Standchart eSaver

royalmix

Seems like Esaver is better than MariBank at 3.45% interest.

Can I confirm that E-saver do not have other requirements i.e. salary or credit card usage or giro?
Esaver - promo is usually valid for 2 mths only, bonus interest is based on incremental ADB compared to Mar (for current promo). Min ADB is 1k to avoid fall below fee, but you can keep zero to avoid it too.

You need to transfer money out after 2 mths as it no longer enjoy bonus interest, unlike Maribank!

iosnewbie

this thread started in Jun 2015, has SCB been running esaver promos continuously since or have they ever stopped for a few months then roll out new promos again?

sglandscape

I was also slightly confused by the account opening process. To add on, once the temporary ID which comes in an email, use the SC Mobile app to create the login account (you get to choose the account user name, password complexity requirements isn’t very robust though). After account creation initially, you still can’t see the complete 10-digit esaver account number. Need to wait for at least 12 hours before that number is visible.

When I wanted to use FAST to transfer 150k from POSB to esaver, my FAST transaction was put under review until someone (a local lady voice) called me on my registered mobile number to verify that I did indeed make that FAST transfer request, the reason for doing so and some personal info items. This is what I expect from banks as part of fraud prevention. Although I think the process can be further strengthened of technically feasible, but POSB side initiating a verification request by their human bank rep, that goes to my POSB app and for me to authorize so that I can be doubly sure of the caller’s origins.
Very strange but I guess it's better to be safe. However you authorising the transaction, and if its an existing payee should be suspicious.

Joelleyuan

Damn, SC locked my account when i was trying to transfer out more than 30k to my Trust account with the same name!

i just did a similar transfer yesterday also no problem.

show me a dialogue box say my access to the acc is temporary suspended. asked me to call their 24HRS hotline but it is NOT 24hrs.
need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.

Guojing88

Damn, SC locked my account when i was trying to transfer out more than 30k to my Trust account with the same name!

show me a dialogue box say my access to the acc is temporary suspended. asked me to call their 24HRS hotline but it is NOT 24hrs.
need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.

Scary, let us know the outcome later

royalmix

need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.
You posted past midnight! U did the transfer past midnight?

Dun work like the hackers/scammers!

DevilPlate

need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.
No wonder u say everything in life is Luck sia…

item2sell

need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.

isit a new payee added recently. I seen other users facing same issue.

Devilsire

need to wait till 8am.

waste my time man.

new payee / not saved before?

Joelleyuan

You posted past midnight! U did the transfer past midnight?

Dun work like the hackers/scammers!
could be one of the reason but my previous transfer was also done at odd timing. i sleep in the day and awake at night leh.
new payee / not saved before?
isit a new payee added recently. I seen other users facing same issue.
Old payee that has been added just shortly after i opened this esaver acc and it has the same name as my sc acc.
and i have been transferring money to n from this acc every two months because of this sc esaver promotion.
last promo ended 31st March, obviously i will move money out AS USUAL right?

sian.

Joelleyuan

i only just managed to call them before 8pm just now. all those options can't get you thru to a human cso so i gotta choose fraudulent transaction option.

cso said he don't see my acc being locked from his system but i said i cannot access. then he check with fraudulent transaction dept and verified with me if i was the one logging in at the timing and transferring money to acc no. xxxx etc,
i said yes it's done by me and that acc no. xxxx has the same name as my sc acc. similar transaction was done days before and in the past too.
then i hold the line while he communicate w the dept again and told me they will proceed to unlock my acc in a few hours time.
Let's see how it goes later.

royalmix

i only just managed to call them before 8pm just now. all those options can't get you thru to a human cso so i gotta choose fraudulent transaction option.

cso said he don't see my acc being locked from his system but i said i cannot access. then he check with fraudulent transaction dept and verified with me if i was the one logging in at the timing and transferring money to acc no. xxxx etc,
i said yes it's done by me and that acc no. xxxx has the same name as my sc acc. similar transaction was done days before and in the past too.
then i hold the line while he communicate w the dept again and told me they will proceed to unlock my acc in a few hours time.
Let's see how it goes later.
I make it an exception for you, cos normally I dun come here at night!

You should be glad that SCB is on the ball to protect your funds, our funds at night!

The fact that your account went to the Fraud Dept was very important. They are closely monitoring funds movement at night!

To avoid or reduce inconvenience to yourself, try to avoid transferring large amts of funds past midnight.

Name is not important cos the bank cannot verify, name is just for you to keep track. The fact that it was second time and bank took action was very good action from them. It triggered a red flag!

Joelleyuan

I make it an exception for you, cos normally I dun come here at night!

You should be glad that SCB is on the ball to protect your funds, our funds at night!

The fact that your account went to the Fraud Dept was very important. They are closely monitoring funds movement at night!

To avoid or reduce inconvenience to yourself, try to avoid transferring large amts of funds past midnight.

Name is not important cos the bank cannot verify, name is just for you to keep track. The fact that it was second time and bank took action was very good action from them. It triggered a red flag!
Thanks bro you're right.
there's pro n cons anyway.
I'm able to access my account now and able to make transactions, within 2 hours from calling them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.