StarHub MaxInfinity Fiber Optic - Experience

blues7

don't mean to repeat post but want to provide closure for previous post

---------------------
2nd service guy came

confirm is the wireless router not working - first time ever to encounter such a problem, within 30 minutes after installation, product fail

starhub service guy replace with brand new router and help set up network

now wireless network and fibre broadband working

for once encounter speedy service

thumbs up for starhub

Gribber

---------------------
2nd service guy came

confirm is the wireless router not working - first time ever to encounter such a problem, within 30 minutes after installation, product fail

thumbs up for starhub

nah its ok.~ enjoy your fibre

narutiment

Hi guys! Below is my current setup(1st level):

TP -> Huawei ONT -> Dlink RG

Wanted to add a router or access point on the 2nd level. But confused by sales person and Starhub installation guy's words.
Sales person at SLS says that I can only connect access point to RG while Starhub's guy says I can connect any routers, just need to do bridging.

I have Lan cable laid to 2nd floor already. Whose words should I believe?
I need 4 direct connections with 3 other devices on WIFI (all 2nd floor)

What are my available options? And which model can I get?

Thanks!!

randomforumer

---------------------
2nd service guy came

thumbs up for starhub

what's there to be surprised at ???

this is by right their job responsibilities and part of their service what...
if not ?????

thumbs up for now but next time mayb not lor.

Gribber

Hi guys! Below is my current setup(1st level):

TP -> Huawei ONT -> Dlink RG

Wanted to add a router or access point on the 2nd level. But confused by sales person and Starhub installation guy's words.
Sales person at SLS says that I can only connect access point to RG while Starhub's guy says I can connect any routers, just need to do bridging.

I have Lan cable laid to 2nd floor already. Whose words should I believe?
I need 4 direct connections with 3 other devices on WIFI (all 2nd floor)

What are my available options? And which model can I get?

Thanks!!

both not wrong what and they are referring to the same thing.

TP -> Huawei ONT -> Dlink RG -> your own access point/router here lo

is called bridging what.

get a router lo. solve your scenario

waynerooney

hi guys, i just got the starhub fibre 100mbps, installation guy came and everything was working find but after he left i realized i cant connect to the wireless network when im in the other rooms (5 rm hdb) it seems like the distance on the dlink router is not very good. what are my options?

Gribber

hi guys, i just got the starhub fibre 100mbps, installation guy came and everything was working find but after he left i realized i cant connect to the wireless network when im in the other rooms (5 rm hdb) it seems like the distance on the dlink router is not very good. what are my options?

1. buy a ASUS RT-N66U at least.
2. place the Dlink at a more centralized location of the house

narutiment

both not wrong what and they are referring to the same thing.

TP -> Huawei ONT -> Dlink RG -> your own access point/router here lo

is called bridging what.

get a router lo. solve your scenario
Thinking of getting Asus RT-N66U as you have recommended to another forumer. Will it be fairly easy to configure after connecting to the Dlink RG?

I understand my current Linksys Router cannot be connected direct to RG, as I need to change some settings first.

Gribber

Thinking of getting Asus RT-N66U as you have recommended to another forumer. Will it be fairly easy to configure after connecting to the Dlink RG?

I understand my current Linksys Router cannot be connected direct to RG, as I need to change some settings first.

all routers also need to change settings.

some came by default for WAN = DHCP hence is easier to connect in such a way but knowing a thing or 2 on how to configure basic settings will do you good.

SExiao

I have it.... fairly easy lar... you launch website, they will bring you to setup page... think a noob like me can connect, you all should be no problem.... :D

randomforumer

just buy a long enough ethernet cable and plug to your laptop or wireless thingy lor !!
normally,
i dun understand why people like wireless that much
the speed just gets destroyed when using wireless !

Gribber

MaxInfinity (100Mbps)

Wireless 5GHz on ASUS RT-N56U

ONT -> ASUS RT-56U (5GHz - WIRELESS)
2214207196.png

2214214567.png

waynerooney

Guys I need some help.
I can only connect my asus rt-n66u in this manner. ONT > D-Link > Asus rt-n66u.
It seems like the ONT only allows to be connected to the d-link.
Another problem is my laptop can only see the asus's routers 2.4hz ssid which I can't connect to. However my other devices, ipad,iphone,family memeber's laptop are all able to see and connect to both the 2.4hz and 5hz. Help!!

oric1

Guys I need some help.
Another problem is my laptop can only see the asus's routers 2.4hz ssid which I can't connect to. However my other devices, ipad,iphone,family memeber's laptop are all able to see and connect to both the 2.4hz and 5hz. Help!!

Why do you need the D-Link (unless you need VoIP) when you can connect your ASUS directly to the ONT (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/n...s-rt-n56u-connected-ont-directly-3635885.html).

Gribber

Guys I need some help.

have already ans.

musicsg_com

How to configure 2nd wireless router to work

I've just subscribed to MIF Elite and was given the D-Link DVG-N5402SP home gateway wireless router. My wife has complained of poor wifi coverage on her iPhone 5. I wanted to try to use my previous router, D-Link DIR-825, for wifi, and tried to follow the network bridging instructions given on the first pages of this thread. It didn't work because the instructions are not quite clear. I decided to search online on "how to setup 2 wireless routers". That gave me this link and the instructions are clearer.

I also read my DIR-825 manual and basically, to make the 2nd router work as an extension to the StarHub-issued router, all I have to do is make the following changes on the 2nd router:
- disable DHCP
- disable UPnP
- assign a different IP address for the 2nd router under "Router Settings". For example, if DVG-N5402SP is 192.168.0.1, then your 2nd router should be 192.168.0.2 or other number.

You don't have to do anything on the original router.

Once the 2nd router settings are done, turn both your routers off. Connect the DVG-N5402SP LAN port 1/2/3/4 to the 2nd router LAN port 1/2/3/4. DO NOT connect to the 2nd router WAN/Internet port.

Done? Then turn on both routers. Wait for a while for them to "stabilize". Then to test the 2nd router, connect your wireless device (phone, tablet, laptop) to the 2nd router's SSID. You should be able to access to Internet using the 2nd router's SSID. (optional info: If you check the IP assigned to your device, it should be within the DHCP range of the original router)

Once you are happy with the wifi performance of the 2nd router, you can proceed to disable the wireless network on the DVG-N5402SP. Better still, you can position the 2nd router in another room to create better wifi coverage with multiple wireless AP. Refer to the same link I shared above on how the writer does it.

I'll be sharing more details on my blog at Music.Photo.Life., once I completed my multi-AP setup.

Gribber

I've just subscribed to MIF Elite and was given the D-Link DVG-N5402SP home gateway wireless router. My wife has complained of poor wifi coverage on her iPhone 5. I wanted to try to use my previous router, D-Link DIR-825, for wifi, and tried to follow the network bridging instructions given on the first pages of this thread. It didn't work because the instructions are not quite clear. I decided to search online on "how to setup 2 wireless routers". That gave me this link and the instructions are clearer.

I also read my DIR-825 manual and basically, to make the 2nd router work as an extension to the StarHub-issued router, all I have to do is make the following changes on the 2nd router:
- disable DHCP
- disable UPnP
- assign a different IP address for the 2nd router under "Router Settings". For example, if DVG-N5402SP is 192.168.0.1, then your 2nd router should be 192.168.0.2 or other number.

You don't have to do anything on the original router.

Once the 2nd router settings are done, turn both your routers off. Connect the DVG-N5402SP LAN port 1/2/3/4 to the 2nd router LAN port 1/2/3/4. DO NOT connect to the 2nd router WAN/Internet port.

Done? Then turn on both routers. Wait for a while for them to "stabilize". Then to test the 2nd router, connect your wireless device (phone, tablet, laptop) to the 2nd router's SSID. You should be able to access to Internet using the 2nd router's SSID. (optional info: If you check the IP assigned to your device, it should be within the DHCP range of the original router)

Once you are happy with the wifi performance of the 2nd router, you can proceed to disable the wireless network on the DVG-N5402SP. Better still, you can position the 2nd router in another room to create better wifi coverage with multiple wireless AP. Refer to the same link I shared above on how the writer does it.

I'll be sharing more details on my blog at Music.Photo.Life., once I completed my multi-AP setup.

erm.. this is similar to what is state on first few post wor

Mclairs83

Anybody found a way to make the USB port on DVG-N5402SP working for HDD and share it via the LAN

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.