Standchart eSaver

devion

Yes my SCB account was eventually closed by the bank, even after providing the police report that my account was not involved in any scam. I am still able to use my SCB credit card though & online login.
If there is money inside the freeze account, better to head down to the branch & speak to a more senior bank employee for advice.
My 1st time was handled by a teller & she straight told me acct can never been unfrozen for such case even with a police report.
Then I found somewhere that u can still unfreeze e online account with a police report. So I confirmed with CSO via chat if am not wrong. I headed back down & this time another teller took in my police report, after some wait, my online access was available, but I dun believe my bank acct can be used though am able to see the transactions inside.
After a few weeks, receive a letter from the bank stated that my savings acct will be closed. Any amount inside would be cashed out back to me which was almost zero for my acct.

DevilPlate

Yes my SCB account was eventually closed by the bank, even after providing the police report that my account was not involved in any scam. I am still able to use my SCB credit card though & online login.
If there is money inside the freeze account, better to head down to the branch & speak to a more senior bank employee for advice.
My 1st time was handled by a teller & she straight told me acct can never been unfrozen for such case even with a police report.
Then I found somewhere that u can still unfreeze e online account with a police report. So I confirmed with CSO via chat if am not wrong. I headed back down & this time another teller took in my police report, after some wait, my online access was available, but I dun believe my bank acct can be used though am able to see the transactions inside.
After a few weeks, receive a letter from the bank stated that my savings acct will be closed. Any amount inside would be cashed out back to me which was almost zero for my acct.
So basically, js wait till the bank refund u the money after u are clear of any investigation?

vincelee

I went down to SC branch this morning, and they advise that I close my esaver account, cos they cannot unblock it even with the police report. So i just proceed to close it and get the money back. Had to do that, if not how to pay the bills, especially with CNY coming. However I still can't access my internet banking. Only after 60 days. So right now I have to call them up if I wanna check on my CC bills. Maybe I should also cancel my SC credit card, since the cashback benefits is so little.

vsvs24

I went down to SC branch this morning, and they advise that I close my esaver account, cos they cannot unblock it even with the police report. So i just proceed to close it and get the money back. Had to do that, if not how to pay the bills, especially with CNY coming. However I still can't access my internet banking. Only after 60 days. So right now I have to call them up if I wanna check on my CC bills. Maybe I should also cancel my SC credit card, since the cashback benefits is so little.
Then your salary how ? You managed to stop in time from going into esaver ?

ctan84

Can teach me how u nudge your RM?
my RM said esaver invite is not within his control so he can't do anything.
I merely just msged him on why I didn't get the e-invite, he said would check for me and 2 days later the invite came liao loh.

devion

Not sure. I did update my HR. But not sure whether they will change in time, cos I think this Friday they will credit the salary.
I believe for blocked acct, no funds can be credited in. U can easily try to do a $1 xfer into this acct to confirm.
If so, your salary credit will fail & u can check with HR on the failed salary credit & provide an alternate bank.

1l92041H

I believe for blocked acct, no funds can be credited in. U can easily try to do a $1 xfer into this acct to confirm.
If so, your salary credit will fail & u can check with HR on the failed salary credit & provide an alternate bank.
Did u find out what hapaoned to your account to justify the closure?

Any guess?

wutawa

I tried when i went down to the branch, but they say they didn't know too. Or maybe they do but just don't wanna share too much
U did all u can and even tried asking it here. Just move on to another bank that is more suitable for u.

damnit

SCB locking customer accounts is the primary reason I gave up on them. I worked in a bank before so I understand why they are doing this. However, to lock customers money for up to 60 days is simply ridiculous whatever the reason. Especially if you a long term customer. I have not heard of other banks doing this to their long time customers.

So whatever promos they have now, I won't be putting my funds (around $500k) with SCB.

damnit

Nothing wrong to post here. Good to know for info.

I agreed this is for awareness.

For my case, I had a home loan with SCB. As the interest rate was increasing too high and the loan was less than $250k, I decided to fully pay up for my loan. As such, I transfer from another local bank (not crypto exchange) to SCB so that I can fully pay up for my home loan. There are no other transactions on my account as I used it only for home loan payments.

A few days later, they lock my account as a priority banking customer.

WTF is all I can say to SCB.

item2sell

For my case, I had a home loan with SCB. As the interest rate was increasing too high and the loan was less than $250k, I decided to fully pay up for my loan. As such, I transfer from another local bank (not crypto exchange) to SCB so that I can fully pay up for my home loan. There are no other transactions on my account as I used it only for home loan payments.

did you transfer from your own bank account or third party bank account.

when I move 200k from my own uob to my own hsbc. Anti fraud call me

DevilPlate

If from another bank (own name), shouldn’t be.
I got called up asking the source of fund (greater than yr 250k) before but never kena lock up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.