Standchart eSaver

deemax

Yeah, SCB control is the most troublesome. Lock you out of online banking and ask you to contact them. When you call them, the operator can only note down and ask you to wait for their call with no timeline given.

OCBC block the transfer and call you to verify within 15mins. Pretty good.

DBS will hold the transfer and only release it 24hrs later if you don't call them to cancel the transfer.

So far, these are my encounters.

addict951

Eh do not one shot transfer 50K, 100K
Will tio block one
Do it in smaller amounts multiple times
I nv got block like that.
Say total 100K. Start wif 1K, then 5K, then 15K, then 20K, etc. but dun do 50k hor.

Mickey01

Eh do not one shot transfer 50K, 100K
Will tio block one
Do it in smaller amounts multiple times
I nv got block like that.
Say total 100K. Start wif 1K, then 5K, then 15K, then 20K, etc. but dun do 50k hor.
it depends on the bank you are making the transfer out from.

For a certain bank, this is a sign of scamming - rapid transfer out and depleting of bank account balance. This is worst than a single large sum transfer in my opinion :)

Mickey01

Yeah, SCB control is the most troublesome. Lock you out of online banking and ask you to contact them. When you call them, the operator can only note down and ask you to wait for their call with no timeline given.

DBS will hold the transfer and only release it 24hrs later if you don't call them to cancel the transfer.

OCBC blocked my transfer today .... a popup message indicate "for security reasons blah blah blah .... indicate will notify via call or push notifications within 6 hours when the review is completed"

You can expedite it by calling CSO - answer a few questions and the CSO will help notify the fraud team and OCBC will release the funds within 30 mins after the call

demoforce1

HSBC will call in 1-2 hrs

bruiser69

OCBC blocked my transfer today .... a popup message indicate "for security reasons blah blah blah .... indicate will notify via call or push notifications within 6 hours when the review is completed"

You can expedite it by calling CSO - answer a few questions and the CSO will help notify the fraud team and OCBC will release the funds within 30 mins after the call
Mine was blocked by DBS. Transfer to Cimb. DBS indicated in the sms that for security they review blah blah blah and if you don't call them to flag as suspicious then the funds will be released 24 hours later :s13: :o

Godeau

Mine was blocked by DBS. Transfer to Cimb. DBS indicated in the sms that for security they review blah blah blah and if you don't call them to flag as suspicious then the funds will be released 24 hours later :s13: :o
I think this new protocol is really dumb; especially if transferring to a known(saved) recipient and it gets put on hold :s22:

AST781

I think this new protocol is really dumb; especially if transferring to a known(saved) recipient and it gets put on hold :s22:
That's what I said - that its an existing payee (myself) whom Im transferring too and there's a history of transferring to this payee's account b4. They (DBS / Stand Chart) could only tell me its MAS algorithm, whatever that means zzzz.

sglandscape

You call them can release within 2 hours. But yes, one extra step and navigating through the phone banking menu is a real pain.

sesame246

That's what I said - that its an existing payee (myself) whom Im transferring too and there's a history of transferring to this payee's account b4. They (DBS / Stand Chart) could only tell me its MAS algorithm, whatever that means zzzz.
In July, my funds were put on hold twice by DBS when I attempted to transfer proceeds from matured T-bills. I was particularly frustrated the second time, which happened just two weeks after the first.

I had already explained my situation during the first incident and had expected the bank to review the transactions more thoughtfully. There must be a set of clear criteria for such holds.

In my case:
  1. The inflow was clearly from matured T-bills.
  2. The transfer was to my own account at another bank, which is already listed under my favourite payees.
Given these facts, the bank should be able to recognize this as a low-risk, routine transaction. It would make sense for DBS to review a customer’s transaction history before imposing such restrictions, rather than applying them arbitrarily.
Furthermore, the customer service officers I spoke with were unable to explain the rationale or process behind these holds, which added to the frustration.
pective.

sglandscape

In July, my funds were put on hold twice by DBS when I attempted to transfer proceeds from matured T-bills. I was particularly frustrated the second time, which happened just two weeks after the first.

I had already explained my situation during the first incident and had expected the bank to review the transactions more thoughtfully. There must be a set of clear criteria for such holds.

In my case:
  2. The transfer was to my own account at another bank, which is already listed under my favourite payees.
Given these facts, the bank should be able to recognize this as a low-risk, routine transaction. It would make sense for DBS to review a customer’s transaction history before imposing such restrictions, rather than applying them arbitrarily.
Furthermore, the customer service officers I spoke with were unable to explain the rationale or process behind these holds, which added to the frustration.
pective.
Very similar situation to you, but kudos to the customer service officer for being able to expedite it, only issue is having to spend a good 15-20 minutes to make that call, urgh, for what would have otherwise be routine.

fr33d0m

In my case:
pective.

do you arbitrarily or consistently?

for your case, is it arbitrary?

CrashWire

In my case:
pective.
I have no idea why banks cannot implement something to check the name of the FAST payee. :rolleyes:

If the name matches, they should just allow those transfers to go through.

MAS and ABS should be ashamed.

fr33d0m

I have no idea why banks cannot implement something to check the name of the FAST payee. :rolleyes:

If the name matches, they should just allow those transfers to go through.

MAS and ABS should be ashamed.

hello.

how could 1 bank know the name of the customer of account from another bank? We got privacy, okay?

vsvs24

From the questions asked, banks are not just verifying that the transaction is done by us.

They also verifying if we did it under influence of scammers eg I was asked did someone ask you to do the transfer, did any one claiming to be government official contact you, what is the purpose of the funds etc.

Mickey01

From the questions asked, banks are not just verifying that the transaction is done by us.

They also verifying if we did it under influence of scammers eg I was asked did someone ask you to do the transfer, did any one claiming to be government official contact you, what is the purpose of the funds etc.
yes .... the questions asked seems to be a set of std questions (by MAS?? Association of Banks??) to determine if we are transferring the funds under influence of someone or scammers). And i think it is recorded to be used as evidence (if the customer answer those questions untruly and the transfers was really a scam and the bank will not share responsibility for compensation).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.