Standchart eSaver

DevilPlate

If the banks not proactive in times of overwhelming fraud/scam, then i will be worried.

If tx from another bank under my own name kena locked up rightaway then really jialat.

vsvs24

Not sure what are the banks' criteria. I got a call from GXS for transferring $17 by paynow to my own NRIC (did this because GXS cannot save payee) 🤔

They just want to confirm it is done by me. But ok lah. Just confirm.

vsvs24

I agreed this is for awareness.

For my case, I had a home loan with SCB. As the interest rate was increasing too high and the loan was less than $250k, I decided to fully pay up for my loan. As such, I transfer from another local bank (not crypto exchange) to SCB so that I can fully pay up for my home loan. There are no other transactions on my account as I used it only for home loan payments.

A few days later, they lock my account as a priority banking customer.
SCB don't want you to settle their loan 🤣

Many years ago I lowered my credit limit for SCB credit card to $2000 after news report of unauthorized transactions. Then there was once I need to pay a one off $3000. Applied to increase my credit limit but was rejected. After that SCB keep calling and sending me SMS to take up personal loan 😡

I got around the credit limit by applying for another SCB credit card (they had the promise of immediate approval and next day courier at that time). The credit limit was increased back to the norm and shared by all SCB cards. So I could use the older card to make payment.

item2sell

Many years ago I lowered my credit limit for SCB credit card to $2000 after news report of unauthorized transactions. Then there was once I need to pay a one off $3000. Applied to increase my credit limit but was rejected. After that SCB keep calling and sending me SMS to take up personal loan 😡

I got around the credit limit by applying for another SCB credit card (they had the promise of immediate approval and next day courier at that time). The credit limit was increased back to the norm and shared by all SCB cards. So I could use the older card to make payment.

you just need to pay in advanced $1000 to your SCB credit card. Then swipe the $3k.
It’s immediate and no need to call bank.

damnit

Funny thing is I went to SCB branch for approval for home loan settlement and they are the ones who approved it at the branch. SCB informed me to transfer the exact amount to my SCB account.

I did. SCB settled my home loan. Then they lock.

WTF right?

vsvs24

you just need to pay in advanced $1000 to your SCB credit card. Then swipe the $3k
That's one way.

But I was "entitled" to a certain credit limit based on my salary during application. I volunteer to lower it. Thought I could re-state back to original limit.

damnit

Good thing is that after settle my home loan, account had $0.

I even called SCB to request to unlock my account and indicated that their process needs to be corrected so that the bank does not take on risks and customers are not affected. They said to file a police report. I said what do I tell police? I send my own money to my own bank, and now locked? LOL.

vsvs24

I even called SCB to request to unlock my account and indicated that their process needs to be corrected so that the bank does not take on risks and customers are not affected. They said to file a police report. I said what do I tell police? I send my own money to my own bank, and now locked? LOL.
Create work for police. 😥

damnit

Anyway this is for awareness especially for those who only use SCB as the primary bank. If all your money is locked inside SCB, good luck when they 'lock' it :)

ctan84

My RM never contact me. I msg him also no reply. But I did receive 2 smses survey asking how is my RM. I gave the lousiest review.
You contacted your RM via platforms (i.e. whatsapp) outside the app is it? If yes, then its their protocol to not reply then.

ctan84

If the banks not proactive in times of overwhelming fraud/scam, then i will be worried.

If tx from another bank under my own name kena locked up rightaway then really jialat.
Yes, but the bank still shouldn't go around locking other people's account mah.

vincelee

I even called SCB to request to unlock my account and indicated that their process needs to be corrected so that the bank does not take on risks and customers are not affected. They said to file a police report. I said what do I tell police? I send my own money to my own bank, and now locked?

I wonder how many people kena this kind of treatment. At least give a call asking u the reasons for transferring large amount into ur account, and not just lock it without ur knowledge. Yes it might be for anti-scam or fraud protection, but the least they could do is give us a call before locking our accounts.

ctan84

yes, whatsapp
Yah, cannot use whatsapp liao. My RM told me the bank now very strict on enforcing communications to within the app only. Probably due to the recent 2 yrs alot of RM cheat customers cases. So within app everything is recorded and monitored to preven any rogue behaviour.

CaptainWu

Yah, cannot use whatsapp liao. My RM told me the bank now very strict on enforcing communications to within the app only. Probably due to the recent 2 yrs alot of RM cheat customers cases. So within app everything is recorded and monitored to preven any rogue behaviour.
I still using whatsapp, I think as long as no confidential information should be fine.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.