual fee at most, cannot full waiver even after I request further and decided to just cancel, the call centre cso was helpful and just closed the account for me directly, all done with a phone call

DigDub

All done in 5mins .... He made my day .... even wish me a wonderful weekend ahead and ask if there is anything else he can assist me ..... I feel so blessed to have this encounter with him ..... the earlier aggressive one was an Indian fellow ..... very brash fellow ... even told me he don't believe in sugar coating his words and just wants to manage my expectations!! Such a load of CRAP!!!!
Yes same. But it was an Indian lady, like reading from script and cannot even hear clearly from her accent. Called again and think kena msia or sg call desk agent, much better and can waive.

Atomcular

Please tell me how u do it .. I was on the line with the CSO today for half an hour and the guy just refuse to do it!
Super Hao Lian somemore ... tell me this is the bank's policy and the statement date begins on 10 March 24 .. I have already used their service so I'm liable to pay.

I have already paid all my outstanding bills ... only the annual fee I refuse to pay!!

It is ridiculous ..... the statement date is 10 March 24 .... how the hell u know when the annual cycle starts??
I think it depends on diff CS. I told him no matter wat I am not going to pay. I asked him back if change to him who is not gonna use the card anymore, will he even pay annual fees. He was dumbfounded. He still stupidly to ask me pay first then he will waive off. I scolded him back wat if I pay and bank don't return me back?! I keep emphasise I not going pay n will ignore the bills. Then he just waive off

zuppeur

I think it depends on diff CS. I told him no matter wat I am not going to pay. I asked him back if change to him who is not gonna use the card anymore, will he even pay annual fees. He was dumbfounded. He still stupidly to ask me pay first then he will waive off. I scolded him back wat if I pay and bank don't return me back?! I keep emphasise I not going pay n will ignore the bills. Then he just waive off

you are lucky cso finally gave in. suppose you dont pay, you will be slap with late payment and interest charge.

interest charge will be a killer even if you late payment 1 day. the interest will be charge from the transaction date and that is how the outstanding amount ballon. apart from that credit rating will be affected.

Sirus88

Yes same. But it was an Indian lady, like reading from script and cannot even hear clearly from her accent. Called again and think kena msia or sg call desk agent, much better and can waive.
Now that we share our SCB call center experiences .... I see parallels ...... non local CSO maybe trying to make an impression that they are the GOLD standard!

Yes ... my subsequent call was by a local CSO .... can tell from his accent ..... Ka Ki Lang ..... more empathetic ...

lalalalalala

Please tell me how u do it .. I was on the line with the CSO today for half an hour and the guy just refuse to do it!
Super Hao Lian somemore ... tell me this is the bank's policy and the statement date begins on 10 March 24 .. I have already used their service so I'm liable to pay.

I have already paid all my outstanding bills ... only the annual fee I refuse to pay!!

It is ridiculous ..... the statement date is 10 March 24 .... how the hell u know when the annual cycle starts??
Lol if never lost the card then the af cycle is your expiry date month. Else u can always check your statement anytime since it's real time for every charge.

Or just put calendar reminder la

Ye_Rongtian

Now that we share our SCB call center experiences .... I see parallels ...... non local CSO maybe trying to make an impression that they are the GOLD standard .. can help the bank make more $$$ by forcing customers to pay! SO next time play hang up when u encounter a non local CSO!!

Yes ... my subsequent call was by a local CSO .... can tell from his accent ..... Ka Ki Lang ..... more empathetic ...
Now I am going to call up the banks and check when is my annual fee due ..... wah scared lah .. if all start charging annual fees within a span of few months ..... i am going to be broke coz I have a couple of cards ....
Why you never change your cc to those without annual fee? Or u using those cards to accumulate miles?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.