StarHub MaxInfinity Fiber Optic - Experience

liangtam

any hope of cloning the mac like what we do in VM and high end gateway?

No, it is not as simple as that
In any case, use the huawei lor, it is a biz grade equipment, better than the many SOHO class selling on market

Modd-36

Download Speed: 36508 kbps (4563.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 26727 kbps (3340.9 KB/sec transfer rate)

my wireless speed.. got chance to tweak to 40+?

I've subscribed to the 50mbps plan by starhub anyway.

Picory0

No, it is not as simple as that
In any case, use the huawei lor, it is a biz grade equipment, better than the many SOHO class selling on market

I need to run cisco equiment. Not the linsys.

Plus I can run fiber network within my house. The stupid rousy chinese brand gateway only run on FE.

And I never trust all chinese brand. And to put that trash there, it a waste of space, cannot rackmount and waste electricity.

liangtam

Plus I can run fiber network within my house. The stupid rousy chinese brand gateway only run on FE.

And I never trust all chinese brand. And to put that trash there, it a waste of space, cannot rackmount and waste electricity.
Nowadays even ISP move on to use HuaWei liao, u still use cisco :s22:
Throw away cisco la... LOL

HG256s not FE hor, is GE

MarineX

can always buy the correct bracket to mount it 1 what.

Squall1985

Most of the suggested end user solution most won't want to do... Just like mol.. Sometimes something causes bottleneck. But overseas site is beyond ISP control

yes i am aware of that, however the issue here is regarding local server speedtest upload error.

As mentioned previously, the upload to other countries servers such as tokyo, hongkong, china, seoul, new york do not have any upload test errors, only to sg and malaysia servers do the upload test errors occur. So if this is really an issue of bottleneck, it can only be the huawei modem router i was provided with or somewhere down the pipe. just to note, the download speed for sg and malaysia servers reached 180mbps, its only when the upload test start did the network down starts.

MarineX

yes i am aware of that, however the issue here is regarding local server speedtest upload error.

As mentioned previously, the upload to other countries servers such as tokyo, hongkong, china, seoul, new york do not have any upload test errors, only to sg and malaysia servers do the upload test errors occur. So if this is really an issue of bottleneck, it can only be the huawei modem router i was provided with or somewhere down the pipe. just to note, the download speed for sg and malaysia servers reached 180mbps, its only when the upload test start did the network down starts.

user problem without a doubt.

with such attitude, serves you right.

nightkids86

need some help.

my ftp works on port 21.
but when i forward to other port, it doesn't work.

anyone have any idea ?

NightWish_

Download Speed: 95759 kbps (11969.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 10795 kbps (1349.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
PING: 8 ms
Saturday, July 09, 2011 5:25:21 PM

upload speed low leh

zBlackcurrentz

Can i use HG256 Lan port to connect to TP-Link WRT1043ND wireless N Gigabit router? anyone try? If can what config i need to do?
Anyone can assist me on that?
How to check which version of firmware i am using?
FTP stands for?

My Setup:

Termination Point (TP) -> Optical Network Terminal (ONT) -> Huawei Voice Home Gateway HG256s -> D-Link DIR-855 / EnGenius ESR9850

Huawei Voice Home Gateway HG256s Firmware 16.

Connection:

(ONT) LAN Port 1 -> (HG256s) WAN Port
(HG256s) LAN Port 1 -> (DIR-855) WAN Port

Configuration:

(HG256s) - LAN: 192.168.1.1, DMZ: 192.168.1.2

(DIR-855) - LAN: 192.168.0.1, WAN IP: 192.168.1.2

(ESR9850) - LAN: 192.168.0.1, WAN IP: 192.168.1.2

Initial thoughts on MaxInfinity Ultimate @ 100Mbps
Ping still quite high. Was expecting a single digit ping instead.

Initial thoughts on Huawei Voice Home Gateway HG256s
Pros:
Gateway page very clearcut
Voice supported
don't have to reboot router for any settings done

Cons:
lack of DDNS support (FW v.22 has it call your ISP to get it)
weak wireless range
a basic router for users that have low expectations
No logs
USB port only meant for FTP ????
FTP not working..on FW v.16 (FW v.22 it will work)

MarineX

Can i use HG256 Lan port to connect to TP-Link WRT1043ND wireless N Gigabit router? anyone try? If can what config i need to do?
Anyone can assist me on that?
How to check which version of firmware i am using?
FTP stands for?

1. yes.
2. connect HG256 Lan -> TP-Link WAN
3. version firmware of HG256? log in to HG256 gateway @ General > Status > Device Information > Software version
4. File Transfer Protocol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.