Standchart eSaver

ckman3

My interpretation is same as yours, so long last day of mth balance >= 31 May, you will get bonus interest. If you are worried, chat with scb, if there is a chat in the app, me not an app user nor did I receive the invite. Even if I get invite, I will still keep my funds with another bank more than 4%
I read the TnC as qualifying for bonus interest(BI) depends on the end of day amt on 30 Jun as compared to 31 May. The ADB is for calculation of the BI. If need to maintain amt throughout the period of Jun to Aug, it may be better off putting in short 3mth FD instead.

royalmix

I read the TnC as qualifying for bonus interest(BI) depends on the end of day amt on 30 Jun as compared to 31 May. The ADB is for calculation of the BI. If need to maintain amt throughout the period of Jun to Aug, it may be better off putting in short 3mth FD instead.
only need to make sure last of mth balance is more than or equal to 31 May balance, other days can be different, so is better than FD. Of course to max BI, keep more, but if need money, also need not worry so long remember last day must do it right. If forget to do it right on last day, then bye bye BI!

I prefer flexibility to FD!

EveMuffins

My interpretation is same as yours, so long last day of mth balance >= 31 May, you will get bonus interest. If you are worried, chat with scb, if there is a chat in the app, me not an app user nor did I receive the invite. Even if I get invite, I will still keep my funds with another bank more than 4%

tks..I moved back to this for 3.5% coz OCBC only 3.25% and I do not have HSBC. just have to make sure every last day of the month must have more money than 31 May.

ckman3

only need to make sure last of mth balance is more than or equal to 31 May balance, other days can be different, so is better than FD. Of course to max BI, keep more, but if need money, also need not worry so long remember last day must do it right. If forget to do it right on last day, then bye bye BI!

I prefer flexibility to FD!
Agree flexibility is a plus point. Just need to remember to match or exceed 31 May end of day amt.

ckman3

may I know what's the difference between amount at end of each month and ADB?

my T&C:
you must maintain your end-of-day deposit balance on 31 May 2023 (“Minimum Balance”) in your Eligible Account(s) throughout the Promotion Period, such that the end-of-day deposit balance on 30 June 2023, 31 July 2023 and 31 August 2023 is not lower than the Minimum Balance.

does it mean for example, I have $5k on 31 May, so long I have $5,001 on 30 Jun/31 Jul/31 Aug, I'll be eligible for 3.5% even though I only have $1k on some days?
As rightly pointed out by someone, and ur TnC, the word used "throughout" seem to indicate must maintain same amt throughout Promo period. Abit confusing with subsequent statement.
Best to verify with SCB the official interpretation.

It makes more sense that u are free to use the funds within the month, so long end of mth amt meets the eligibility criteria for BI. With lower ADB for month, ur BI will be correspondingly lower.

royalmix

As rightly pointed out by someone, and ur TnC, the word used "throughout" seem to indicate must maintain same amt throughout Promo period. Abit confusing with subsequent statement.
I interpret the para as follows:

after the comma, that part serves to explain what needs to be maintained throughout the Promotion period, it is the end of day balance on the last day of the mth.

"you must maintain your end-of-day deposit balance on 31 May 2023 (“Minimum Balance”) in your Eligible Account(s) throughout the Promotion Period, such that the end-of-day deposit balance on 30 June 2023, 31 July 2023 and 31 August 2023 is not lower than the Minimum Balance."

EveMuffins

I interpret the para as follows:
after the comma, that part serves to explain what needs to be maintained throughout the Promotion period, it is the end of day balance on the last day of the mth.
"you must maintain your end-of-day deposit balance on 31 May 2023 (“Minimum Balance”) in your Eligible Account(s) throughout the Promotion Period, such that the end-of-day deposit balance on 30 June 2023, 31 July 2023 and 31 August 2023 is not lower than the Minimum Balance."

meaning if I have $5k on 31 May, then I must have at least $5k everyday until 31 Aug to be eligible?

EveMuffins

Best to verify with SCB the official interpretation.
It makes more sense that u are free to use the funds within the month, so long end of mth amt meets the eligibility criteria for BI. With lower ADB for month, ur BI will be correspondingly lower.

I'll give them a call and update here. if really 'throughout' the promo period, then it's like FD already cos a certain amount is being locked in..though can withdraw but won't be eligible for 3.5%.

royalmix

meaning if I have $5k on 31 May, then I must have at least $5k everyday until 31 Aug to be eligible?
No, only last day must have 5k! second part of the para clearly explained the condition.

I have zero, so definitely no invite :ROFLMAO:

oceanicmanta

I'll give them a call and update here. if really 'throughout' the promo period, then it's like FD already cos a certain amount is being locked in..though can withdraw but won't be eligible for 3.5%.

and hope the CSO engrish complehensen is better than a royal's :D

royalmix

It does not make sense to impose a stringent rule which they know you cannot comply cos u already withdrawn all monies on 1 June. If they want you to return with monies, it does not make sense to impose a daily requirement.

It is only a mth end, last day requirement. Then they hope you forget, then forfeit your BI :ROFLMAO:
If I were the bank, that would be my strategy!

EveMuffins

2. How do I qualify to receive Bonus Interest under this promotion?

To qualify for bonus interest, you must maintain your end-of-day deposit balance on 31 May 2023 (“Minimum Balance”) in your Qualified Account(s) such that the end-of-day deposit balance on 30 June 2023, 31 July 2023 and 31 August 2023 is not lower than Minimum Balance.

If you do not maintain the Minimum Deposit in your Qualified Account for a particular month during the Promotion Period, you will not receive any Bonus Interest for that particular month.

EveMuffins

ok. have spoken to the CSO, if I have $5k on 31 May (minimum balance), I must have at least $5k everyday from 1-30 Jun to be eligible for the bonus interest for Jun. that is why the T&C said 'must maintain minimum balance'..CSO said keyword is 'maintain throughout the period'.

moved back to ocbc for 3.25% after ending the call. coz I only have $1k from 1-6 Jun which is below minimum balance.

1 Jul then move back to eSaver for 3.5%.

royalmix

2. How do I qualify to receive Bonus Interest under this promotion?

To qualify for bonus interest, you must maintain your end-of-day deposit balance on 31 May 2023 (“Minimum Balance”) in your Qualified Account(s) such that the end-of-day deposit balance on 30 June 2023, 31 July 2023 and 31 August 2023 is not lower than Minimum Balance.

If you do not maintain the Minimum Deposit in your Qualified Account for a particular month during the Promotion Period, you will not receive any Bonus Interest for that particular month.
You extracted this from FAQ, just noticed the FAQ section. This is clearer and better english, and differs from that in the tnc as "throughout the promotion period" was removed.

I suspect something is wrong with scb!:ROFLMAO: I dun have, so mai kaypoh!

EveMuffins

You extracted this from FAQ, just noticed the FAQ section. This is clearer and better english, and differs from that in the tnc as "throughout the promotion period" was removed.
I suspect something is wrong with scb!
:ROFLMAO:
I dun have, so mai kaypoh!

and the SMS say this

<ADV> Earn up to 3.5% p.a. interest on your e$aver balance (capped at S$5mil) from now till 31 Aug'23. To qualify, ensure the month end balance in your account ending xxxx during Jun-Aug'23 is not lower than the balance on 31 May 2023.

vsvs24

and the SMS say this

<ADV> Earn up to 3.5% p.a. interest on your e$aver balance (capped at S$5mil) from now till 31 Aug'23. To qualify, ensure the month end balance in your account ending xxxx during Jun-Aug'23 is not lower than the balance on 31 May 2023.
When did you receive the SMS ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.